We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Penellen Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Penellen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Barbara was fantastic, room was lovely and spacious. Shower was fab very strong and powerful great for getting sand off :) lovely breakfast and the views from the Juliet balcony were superb. Recommend you all stay wish we could of stayed longer !

Room Tip: All rooms have wii and beautiful sea views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Manager at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed your birthday celebrations at The Penellen.
Best regards and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Barb and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
113
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed at this lovely B&B for 6days from July7th-July13th had the most amazing time, what a find. Made to feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door. Little extras from the large fridge to an iron & Ironing board on the landing for guests to use.. Lovely breakfasts and most of all wonderful Sea and Beach views, spotlessly clean nothing to fault, cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Believe all the rooms have sea views so cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hope your journey home was enjoyable and you had plenty of stop offs. I am so pleased you enjoyed The Penellen and with the weather being so good you have seen it in all it's glory.
I do hope we can meet again soon.
Best regards
Barb and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My partner and I spent five days in this hotel and I wished we could have been there for longer. The hotel is clean and beautifully located by the beach. The staff are pleasant and accommodating, the rooms perfectly equipped. There is a great pub called 'The Bucket of Blood' within walking distance where you can get a good meal and enjoy a great atmosphere. If you prefer a more holiday/family atmosphere, along the beach front is a place just suited for that. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples as opposed to young families and for people who just want a pleasant beach holiday in a quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was the best equipped B&B we stayed at & yet it was also one of the cheapest. The bed although a little small had a very comfy mattress. The proprietor was very people orientated & made you feel like you we're the only ones she had spoken too. The view of the sea was very good & very pretty. One off - putting thing was the smell of cigarette spoke as soon as the front door was opened. But in our room there was absolutely no smell of smoke. There was a fridge, iron & ironing board. All in all I would say terrific value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We have recently had a weeks stay at the Penellen. This is our 5th year of staying in Cornwall and have always returned to the Penellen - we wouldn't stay anywhere else. As soon as we arrived, Barbara greeted us with such a warm and friendly welcome, it just felt so good to be back. The breakfasts were as good as always and the addition of the Juliet balcony was a great feature and made the view even more impressive. Although the weather was a bit hit and miss during the day, the sunsets in the evening were amazing. Such a good location to sit out in the evenings with a drink (normally Brandy!), chill out, listen to the waves and watch the sun go down - perfect.

Thank you so much Barbara for a lovely stay and we can't wait to come back for another break :) x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed just one night at the Penellen Hotel and it was fantastic. Barbara is welcoming and very friendly and went out of her way to accommodate my bicycle. My room was beautiful, immaculately clean, with a great shower and an amazing view! I could hear the waves from my bed :) and it's only steps to the glorious sandy beach. Breakfast was also excellent and once again, everything is immaculate. I wish I could have stayed longer; I highly recommend the Penellen Hotel and would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time with us at The Penellen. We do hope to see you again soon if we haven't already :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed in march 2013 because of excellent recommendations, had a great time, breakfast was lovely and the beach was just outside the door. Will certainly be going back ! The Juliet balconies are also a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Owner at The Penellen Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hi Ryan thank you so much for your lovely comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Look forward to seeing you again soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
2.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
241 reviews
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Penellen Hotel

Property: The Penellen Hotel
Address: 64 Riviere Towans | St Ives Bay, Phillack, Hayle TR27 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penellen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penellen B&B is in a truly stunning location. We are just yards from the beach of St Ives Bay and there are magnificent views of the sea and beach from all of the bedrooms.There is nothing in front of our gardens to obstruct our views of the sea. We have sun loungers, chairs and picnic tables so you can sit in the garden and take in those views overlooking St Ives Bay to St Ives itself. You are just minutes from the beach. If you go on holiday to the seaside you want to be by the seaside, which is exactly what you do at The Penellen.All of our guest bedrooms are ensuite. There is complimentary tea, coffee and bottled water for our guests and we have a fridge on the first floor landing that can be used by all our guests. We have double rooms, twin rooms and family rooms at The Penellen.All of the bedrooms at The Penellen have balconies or Juliet balconies for you to maximise on those stunning views over the sea to St Ives, we also have FREE parking and FREE wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Penellen Hotel Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing