We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Travelodge Hayle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Hayle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hayle
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here before Christmas with partner and two young children. Room was no better or no worse than you expect considering the price ' it does what it says on the tin ' however I was disappointed that the bathroom was dirty. I believe cleanliness is the biggest thing that let's any accommodation down. Employ good cleaners please!! Basic cleaning I.e bath and toilets and bedding need to be clean 100%

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnjr0198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Hayle, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback Mnjr0198. Our room and bathrooms should always be cleaned to high standards and we would like to offer our apologies for the lapse in service on this occasion. Our housekeeping team follow a regular cleaning routine and our Hotel Manager will be made aware of the concerns you have raised so this issue can be addressed at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    80
    46
    18
    21
See reviews for
88
98
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

You get what you pay for with Travelodge and Hayle is a clean, comfy and hassle free branch of the chain. I like the minimalist basic approach...after all, what more do you need than a good bed, shower and kettle? Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Travelodge at Hayle, Cornwall has been updated to a very acceptable degree. The rooms are well decorated and when the heating is turned up, warm. The rooms are clean and the beds are excellent. However, the hotel is difficult to find, there are no signposts from the road and our satnav was surprisingly vague.
The worst part of our stay was the noise from other guests. We were awake until the early hours of the morning due to rowdy, inconsiderate young men. They did not quieten down despite remonstrations from the Manager and complaints from other guests. They should have been ejected from the hotel. We had an apology but that did not make up for extreme lack of sleep before a 230 mile journey home.
Very poor.

Room Tip: Request a room away from groups of youngsters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Hayle, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment DaveMarian. We do expect our hotels to be adequately sign posted so it is regrettable to learn that you found our hotel difficult to find. We are also truly sorry to learn of the disruption you experienced. Our hotel staff are expected to patrol the corridors to monitor noise levels and we do ask our customers to be courteous of other guests around the hotel. If possible we will try to place larger groups away from other guests when allocating rooms to avoid disruption. We would like to investigate the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayle hotels

Glos
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked this as a third choice, we had wanted something closer to Redruth but everything was fully booked. The hotel is tricky to find as it is quite well hidden. The check in was fast and hassle free, we had room 10 and family room and found it clean and spacious for our family of 4, the room is basic and nothing fancy but we only needed somewhere to sleep while visiting family so it was fine. The bathroom was fairly clean, a few mould marks but the shower worked well. there was a heater in the room which worked very well and was easy to use.We did't have the window open as it was cold so not sure if traffic noise may be an issue in the summer months
We walked across to the Brewers Fayre/MacDonalds on our first night and found it quite dangerous crossing as there is no pedestrian paths, lighting or crossing point, the traffic travels very fast and there was a lot of boy racers around.
Overall perfectly adequate for our needs, the noise was minimal as there was a lot of people in the hotel, we heard a bit of noise but it wasn't a problem,. Our room was at the front of the hotel, we could see our car from the window which was good as the car park is fairly dark and tucked away. I would recommend this hotel as long as you don't expect anything too fancy.

Room Tip: We had room 10 and it was fine.Easy to access and planty big enough for family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSLR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed one night here ,for the second time in four months .It is ideally situated as a stopping off point for Lands End airport or Penzance. It is really easy to find located just off the main A30 by Hayle, next door to the Premier Inn ,Brewers Fayre and MacDonald’s. As Travelodge’s go we found it clean , warm and quiet enough. What sets this apart from others is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who all seem to be locals.
We arrived late in the evening after a 5 hour journey .We had eaten at the Brewers Fayre last time we stayed and had really poor meals, we told the girl on reception about this ,she then gave us a couple menus for take aways that delivered. We then had a superb Indian meal delivered to our room .The girl on reception even gave us plates ,knives and forks .( great service but sorry if the next review complains about curry smells in the room ).
We will definitely use this Travelodge again

Room Tip: Any problems speak to reception ,they are helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I don't like to give negative feedback unless it is really warranted but in our opinion staying at The Travelodge Hayle was a mistake.

We arrived in the late evening after a long journey - the building itself (unless you have done your research beforehand) is fairly difficult to find as it is tucked away behind a rather run down Petrol station and not very well sign posted - unlike the Premier Inn across the road.

Parking is not plentiful but there were a couple of spaces left luckily at the far corner of the parking area - we would not however describe it as "secure parking" and felt a little nervous leaving our car there overnight.

On first impression of the outside of the building it was tired looking and unkempt with rubbish and cigarrette ends all around the entrance.
We can not say a bad thing about the gentleman that checked us in he was polite, friendly and efficient - he was the only positive aspect of our whole stay.

We had been allocated a Family room as this was the last available room at the time of booking.
On entering the room there was a stench of urine that an attempt had been made to mask it with some sort of cheap smelling air freshener.
The whole room was tired and felt very dirty. We waited at reception for 15 minutes but there were several people being attended to at the time so we gave up and being so exhausted went back to our room to sleep fully clothed on top of the bed.
It was truly one of the worst nights sleep we have ever had.
We got up as soon as it was light and left without even having a shower as the bathroom was so grubby looking.
On our way out we tried to get the attention of someone behind the desk but there did not seem to be anyone about so we just left the cards on the desk.
We left exhausted and put off travel lodges for life excluding the lovely one we stayed the previous night in Cheshire Oaks.

Our advice to you spend a little bit more and stay at the Premier Inn across the road.

Room Tip: Avoid Family rooms as the one we had was old, tired looking and very dirty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Hayle, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are sorry to learn about the poor experience you had at our Hayle hotel Shirley C. We expect our hotel to be easily accessible for our guests so we are sorry that you found the hotel was hard to find. It is regrettable that you felt unsafe in the car park, we do try to provide a safe and secure environment and we work closely with the local police to make sure that wherever possible crime prevention measures are introduced and monitored. As well as our rooms we do require our public areas to be cleaned and maintained to a high standard so we would not expect our guests to find rubbish and cigarette ends by the entrance of the hotel. Our housekeeping staff are expected to ensure that all rooms are clean and fresh and that they notice any smells which may affect a customers stay, if this is the case then the room should not be allocated to a guest. Our staff should also provide great levels of service, sometimes they may not be at the desk as they may need to complete other tasks however there will be a buzzer in reception which will alert them. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate your concerns. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed for four nights. Good location, we were able to access bus trips, and a train trip and so moved around quite easily. Wasn't refurbished at the time, and like most of these hotels, it did need it. But friendly staff and comfortable beds, TV and kettle made up for a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayT452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
101 reviews
4.3 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
3.7 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hayle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hayle

Property: Travelodge Hayle
Address: Carwin Rise | Loggans Roundabout, Hayle TR27 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hayle 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hayle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hayle Hotel Hayle
Travel Lodge Hayle
Hayle Travelodge
Hayle Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hayle Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing