We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location to Explore Cornwall”

Calize Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Calize Country House
Ranked #15 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location to Explore Cornwall”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This country house, set above the village of Gwithian and looking out towards Godrevy lighthouse not only offers B&B, but also has a self-contained 2 bedroom annexe for self catering holidaymakers and it is this which we used. The grounds are spacious and the house well maintained and tastefully decorated. Our apartment was well appointed, with two good sized bedrooms and an open kitchen/living/dining area. Nigel is a friendly, efficient and helpful host and the property is very well equipped. It is the ideal combination of a fantastic coastal location (only 10 minutes walk from a perfect beach for swimming and surfing - including a surfing academy), a great village with shop, church and gastropub - and yet only about 5 minutes drive from access to the A30, and thereby easy access to all the sights of Cornwall. We ventured to Eden, Padstow and Lands End all in under an hour - and could easily walk the coastal path round to Hayle, and beyond that St Ives. Just fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliej27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

fabulous views of Gwithian and Godrevy Lighthouse as mentioned in Virginia Wolffe's book 'To The Lighthouse'
Nigel is an excellent and welcoming host -great breakfasts keep you going till the next cream Tea!
Lovely comfortable room and VERY comfy bed.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room with a view of the lighthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Brilliant position Brilliant host
Brilliant food Brilliant accommodation
All for a Brilliant price.
I have no qualms in recommending Calize for your holiday. Beautifully decorated with many rooms having sea views including Godrevy lighthouse.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PEDALLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just back from my second weekend stay at Calize. The first time was 18 months ago and I travelled solo, this time I took a friend with me. The welcome was as warm as ever - Nigel is an excellent host (also a good conversationalist and a great bread maker!).

The house is lovely with fantastic views across Gwithian to Godrevy and the lighthouse. Accommodation is spacious and comfortable, and the breakfasts are stupendous - all food locally sourced too.

Highly recommended - I'll definitely be going back!

Room Tip: All rooms are en suite and well furnished, all are quiet, no problem with any rooms as far as I coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WizzyLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hayle hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandbank House
Sandbank House
#2 of 15 in Hayle
81 reviews
4.2 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in St Erth Praze
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
101 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bostrase Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calize Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calize Country House

Property: Calize Country House
Address: Calize House 9 Prosper Hill | Gwithian, Hayle TR27 5BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Calize Country House Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing