We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities and a great breakfast”
Review of Rowan Barn

Rowan Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowan Barn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here back in October 2012. We stayed in "The Dairy", a lovely one bedroom self catering annex to the main farmhouse. Although self catering, it also included breakfast in the barn. The breakfast is truly excellent. I had the best omelette that I have ever eaten.
The Dairy is the best one bedroomed cottage we have stayed in, with a very good lounge/dining & kitchen area. This room has a high ceiling and it feels spacious yet cosy. Internet reception in the Dairy is weak, so you may need to go to the barn to pick up a stronger signal.
The owners Huw & Sally are very hospitable and welcoming.
Highly recommended and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_M_Surrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We used Rowan barn as a base whilst we went off an explored the costal roads and jaw dropping sites. Lovely, spacious accommodation placed in a beautiful setting (although a car/bike is recommended). Fantastic hosts who gave brilliant advice regarding sites to see and even provided us with maps and books. Breakfast is something that just cannot be missed. Great value for money and would utterly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Willow' room which was really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACandLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Tranquil countryside location, lovely dining facilities and a spacious, lovely ensuite room. Attentive hosts and a lovely breakfast. Close to Hayle. We brought a bottle of wine which was quickly refridgerated and we were told to help ourselves to glasses and after refreshing ourselves we supped on the terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed in Ash. The room and en suite were extremely clean. The bed was very comfortalble with fresh white cotton bedding. The breakfast room next door was a lovely room, all part of the barn conversion. The breakfast was excellent with a range of cereals, yogurt and fruit followed by a choice of hot dishes, all cooked by Huw in the kitchen end of the room. As we only stayed for 1 night, in December, we were unable to make use of the decking and gardens infront of the rooms but it would be a lovely place to sit and relax in good weather. The whole feel of Rowan Barn is relaxation and style, a holiday cottage feel rather than b&b. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieL115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in The Ash recently for my birthday. We could not have found a nicer place. A few particular highlights. Firstly, the location. It is so peaceful, no traffic noise. In fact little noise at all except for an owl each evening. And a lovely lake in the grounds. In spite of this, it is only a short drive to Hayle and it's centrally placed for just about all of West Cornwall.

The room itself was spotlessly clean and very comfy. The cooked breakfast was delicious and the separate dining room worked well. The owners, Huw and Sally, were very friendly and got the balance between attentiveness and guest privacy just right. And the rock cakes on arrival were great. And all this for less than we would have paid for a Premier Inn! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattdj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Only stayed one night in the Hazel. Room lovely, comfortable & clean. Sally made us a very welcome cuppa! The breakfast was delicious, with Huw's own sausages. It is a short drive to Penzance, the Penlee Art Gallery is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Draigcoch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Me and my partner stayed here in September/October of last year and although it is a GORGEOUS place to stay in, i've only just thought to review it on here! Stayed 2 nights in the Ash room....was wonderful :D Very quiet and secluded, yet you can easily access busier parts of Cornwall if needed, such as St Ives, which we went to several times. In really bad weather (snow, etc.) it may be hard to get to but i thought the "bobbly" road down was so pretty! There are so many places to explore within the surrounding land, and predominately unspoilt countryside views around the property. When we got there we were greeted by the most wlecoming and friendly people i have met for a while, who promptly sat us down with tea and rock cakes outside in the sunshine. They also had the most beautiful Cocker Spaniel, who came and joined us as we chatted to the owners. The room was immaculate, and the bed was so comfortable. The "extras" in the room were perfect, yet we knew if we had any problems we could go the owners for anything. As it was, we certainly didn't! Both days we ate in the dining room and it was beautifully cooked, and had a countryside feel like it should do. All in all a wonderful place, i don't think i could say all of the things i want to as it would take too long, but i would recommend it to any couple who wants to "get away from it all".

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely, although we picked Ash as it was our favourite and we were not disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TashaLangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hayle hotels
2 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in St Erth Praze
62 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
749 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bostrase Bed & Breakfast with Boo & Matt
4.2 mi away
Sandbank House
Sandbank House
#3 of 15 in Hayle
83 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Barn

Address: Rowan Barn Bosworgy Road, Hayle TR27 6ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowan Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rowan Barn Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing