We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Sandbank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandbank House
Ranked #3 of 15 Hayle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We received a very friendly welcome, Julie and Chris could not have been more helpful, offering some great recommendations on restaurants and walks.

Great base to explore St Ives and the south west of Cornwall.

The room was spotless and breakfasts fantastic !!

Great trip, would highly recommend and we will visit Sandbanks again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your great review, and good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sandbank (and the breakfasts). We look forward to seeing you again. Julie and Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at Sandbank and were greeted with a warm welcome by the owners. The room was exactly how it looked on the website, very spacious and tastefully decorated. Our hosts could not have been more helpful during our stay. They were always willing and ready to offer advice about local eateries and points of interest in the surrounding area and had an obvious passion about St Ives and the surrounding area. Our breakfast were always delicious and had the table groaning under the amount of food we had served up to us, better than most hotels we have stayed at! The B&B is situated on a nice quiet country lane so we had no issues with sound outside our bedroom window. All in all I would recommend Sanbank to anyone who was visiting St Ives. It is a relaxing and welcoming place that I would be happy to return to time and time again. A huge thank you to the owners!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistylee1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again when you next come to explore our area. Kind regards, Julie and Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd return to Sandbanks and once again it was a very good stay. Julie and Chris once again made us very welcome and I am glad Julie still leaves cake out for her guests.
The service and cleanliness is superb and the breakfast is excellent.
Julie also knows the area very well and offered us very good advice on where to visit and she was spot on, thank you Julie we really enjoyed Trelissick gardens and St Mawes.
Thank you Julie and Chris for another great stay with you.
Ray & Jackie

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopi2436_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to see you both again and good to hear that this stay was just as enjoyable. We hope to see you again, meanwhile we hope all goes well with the weddings! Kind regards from Julie and Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I received a warm welcome for my two-night stay at Sandbank House, Hayle. My room was beautifully presented, tastefully decorated with a pleasing mix of modern (flat screen tv, complimentary wifi) and traditional features. I loved the large shower in the bathroom & the inclusion of bath robes was a nice touch. Everything was spotless and the ample cupboard space in my room was great.

Breakfast was served in the conservatory overlooking the garden - a light, lovely & peaceful place. Breakfast included a choice of fruit, cereals, juice, tea, coffee and yoghurts as well as toast with preserves and cooked breakfast options. I particularly liked the emphasis on locally sourced produce.

The only very mild point to make was that I did hear traffic from the road at times. My room was on the front of the house, looking towards the road. This didn't bother me particularly but it may disturb others.

I hope to return to Sandbank - stylish, beautiful & very comfortable, run by a lovely & charming host.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizzi_wig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind words about Sandbank. I'm glad you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay here. We're sorry that the bank holiday traffic made our road a little busy in the Country Room, but good to hear it wasn't enough to spoil your stay. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again. Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and would definitely recommend. Lovely room, very comfortable bed. We were totally looked after. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of it!! Julie was so helpful and even lent me her brollie. Thank you for such a memorable stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princeyboyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Me and my uncles were staying here for 3 nights and it was a very nice place to stay! Very close to the beach which was good for us because we were kitesurfing. On the last day they also let us go kitesurfing all day and come back and get showered before we headed up the road. Very clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed two nights. Room and bed very comfortable. Excellent breakfast served in bright conservatory. Good hospitality. Very attractive garden. Residents' lounge with TV and interesting books (not shown on web site). Convenient location for visiting St Ives, Penzance and the Land's End peninsular. We would thoroughly recommend Sandbank House and would stay again.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms so you'll need to book quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmbleAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hayle hotels
3.7 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in St Erth Praze
62 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
779 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bostrase Bed & Breakfast with Boo & Matt
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tamarisk Bed & Breakfast
Tamarisk Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 15 in Hayle
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbank House

Address: 51 Upton Towans, Hayle TR27 5BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range: £126 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandbank House is a friendly, family-run Bed & Breakfast that offers a warm welcome. Our en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated with a wide choice of breakfasts served in the conservatory. All bedrooms are tastefully decorated to a high standard. Sandbank House dates back to 1898 and is nestled in a peaceful conservation area on the eastern side of St. Ives Bay. A two minute drive from Gwithian Beach and ten minutes from St. Ives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbank House Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing