We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely beach and great for families”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely beach and great for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were a group of 8 adults and 2 small children. We were upgraded to a really lovely, spotless caravan which overlooked the beach so we had a beautiful view. The site is great for families with an oudoor and adjoining and indoor pool, which has a great shallow pool for little children. There is a small park for the kids to play with outdoor seating where you can watch them and have as drink or food. The entertainment was enjoyed by our 1 and 3 year olds in our group. All of the staff we met were really nice and took time to talk to our children. A nice, relaxed holiday for us and plenty to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtyD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviere Sands H, Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi ArtyD2

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave some great feedback about our park. I am really happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

I’m glad that you were able to upgrade to one of our sea view caravans; the views from our park are truly breathtaking and it is ideal when you can experience them from your accommodation.

It’s great that you enjoyed the facilities and entertainment whilst you were with us. Everything we provide is designed for families and so it’s great to see that your children were able to enjoy them too. Our main restaurant does have a play area in the garden which makes it a great place to enjoy a meal or a drink and let the children play so that all generations are catered for.

Thank you so much for your great comments and I do hope that we can welcome you back to Riviere Sands again in the near future.

Kind regards

Jolene Lambert
Assistant Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    284
    107
    34
    30
See reviews for
540
129
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have stayed here 3 times now. we havent been this or last year as the prices are creeping ever higher and there ar good quality cheaper places to stay. I thought id review it anyway as we have had some good holidays here.Firstly the location. That beach. You will struggle to find a beach as good as this anywhere in Cornwall, it is superb. White sands, RNLI Lifeguards, crystal clear water and the best sunset you could wish for. Pretty easy access to it too. we managed with a child in a buggy.
The caravans are nice but we have had to change location on a couple of occasions. Once because of location to club house, we were literally right next to it and with a 18 month old child thats no fun. The second time was due to poor location. Our van had no views other than the side of another van to the front and sides with their children runiing round our van until 22;00, very claustrophobic. Both times we were moved to better vans but it was a pain and we lost half a day of our holiday on both occasions. The facilities on camp are great. Clubhouse has always got something going on. Theres a park and loads of activities for the kids. theres a nice fish & chip shop on site which is a god send as it means you can have a drink in the day time and walk to the chippy later without the need to drive. Reception staff are very helpful and sorted out our problems pretty quickly. There is a little shop where you can get your essentials paper in the morning. Plus, youve got the Bluff Inn which does some nice food and has a lovely beer garden. Not far up the road you have a new place that has a M&S, Boots and a Next. Think from memory there is a Lidl or Aldi so you dont have to pack your car with food, just get it when your down there.
Overall it is a really lovely place IF you get a good location on site. We've had some really good times and happy memories from Riviere Sands. I would defiinately go back. Just a shame that prices are getting a bit high to visit there. Weve seen an increase of nearly £400 since 2010.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Charlotte73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviere Sands H, Customer Care Team at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Lee-Charlotte73,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, it is always great to receive comments on our park. We are progressively improving our business by listening to the feedback our guests leave us and acting upon it, as well as putting a lot of time and effort into the training of our new team every year, the prices of our holidays may have seen a slight increase over the years. This we believe is reflected in the service that you receive when travelling with us such as team, facilities, venues and new accommodation.

It is great to hear that you were able to visit the beach when you were staying with us. We are very lucky here at Riviere Sands to be located so close to such an amazing beach, with its three miles of golden sands and the sparkling blue waters you really could be anywhere in the world. This year we have been lucky enough to have a new beach access built next to our restaurant The Bluff Inn which is accessible for pushchairs and wheelchairs which has been a great new asset to our park.

I would like to apologise for the location issues you did have when you stayed with us but I am glad we were able to rectify this for you on both occasions. When booking a holiday with us you can always ring us directly to explain any special requests you may have when visiting us, this way we can try our upmost to allocate you in your preferred location. This is not something we can guarantee but we do try our very hardest to meet any requests that we have been given.

Our restaurant The Bluff Inn has been newly refurbished this year as well as a new menu which we are receiving a lot of positive feedback on. As you have mentioned we were lucky to have a retail park with M&S, Boots and Next built just down the road from us. This year Asda are currently in the process of building a big superstore in Hayle which will be open for next year.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave us your feedback about our park and hopefully you will consider returning to us in the near future to see how our holiday park has progressed.

Kind Regards,

Nicky Andrews
Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We left Cheshire at 0400hrs and arrived at Rivera sands for about 0930hrs. We went straight to the beach down from the bluff inn and I was so shocked at how amazing it was. White sand and clear waters. We then went up to the site and were given our room key 4 hours in advance, we did have to wait for the cleaner to finish but we just waited outside the caravan. All the staff we spoke to were so helpful and very happy. When we finally got into the caravan I was surprised to find a full size fridge with a good size freezer compartment. The only negatives on the caravan were that the furniture absolutely stinks and the tea cups were dirty. So bring fabreeze!! The beach is only a minutes away and the views are breathtaking! We will be back next year and hopefully be able to hire a seeview caravan :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZC8950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviere Sands H, Customer Care Team Member at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi Zoe S

First of all let me thank you for your fantastic feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive such lovely comments about our park. Here at Riviere Sands we are very lucky to be right next to an amazing beach with truely breathtaking views and I am so glad to hear you were able to make the most of this during your stay. It is great to hear that all of the team that you came into contact with during your stay were helpful and happy!

I would like to apologise for the cleaning issues you have mentioned, I can assure you that if you had bought this to our attention we would have gladly sent a member of our housekeeping team to have a look at this. I will personally pass on these comments to our accommodation manger so she can speak to her team and make sure to double check this in the future.

Once again let me thank you for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Riviere Sands next year!

Kind Regards,

Nicky Andrews
Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived at Riviere sands for check in which was very efficient and the lady that dealt with our check in was very friendly and efficient... disappointed that we couldnt check in till four pm. so spent the day trying to find things to do, was even more disappointed when we found the caravan had been available for someone to move into from the friday the week before... Although we booked a week when schools were open we were disappointed in the amount of children that were there on this week, resulting in the pool not being available for adults till about half nine in the morning so our plans of an early morning swim were scuppered... we were also looking forward to entertainment at nights, but found that again it was for children until nine pm and certainly we saw children heading for the club at nine pm.. so again we never went as it lost its appeal. I have nothing against children may I add it would just have been nice to have some adult entertainment that was adults admittance only. There is a lovely pub the Bluff Inn, which you can get to via a coastal walk or by the mainer road and this was lovely to watch the sunsets but the cost of the drinks and food meant we only went twice for a drink and eat out in Hayle instead, I cannot fault the caravan it was lovely, we were three rows back and had a sea view from a couple of windows, getting the car in and out was a little problematic as between the other parked cars and bins the access to our caravan was very limited but we managed, apart from the sand from the previous holidaymakers that was all over the bathroom floor the caravan was clean. We had hoped to catch a bus into St Ives or Hayle so we could catch a boat or train but unfortunately there was only one a day, so you do have to be prepared to use your car. Personally we would not return to this caravan park, but I can see that for a family with children it is perfect, its just not very geared up for couples.. On a real plus side the beaches in the area are stunning, and we will definitely be returning to the area

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeashelleDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviere Sands H, Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi SeashelleDerbyshire

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about our park.

I’m glad you found the check-in process to be efficient and you liked the caravan that we allocated to you. We are extremely lucky to have beautiful sea views from our park and I am really happy that you were able to enjoy these from your accommodation.

As we are a family holiday park, all of our facilities and entertainments are available for both adults and children at all times. We do not offer any entertainment or swimming times that are for adults only as we find that the majority of our guests do travel as families and so it would not be suitable for the audience that we have. We do welcome couples to travel to us without children but we do not have any specific entertainment or facilities for them; I am sorry this was not explained to you before you travelled.

Thank you very much for the feedback and thank you for choosing Riviere Sands.

Kind regards

Jolene Lambert
Assistant Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Ok let's get one thing right anyone's misconceptions of the usual static site needs to be quashed from the start, this site is quality, a nice sized park site with plenty of space, and on the doorstep of the most beautiful part of Cornwall, my family ( 2 adults & an 11 year old and a 3 year old) have just returned from a week at the rivière sands, we stayed in the Bassett section of the park, we arrived early and went straight to book in, we're welcomed by very friendly staff & went straight to check out our home for the next week, we were pleased with the van plenty of space and it had everything you would need, we didn't splash out on a summerhouse we just had the basic van but opted for the 12 ft one...the difference on this site to any other haven site is THEY own all of the caravans, so you miss out in the private renters trapping up in there mates caravan, for me this was a massive factor in how nice & clean and actually friendly the site is, once in the kids went to explore, they have so much going on in and at sound the site, it is situated on the beach, there is a fun Walk to the beach not accessible if your not good on your feet, once on the beach it's a beautiful beach, sweeping towards the north & to the lighthouse, there is another way to it and this is via the local pub the bluff inn....
Honestly this site is excellent, brilliant staff excellent amenities & the location is second to none.... Well done all concerned....
Gaz harrison

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviere Sands H, Customer Care Team at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Bigun001

First of all let me thank you for your amazing feedback, it is great to receive such positive comments about our park. I am so happy to hear you were able to make the most of what our park has to offer and so glad you are your children really enjoyed your stay. We do take great pride in maintaining all our facilities on site to a high standard and it is brilliant to hear that is not going unnoticed. I will pass on your feedback to all the relevant managers.

As you have mentioned we are very lucky here at Riviere Sands to own all of our caravans meaning we are able to change and update them on a regular basis. The beach access on park did take a bit of a beating with all the weather we had over the winter here in Cornwall. Luckily we did get off lightly and it was just the beach access that was effected but thankful the council did notice that we were in need of a new access and built this just down at our bar restaurant The Bluff Inn which is just five minutes walk from our park. The beach here in Hayle is stunning and when the sun shines you really could be anywhere in the world and I am so glad you got to enjoy it.

Once again let me thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Riviere Sands in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nicky Andrews
Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Just got home after the best holiday we have ever been on.The park,caravan and staff were brill.The Bluff is fab for food and views and the beach is the best I've seen!Lovely clean and modern caravan and the park was spotless.The pedal cars to hire were great fun.My 2 little ones didn't want to leave and were obsessed with Rory and Anxious Definitely returning next year!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviere Sands H, Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi Sarah M

Thank you so much for your great feedback. I’m so happy to hear that you had such a good holiday with us.

I definitely agree with you about the beach; we are blessed to be in such a beautiful area with such amazing views out onto St. Ives bay so a trip to the beach is a must while you're here.

I am so glad to hear that your whole family enjoyed the holiday and we hope to welcome you all back again very soon.

Kind regards

Jolene Lambert
Assistant Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Nothing to moan about on this review.
I was a little skeptical before going as I've never been on a holiday in this country before I like to go abroad. But due to saving we decided to book a Mon - Fri break for us.
When arriving there was people at reception greeting us. After arriving before check in they handed us the keys and said they were cleaning it at the min but will be ready when sign was up in the window. After going in the standard caravan I was very surprised how clean and modern it was. The only issue is that there was no net curtains so u either had to have the curtains closed or open. (So no walking around naked I'm afraid) .
On site- shop not too dear either and got a lot in there,Mini golf, cafe, fish and chip shop, arcade, huge entertainment room and finally pool.
Getting onto the pool it's really not big for a park of that size needs to be bigger and a little deeper. For kids it's excellent. I can only image in peak times this would get very busy. Also outdoor pool with a slide didn't go out there as was chilly.
Entertainment- only went twice to see it but wasn't the greatest again great for kids. But even the bingo is for kids really as there is no cash prizes to be won just children's toys.
Beach- 2 mins walk either down a big hill (I wouldn't recommend) the other way is go down by the shop and there's a better root there. Beach really clean and big!
2 mins walk is a pub called the bluff Inn. Really nice food In there and great views of the sea. Recommend going there.
I think that's all but if anyone has any questions please contact me thru here and I will answer them.
Hope you all have a lovely break I sure did.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank lauralou198833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviere Sands H, Manager at Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi lauralou198833

Thank you for taking the time to leave some great feedback about our park. I’m so happy to hear that you had a lovely break and enjoyed your first holiday in this country!

I’m glad you liked the caravan that we allocated you and got the chance to enjoy many of the facilities on site while you were with us. All of our entertainments and facilities are aimed at families with children and so it’s great to see that you’ve highlighted many things as being great for kids.

We are extremely lucky to be in a beautiful area of the country with some of the best coastal views in Cornwall and our restaurant, The Bluff Inn, is perfectly situated so that you can sit indoors or outdoors and enjoy the views of the sea. I’m so glad you had the chance to spend some time in there and enjoyed the food and the views.

Thanks so much for the great feedback and I really hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Jolene Lambert
Assistant Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
21.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
16.6 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
2.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Riviere Towans, Hayle TR27 5AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hayle
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Also Known As:
Riviere Sands Holiday Park Hotel Hayle
Riviere Sands Holiday Park - Haven Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing