We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT'S A MUST!”
Review of Cornish Arms

Cornish Arms
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A friendly cottage style pub, serving fine ale and excellent pub food with beautiful finishing touches.
Darwen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“IT'S A MUST!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Went for a meal here with my 2 daughters, had been told that the meals here were good but they under estimated it! I had steak and stout pie, new potatoes and veg. The pie over flowed with steak and was very succulent, tasted amazing. My daughters had burger and chips and lasagne, both were very large portions and were thourghly enjoyed by my girls. If you want some good hearty food with staff who are friendly and helpful then you truly need to try this place.

Helpful?
12 Thank Debspenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your positive comments - our pies have certainly gained a good reputation and the Steak & Stout is particularly popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    76
    21
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous pub Food!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently had an evening meal in this lovely pub. The menu was quite small and it wasn't particularly busy the evening we were there so were a little concerned that this was a reflection of the food being served. How wrong we were!!! I had the fish and chips, which I can quite honestly say was the nicest I have had anywhere! The crispiest batter ever on the fish. Thought I was full, but after looking at the puddings being served next to us we opted to share one and chose the fudge chocolate cake. Absolutely yummie!!!!! Really was home made and was outstanding, we were both fighting over the last piece. Will definitely return when next in the Hayle area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for such a glowing recommendation. It is very rewarding to hear that our efforts are so appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hayle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We ate here one night in June; service was good, place was clean and pub food was good; portions were really generous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cornish charms”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A lovely pub with friendly staff and excellent pub grub very well priced with an excellent selection of beers too. Proper job

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank chlodarfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your comments - so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back next time you get to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely home cooked food”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

really nice food homemade with plenty of choice. Really nice people own it. Doesn't look very big or up to much from outside but brilliant inside. Best in the area

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank hebrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm N, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments - we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you can return to Cornwall soon. We have just finished planting up hanging baskets, window boxes and tubs with summer flowers so hopefully the outside will soon be a blaze of colour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornish Arms also viewed

 

Been to Cornish Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing