We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely chalet”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of F26 Porthia

Large lounge/kitchen/diner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large lounge/kitchen/diner
Kitchen with full size fridge freezer, washing maching and double oven with ceramic hob TV with intergrated DVD player.  A selection of games, books and DVD for rainy days
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Large lounge/kitchen/diner
Kitchen with full size fridge freezer, washing maching and double oven with ceramic hob
TV with intergrated DVD player.  A selection of games, books and DVD for rainy days
Dining table - Seats upto 8 people
Picnic table for alfresco dining
Rear of Porthia - plenty of space for outdoor play
Rear of Porthia
Front of Porthia
Double bedroom
Bunk bedroom
1st shower room
2nd shower room
Hayle Beach - 3 miles of golden sands
Godrevy Lighthouse
Amazing sunsets
Find the carving at Tehidy Park, feed the ducks and swans on the lake
St Michaels Mount
St Ives Harbour - Get the train from St Erth
Tin Mine at Lappa Valley Railway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hayle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bryony C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't believe I was booking our holiday through trip advisor but it was really easy and loved reading the positive reviews also, made quite a few enquiries throughout the who booking process and the owners were extremely helpful. The chalet has everything you could ever need and my one and only fault would be out of their hands - Phone signal, the location made it very hard to connect with 3G and the WIFI (not free) providers are not great either, even on a 15 minute free trial the connection was poor!
I guess in one way it was good for us not to be on social media or browsing the Internet when you have views like that right outside your door practically! Great location and a fantastic feel to the place.
Will be coming again next year 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozzy12342...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely modern chalet, spacious”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Porthia was in a nice quiet location. Outside isn't very well maintained!

Went in and was happy, as pictures are accurate and I was very pleased we chose this chalet.

Good points

Spacious
Modern
2bathrooms
Bunk rooms full size beds - great for children.
Well stocked kitchen
Range of books, DVDs and beach equipment
Location was ok as a base for us.

Bad points

Could do with a spring clean, very dusty and in need of a good fettle, was food under sofa and items under the bed.
Bedding was very tatty and pillows need replacing, mattress topper on double bed made it very hot
Double bed has king size quilt... We took double duvet cover and as it was too small it was lumpy ( not good in warm weather)
Didn't have a good sleep at all :(
Bin was over 3/4 full on arrival.

Would recommend visitors take their own bedding for comfort - aside from this we found it home from home and would stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review of Porthia. We are glad you had a good holiday despite the issues. We can only apologies about the chalet not being cleaned to its usual standard. We have spoken to the company who deal with the cleaning and they have looked into it and assure us it will not happen again. We are happy that these issues did not put you off trying to booking for 2015, unfortunately we did not have dates that suited. We look forward to hearing from you again in 2016. Kind regards Babs & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolaand...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chalet - could not fault - def recommend.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Porthia is a fantastic holiday chalet - fully equipped and lovely extras such as toys, games, beach equipment, books and DVD's and furnished to a high standard. We travelled with our children - 13 & 10 - and was great they had a room each and no fighting over top bunk! The 2 shower rooms were a fantastic bonus - great after a day on the beach. Also the washing machine was very handy.
The site is very quiet - we had a lovely peaceful family holiday with every day on the beach which is an easy walk from the chalet.
A lovely area to stay - lots of places within half an hours drive - though we didn't really leave the beach due to good weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anu S
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place for children”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had an absolutely lovely time in Porthia. Being in a cul-de-sac it was perfect for our little kids jumping around. Close to the little supermarket. Very high standard inside the chalet, especially the 2 bathrooms made life a luxury. Can recommend highly to everyone. We'll come happily back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 2 bathrooms and the quite location.
Liked least: Could do with some more kitchen tools.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenev3
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The booking was straightforward and efficient.
The house was comfortable, well equipped with every thing you need. The beach is 5 minute walk away. There is a lot to do in the area but you will need a car to access them. We went with 3 grown up children. They went coasteering (extreme but they loved it) Kayaking on the sea (loved it). There is so much to do that a week felt to short.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The double showers and leather sittingroom suite.
Liked least: The bunkbeds for adults not ideal but understandable in the space.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emjaymai
1 review
“Wonderful holiday, wonderful chalet!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The chalet was very spacious and modern throughout. It was much nicer than we had expected and it was equipped with everything you should need. Although it did not have a sea view like some of the other chalets on the site, it was still only a short walking distance to the beach and it looked like one of the better chalets on the site so we didn't mind.

The nearby beach was outstanding and location was an excellent base to tour the lands end and Penzance area. Although the site was quiet we found this more peaceful and the local pub 'the bluff' was only a 5 min walk and had excellent sea views.

Overall I would definately recommend the chalet and location. For the price, this was a bargin and we shall definately return.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing