We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bostrase Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Boo and Matt are lovely hosts. When I arrived i wanted to go to my lovely soft big bed in a beautiful room and play "princess and the pea". But alas I had to go out for a family dinner. In the morning I was met in the breakfast room with the amazing table (Matts piece of art) Breakfast was cooked individually and was again inkeeping with the surroundings, perfect. I defy any one to find anything wrong with this piece of heaven near Hayle. I stayed for a family funeral and it was even perfect then. Stayed in June 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 137Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Bostrase Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything in this B&B is perfect:
- Location, very close to the sea and St Ives (you will need a car)
- Comfortable room
- Amazing breakfast, served individually so that you have exactly what you like
- Very nice owners, who will give you tips and treat you as family

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pixxidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If there were two people who were made to run this perfect B&B it's Boo & Matt!
From the minute we pulled into the drive way to the emotional goodbye we were spoilt rotten.

Bostrase is a very special place located at the end of a quiet country lane. The house, orchard and gardens are all very pretty and well kept. There are plenty of places to sit and enjoy a glass of local cider or a cup of tea amidst the ducks, chickens and friendly cats.
Inside the decor is beautiful Boo and Matt have excellent taste and their attention to detail and thoughtfulness is second to none.
We had the upstairs double with shower and bath. The bed is possibly the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. The pillows and bed linen are excellent quality.
Now for the amazing breakfasts....
We were greeted by Boo's huge smile and friendly chatter every morning what a great start to the day. This was followed by Matt's excellent breakfasts with his special roasted tomatoes -yum!!!!
We were asked each morning what we would like for the following day, nothing was too much trouble.
All of our fellow guests sat around the beautiful round table which is a very special price constructed by Matt. After we had finished breakfast Matt & Boo joined us and shared stories and information on the local areas, how often do you experience that!
We feel like we arrived as guests but left with two amazing friends.
I think a lot of hotels could learn alot from Boo & Matt.
Everyone should stay at Bostrase you will feel spoilt, rested and perhaps a little bigger round the waist from the brekkies. Mostly though you'll feel fulfilled for meeting such genuinely lovely people who are obviously doing exactly what they should be in life.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazzinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

NO one could give you a warmer welcome than Boo and Matt. This couple love to have guests. If you do not have a good stay here you can only blame yourself.
There is every thing you could want in these charming rooms the main thing being the very comfortable bed. Tea, coffee other drinks and fresh milk in your own fridge. Plenty of drawers and coat hangers. The bathroom has a large shower and separate bath. All the clean fresh towels of a good standard you could require.
The ultimate Cornish breakfast cooked by Matt, you must have it at least once, well sourced bacon and sausages fresh baby tomatoes (ask Matt his secret) Brown and white toast made from good bread, eggs cooked to perfection any way you want also smoked salmon. To start any cereal, muesli, fresh yogurt and we had strawberries from their garden. As much tea or coffee served in individual pots
You sit at a large table and interact with the other guests, don't forget you all have in common choosing this delightful B&B.
Boo is the most wonderful hostess, you are welcome to make the place your own and enjoy the wonderful, sunny garden that they both are working so hard on
I cannot put into words how much we enjoyed staying here and how welcome we felt and how sad to leave I am not surprised they have so many returning guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The welcome tea and biscuits after my 5 hour drive from London started off my wonderful stay very well sitting in the garden in the sunshine !
Boo and Matt were fantastic hosts for my stay in their B&B last week. My ground floor room was very well equipped and comfortable and I even had my own little patio area. The breakfasts were delicious too with lots to eat and plenty of everything (esp tea!) if I so wished.
Boo and Matt couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful with advise on the local area, transport options (even offering us a lift to the main road to help with high heels!) and ideas on what to do.
This place comes highly recommended as the beaches nearby are wonderfully sandy and you are very close to St Ives and other areas of interest.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leduck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Boo and Matt have a lovely B+B. The rooms have the softest bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. We stayed in October when the cooked breakfasts had stopped but Boo was kind enough to provide banana and apples for the cereals and toast which was a great touch. Both her and Matt went out of their way to provide me with a great breakfast beverage which I enjoyed tremendously before my wife and I hiked each day. We look forward to returning and spending more time in this area of Cornwall and it will definitely be at the Bostrase BB.

Sam Hendricks, author of Fantasy Football Guidebook and the soon to be released novel "Just One More..."

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_Hendricks_author
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just spent two nights at Bostrase and cannot recommend it highly enough. Both Matt and Boo are lovely hosts and made us feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble. Our room had a wonderful view and was spotlessly clean with the most amazingly comfortable bed ever. Matt's breakfasts were delicious, piping hot with good quality produce, together with a huge choice of cereals and never ending pots of coffee and tea. We booked again before we left so that we can have a repeat of this truly wonderful/unique experience.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
253 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
3.0 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bostrase Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bostrase Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bostrase Tolroy Road, Hayle TR27 6HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range: £72 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bostrase Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Boo & Matt's place, Bostrase, a traditional Cornish Country cottage, only a mile from St Ives Bay. It is a superb location, whether away for a business or pleasure, with easy access to the A30. In a secluded valley, heading away from busy roads, Bostrase is perfect for that 'get away from it all' feeling and peaceful nights sleep. Originally built in 1830 as farm labourers cottages, some of our walls are 70cm thick. Being a cottage, our rooms are not huge, it is all about our comfy beds, relaxed surroundings and up to date facilities in a home, full of character. Each bedroom has it's own style, but your comfort is our main priority. Bostrase is situated on the grounds, of the estate, originally owned by the Trevithick family. Richard Trevithick being the inventor of the Cornish boiler and many other steam related inventions. Our very own spring water, is pumped a 140 feet from under ground, goes through a filtration system and is tested every year to pass Council standards. We benefit from additive free drinking water, from every room In the house and not many people, are lucky enough to shower and bathe, in pure spring water. We have ample parking, for all our guests, to come and go as they please, if considerately parked. When checking our location, you will see that we are ideally located for exploring all that Cornwall has to offer. A mile to St Ives Bay on the North coast, home to Godrevy lighthouse and a colony of Grey seals. Only 6 miles to Mounts Bay on the south coast, home to St Michaels Mount. Less than 20 miles from Lands End, the most Westerly point of the mainland and the most Southerly point of the mainland, The Lizard. The city of Truro being 30 minutes, to the East. A vast range of scenery, from golden sandy beaches over 3 miles long, renowned worldwide for the surfing and old mining engine houses, desperately clinging to rugged cliff sides, trying to escape the relentless Atlantic sea. Lighthouses used to warn seafarers of dangerous rocks. Fishing villages with pretty harbours and we have, sheltered wooded valleys with picturesque estuaries. There are a multitude of gardens, from subtropical to sculpture. Castles and mines to explore and art galleries galore. It doesn't get much better than that, the best of everything. Have fun finding your favourite place in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bostrase Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bostrase Bed & Breakfast Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing