We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service”
Review of Grameen

Grameen
Ranked #27 of 61 Restaurants in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We have been here as a family (including small children) on 3 or 4 occasions whilst holidaying in Cornwall, we haven't had a bad curry yet. Each time we have been the service has been good and the food excellent. The food is reasonably priced and staff friendly and helpful. I echo another review about not understanding where the bad reviews come from. The interior appears fresh and clean to me, and despite visiting at least a year apart for us the food is the same good standard every time. Would highly recommend the chefs special tikka masala sagwala, a very creamy and sweet curry. I think I could eat one of those every day of the week (and be very fat!).
I would certainly recommend this restaurant to others. We haven't used the takeaway service so can't comment on that. We have visited another curry house in Hayle and we think this is the best so would always return here.

Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    39
    17
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I only live up the road and did not know this place existed, after reading some of the reviews I was sceptical but thought I would try it and have my own opinion of this place.
On arriving I noticed how busy it was, good start... The waiters were friendly, the place looked lovely I do not inspect carpets etc when I go to a restaurant on the whole it was really nice, the service was brilliant and it was very busy, the food is absolutely delicious, we shared starters highly recommend the garlic mushrooms ( nothing like you would expect) and the sheek kebab was mouth watering, I do not understand the negative comments I would highly recommend this restaurant and I will be returning the best Indian food I've ever had, ignore the negative reviews and try this place I'm so glad I did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too many staff... Dirty carpets...friends / staff wandering in and out of kitchen...”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Something just didn't quite smell right with food... Found a hair in my curry... Had to wait even though food pre ordered and only one couple eating ... Have had much better curries... Pretty tasteless

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K2patz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service needs attention”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We reserved a table as in the past it has been busy. Arrived and shown to table by waiter. Menus already on table and quick order of poppadoms arrived with bottle of wine. Food order taken and that's about it! No interest shown by waiters. Had to prompt for spoons to serve meal. No enquiry as to how meal was. Total lack of interest or motivation. Clearly non of the three young male waiters wanted to be there! No offer of dessert menu or further drink or coffee. Whilst sitting noticed empty tables being relaid but 'clean' table cloths were not clean. All in all food ok but restaurant and service tired and unloved. Shame because the food was good. Toilet facilities basic. Whole place and waiters could do with a face lift.

Helpful?
Thank turkeyloverCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hopeless Service”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have been 4 times for a takeaway. The first time was fine but the food was average. The third time, they mislaid my order completely but didn't even think to offer to get it ready quickly since I had come t collect??? So I went to the other Indian 100yards away. Fourth time they were over 30 minutes late, because they said they had made a scheduling mistake but there were only 3 takeaway customers waiting. I had the biggest order but someone else was given a ex gratis bottle of wine. Then I found my order was short of 3 items which I had to return for, no appology. I conclude that Grameen don't want me as a customer so I'm not going back. Job done.
The Tarka Dahl has way too much butter. The jalfrezi is nice but not at all hot. Everything else, food wise was average. The servcie is simply terrible. No smiles, no greeting, no competence, no apology, no hope.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grameen also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
Hayle, Cornwall
 

Been to Grameen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing