We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanders Fish and Chips

Sanders Fish and Chips
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Listed on Face book only recently opened
Truro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I've had fish and chips from here previously, when a friend came to visit I took them here, not disappointed! Lovely fish and chips and you don't have to wait long either. They are always busy which is a good sign. We took away our food this time but they have a lovely restaurant area that we will be back to try. Thank you very much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamP269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    69
    24
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish and chips! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Recommended by our friends, we decided to try what is described as the best fish and chips around and it's safe to say we were not disappointed. We came on Saturday 7th June, the restaurant seemed very busy but the lady who was working (didn't catch her name, was wearing glasses) got us a window seat (which is what we were hoping for) with no problems. We ordered two cod and chips and mushy peas and bread and butter. The cod was beautiful!!! Lightly battered and not greasy at all! The chips were perfect and hot!! The service from the girl wearing glasses was amazing! You couldn't fault it! The restaurant was so busy, but she remained calm throughout! I will most Deffinately be coming again!!!

Helpful?
Thank CornishCreamCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chips good fish over cooked on the small side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Fish and chips takeaway twice, last night we were disappointed with our fish(cod), it was on the small side and slightly dry over cooked around the edge. Chip were fine, the staff and service were very good. The restaurant side was bustling and has a nice atmosphere. Good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Probably the best fish and chips we ever had. Visited while on holiday in Hayle.

The stuff is exceptionally helpful and pleasant. I asked if they do grilled fish, the waitress was very apologetic and offered steamed fish. I had steamed haddock and it was delicious and fresh. You can have half chips and half salad with your fish which I think is great so you do not have to order salad extra, which would be probably too mush to eat and also extra cost.

The children portion are also very generous. We ordered one kids portion to share for our two girls and the staff was so proactive that they split the the meal on two plate without us asking for it. I thought that was very thoughtful.

Chips were the best I had in any restaurant, pub and fish and chip shop.

Very impressed!! I would recommend it. It is a shame that we live so far.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lunadanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Ives
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very tasty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Been here a few times & always had a lovely meal, friendly staff & a good price. Recommend the Gluten free batter it's very tasty, go & enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maggot6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanders Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Sanders Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing