We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge lunch!!”
Review of Cornish Arms

Cornish Arms
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A friendly cottage style pub, serving fine ale and excellent pub food with beautiful finishing touches.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Huge lunch!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Had a lovely lunch here last week, portions are massive! Felt guilty because I couldnt finish mine!
Staff were friendly and I fell in love with the pub dog (dont know his name!).Beautiful weather so we ate in the well kept beer garden.
Would come back here for the chips alone!
Good job Cornish Arms!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JabLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
So pleased you enjoyed the meal - the portions can be challenging but we would hate anyone to leave hungry! The dog's name is Ollie - probably the star attraction - other than the chips of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    70
    18
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here with friends after reading recent reviews as we were holidaying only a couple of miles away. Friendly staff and a nice pub. Food was really really nice , good price and very big portion. They forgot to put our portion of onion rings ( which are massive ) on the bill and so let us have them on the house which was a nice gesture. If you are after good food then come here!

Helpful?
3 Thank herefordian1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Last year while we were in Cornwall we ate here and we were disappointed but what a difference a year makes!!!
we had a carvery on the Sunday which was lovely!! you could choose from 4 meats which were all cooked to perfection the potatoes were cooked lovely and so was all the veg.
the atmosphere was great and the staff were helpful and friendly. would highly recommend!!
we did book our table Saturday for Sunday which I suggest you do!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Smudger641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We have only been here 2 months and it is so encouraging to hear that we are getting things right. So pleased you came back after last years experience. I see you are in the Frome area - our last pub was in Melksham so we were nearly neighbours then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to eat this is the place to go. the carvery is fantastic the food was cooked to perfection .there were 6 of us 4 had carvery 2 had burger and real chips all enjoyed the food. the staff were excellent and very welcoming cant fault anything .we were on holiday but will definitely be going there next time we are down there. would highly recommend this pub

Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your very encouraging comments. Very happy we could cater for you and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and very helpful staff”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the Cornish Arms for dinner and had a lovely meal for a reasonable price. The chef also helped accommodate one of my very fussy children which was very much appreciated. Would recommend this place.

Helpful?
3 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments, much appreciated by all here and as newcomers to the pub and area, encouraging to know that we are getting things right. Sorry for the delay in responding - only just found my way onto the Trip Advisor owner site!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornish Arms also viewed

 

Been to Cornish Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing