We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that child friendly”

Gwithian Academy of Surfing
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Hayle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and surf with us at St Ives Bay in Cornwall. Learn the basics of surfing or fine tune your technique with a surfing lesson at the Gwithian Academy of Surfing - one of Cornwall's longest running and most highly regarded surf schools.At our surf school we take surf tuition seriously and work hard to make sure that your surfing lesson is as fun and rewarding as possible. For this reason all of our coaches are fully qualified as surf coaches, lifeguards and first aiders and two have even coached the British Junior Surfing Team on a number of occasions. A surf lesson with us can help you to achieve all of your surfing goals.Gwithian Academy of Surfing is an Academy of Surfing Instructors Accredited Surf School (one of only three in Britain) that operates from Gwithian - the Northernmost point of St Ives Bay - and is very close to the towns of Hayle, St Ives and Penzance.Our surf school is run from a purpose built beach-side location where we can offer changing facilities, a classroom for teaching surfing theory and providing video analysis, a gym and ample parking.Gwithian Academy of Surfing offers group and private surfing lessons for all levels - beginners, intermediate and advanced- and for all ages. We regularly cater for families, backpackers, children, schools and corporate groups.Beside our surf school we have a surf shop where we can spend time with you to find the right equipment to suit your build, style and ability.Accommodation can also be provided in our beautiful seaside village to help make your stay the perfect surfing holiday.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not that child friendly”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My 8 year old daughter has had lessons in Hayle, St. Ives, Dunbar, Lanzarotte and Coldingham. Gwithian Academy were easy to deal with and the instructor was very nice but I didn't feel that they were geared up for children where the other schools we've used have been . There was one instructor for a class of 6 adults and 1 child and I had to go in the water to help. Contrast this with St. Ives Surf School who had a class of 8 children with 3 instructors in the water. The walk from the shop to the beach is quite long and over a lot of rocks.
So the guys were really nice but if you're looking to get your child started surfing in this area I'd visit the guys in St. Ives.

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank graeme w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a totally satisfactory experience with us.
We generally group our lessons according to ability rather than age and with children between 6-8 years we always ask a parent or guardian to join in as we have found that this is helpful for a number of reasons.
Smaller children find surfing quite physically taxing and sometimes need some extra help getting their surfboards out into the waves. They also tend to tire more quickly and occasionally some may need to leave the group before the scheduled end of the lesson.
We continually review our policies with regard to child protection and H&S and we will carefully consider your comments with regard to any childrens surfing lessons in the future.
We are genuinely grateful for your feedback and we really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments.
All the best
Tyson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surfing class”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A great beginers surfing lesson for our family. Oldies to youngsters all enjoyed it. Surf wasn't too high to be impossible but high enough to make it a challenge. At least one of us managed to stand up for a reasonable distance in the first hours. The instructors were great and really encouraging.

A really relaxed set up. They let us come back at the end of our holiday for our extra free surf as we were all too exhausted after the lesson. Well worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank CrookedIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. Tyson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Learn to Surf in Cornwall”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

First tried surfing and had lessons at GAS (Gwithian Academy of Surfing) 3 years ago and return there 2 or 3 times a year to hire a board as still not good enough to have my own yet and the cost of a board for a few hours is brilliant. Also the price of hiring a wetsuit and board for my son and or friends is always a good reason to visit apart from the location (great beach thats not to busy) and helpful and freindly staff.
If you after accomodation as well they can get you set up with a great holiday lets, literaly 5mins up the road.

Cant recommend this place enough and will continue to use.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank iainhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. It's always satisfying for us to see surfers as they improve over the years and we are stoked that you enjoy coming back to us. Thanks again.
Tyson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Want to learn to surf?”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you are looking to learn to surf in North Cornwall, then this is the place for you !.
Myself and my wife have just finished our fifth trip to Gwithian and the Academy is one of the key reasons why we return year after year.This is where we started what will hopefully be a lifelong adventure in surfing.For beginners i guess the initial lessons are critical, and this is where the guys at the academy excel.The coaching is fantastic, and they will get you up and standing in no time.And of course as well as first rate coaching the shop is stocked with everything you need , from wax to wet suits, and boots to boards.
So if you want to learn to surf in a relaxed, super friendly, and most importantly FUN environment then look no further !

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Richcollyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks Rich, really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of the surf school. Can't wait to see you again next year and take another shot at the Red River Inn pub quiz! Thanks again
Tys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something different.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Ive visited Hayle for holidays for many years since I was a child, and have always wanted to learn to surf. I finally started learning 3 years ago with Gwithian Academy, and glad I did. The tutors are all excellent and make it fun, and are there to help and guide you to improve your experience. Everyone wants to stand up on their first go, which is highly acheivable with the instructors guidance. Many Thanks

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyson G, Owner at Gwithian Academy of Surfing, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review, we really do appreciate it and we are always pleased to surf with you each year. Thanks again.
Tyson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gwithian Academy of Surfing also viewed

 

Been to Gwithian Academy of Surfing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing