We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards Slipping”
Review of Trevaskis Farm

Trevaskis Farm
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Standards Slipping”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I've visited Trevaskis Farm a couple times before and everything has been amazing but on this occasion I felt that standards had slipped. Service was friendly but I felt some members of staff were quite cold and as a waitress myself I certainly make a very big deal of being smiley, attentative and committed to the customers wants and needs. It was nearly an hour for our food to come out which was way to long to be waiting, moreover the quality of food was good and tasty but not to the standard it use to be. Some meals like the burger are nicely presented but meals like the fish pie were very mesy, many places I've eaten out before and my own work serve the fish pie in a seperate dish and I think this is something that should be considered. Everything aside the desserts were incredible!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    256
    137
    84
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cream tea as it should be.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Thank you all for a wonderful tea. My faith in Cornish Cream Tea's has been restored. The service and standard were very good, especially as it was a very busy Sunday lunchtime. Plenty and top quality. Would recommend that many others that provide Cornish Cream teas come and sample yours.Well done. Colin Spargo.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colinfaltown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Standards dropping”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I live locally and are pensioners. We have visited this location about once a fortnight for sometime. However, of recent we have noticed a decline in the quality of the food, there is plenty of it, but quality is the main concern. Last two occasions - not so good. Finally yesterday wrong meal served for myself and returned. My wife had a basket of chips with her "pulled pork" meal - chips were cold on service. These were returned and subsequently hot chips were brought, but by then, the pulled pork was cold - we made comment to staff and they said we need not pay for one of the meals. Fair enough - a place we looked forward to visiting in the past - have to look around for an alternative now, following these declining standards

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevaskis F, Owner at Trevaskis Farm, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Roger,

It fills me with great sadness that a regular and loyal customer, as you state you are, has felt the need to post on this forum rather than speak to me directly as I am always working on site and available.

I am sorry you have experienced some issues and would love to talk to you about it should you wish to.

All the best,
Giles Eustice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really worth the visit - even just for desserts!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I and 2 friends had dinner here last week, and it was fantastic. The food and the service was really good, and it was also very good value for money. The desserts are phenomenal, and the portion sizes are obscene - enough to take half home and have the rest the next day! Can highly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D_V_G_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We go to trevaskis a lot my son loves it .he was coming home from Australia for 3 weeks and after having his leaving party their in September why not .we all sat outside 10 of us .we was told we would have to go inside to order so we did 1 hour later we got the starters. 1 by 1 so by the time we all had them they got cold . 1 hour after that we had to ask for our meals 1 by 1 they came out most of it was just cooked .potatoes was raw sauce was cold we did complain and all we got was sorry about that .the bill was over £200.00 you think they would have made a bit of a effort

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trevaskis Farm also viewed

 
Hayle, Cornwall
 

Been to Trevaskis Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing