We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
209
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juliet balcony spotless rooms st ives the south west coast path small hotel communal fridge set us up for the day kite surfers stunning views slept like a log fantastic stay excellent location ensuite bathroom fantastic hosts an ideal base your doorstep yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Location was one of the primary reasons we chose The Penellen Bed & Breakfast. Perched on the edge of St. Ives Bay, the small hotel provided a peaceful and secluded setting in which to relax and an ideal base from which to launch our daily outings to nearby Port Isaac, Padstow and the Bedruthan Steps.

The room was magnificent, clean and bright, providing stunning views of The Bay while the comfortable double bed and well-appointed en-suite bathroom were much appreciated.

Breakfast was generous, served in a spacious dining room, starting with a selection of cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruits and juice. From there, you could opt from a variety of hot breakfasts, ranging from a simple egg on toast to smoked salmon and scrambled egg to a full English.

None of this would mean anything if it weren’t accompanied by friendly service. Our hostess, Barbara, was down to earth and jovial, making you feel like a family member rather than a paying guest. Beautiful setting and comfortable accommodations are important to any holiday, but in the end, it’s that sort of customer service experience that makes it truly memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

thank you for your lovely comments, it means so much to us that you liked the penellen and the service we provide, hope to meet up again soon. Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

A one night stay wonderful host (Barbara) stunning balcony views Room 1 - small but due to be upgraded as over November lovely shower separate loo within the room, very clean. Breakfast was good only small criticism I’d have liked to have been asked how I wanted my eggs?

Thanks

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimberley1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

glad you enjoyed your stay, room 1 is being extended in November, and if you had asked I would have done your eggs to your liking. best regards barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Great view of the sea and beach from our room, spotlessly clean and the breakfast was outstanding and freshly cooked to order with top quality ingredients. What also makes this hotel special is Barbara and Paul who genuinely care and genuinely happy to chat and nothing is too much trouble for them. We will definitely be back. Great place to base yourself for St. Ives area away from the hustle and bustle

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17jaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

it was good to meet you both, we are so glad you had a great time, we take great pride in our bed and breakfast by the beach and look forward to seeing you again. regards Barbara and paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

A very welcome stop on the South West Coast Path. We arrived after a day of driving rain, and dripped all over the floor, but the owners couldn't have been more welcoming - a cup of tea on arrival, then shown to our fabulous comfortable room with wonderful balcony views. A great breakfast set us up brilliantly for the next leg of the walk (thankfully in much better weather).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello Catie.
So glad you enjoyed your room everlooking the sea and hope that the walk to St Ives was alittle bit drier than the walk from Portreath.
Hop the rest of your holiday went well and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

My partner and I had a lovely time here, so nice to walk out and straight down to the beach. The weather was great while we were there so we could't have asked for a better location! Barbara & Paul are so helpful and thoughtful, you wont find better hosts - they honestly couldn't do enough for all the guests! The view from our room was great and it was so nice to have a balcony overlooking the sea but there were also some great outside spaces to watch the sun set, have a drink and relax. Breakfast was great, had a full english then pre ordered the salmon for the 2nd morning (would definitely recommend it, so tasty!)
Would recommend to anyone, we will definitely be back!! (just to visit Georgie if nothing else, such a sweety!) - Thank you both!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank -emmal5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara-Penellen, Owner at The Penellen Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks very much for your fantastic review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews