We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Summer stop off”
Review of Red River Inn

Red River Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Summer stop off”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were staying in a campsite in Hayle this weekend and had run out of enthusiasm for yet more camping / BBQ food so popped in here for some food. I was expecting pretty ordinary food as the front of the pub doesn't give much away and as they are the only pub nearby they could have got away with significantly less quality! I had mussels in a cream and cider sauce which was lovely, my husband had a halloumi and pesto salad which he enjoyed so much he made me eat some so I could try and commit it to memory and re-create at home! Our daughter had kids fish and chips which were mini fish nuggets (home made) and she was very happy with that too. For pudding we had 2 x kids sundaes which were exactly as sickly as they should be without being overwhelming and a sticky toffee pudding which was fine.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and quick.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    94
    25
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely fresh fish and delicious food, good service
Limited parking but worth a visit
Definitely book a table at weekends as it can get very busy during the summer months

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Been here three times now and always been made to feel more than welcome. We called in tonight for a quick drink and ended up having a meal. The staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. The food is just superb. It's a very dog friendly pub and there are more than a few dogs usually in attendance. If you don't like dogs - well - tough really. The staff work hard and it shows in the level of service and quality of the food. We will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CameramanUKLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very friendly pub”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Ate here while walking the Coast Path. Noting remarkable but good size portions of well cooked food and charming helpful staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidewinder4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Pleasant little pub with very friendly service. Food was pretty good too! We all enjoyed our meals and the desserts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 255103Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red River Inn also viewed

 
Hayle, Cornwall
 

Been to Red River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing