We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we needed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Ives Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything we needed”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here 21st-28th June as a family of 3, and couldnt fault anything with the park. Its in a superb location for both getting to from other parts of the country and also to explore the rest of Cornwall.

We stayed in an A5 Chalet, it was much bigger than expected and had all the facilities we needed. The park was much bigger than we expected but we never felt it was over crowded.

The shop is well stocked and bakes fresh bread, there are two bars both with play areas for children which looked fairly new and well kept.

We used the swimming pool a couple of times and it was heated and clean.

We ate at the Bay Bistro a couple of times and the food was good quality and well priced, plus the view from the deck was amazing.

There is access to the beach which is beautiful, but word of warning its a steep walk down.

Can definitely see us returning at some point in the future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivesbay, General Manager at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
thanks for the review. we can advise on beaches with better access. our own beach car park is free to guests so the walk back up will ave you something everyday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    210
    50
    25
    36
See reviews for
456
130
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cranfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The park itself was basic but clean and well maintained.
It's location is superb! Especially if you get a caravan at the beach end of the park.
The caravan accommodation was excellent. Chalets are basic but the childrens play parks near them are a plus point.
The restaurant/ cafe and adjoining play area over looking the beach is lovely.
Pool is basic but fine, changing rooms were clean.
The evening entertainment was absolutely awful, bingo was on too late and for too long and as it apparently has to be done in complete silence there's really no point even going there unless you want to play it, and especially not with young children who the compere would ssshhhh if any of them dared to utter a sound.
The childrens entertainment takes place in a different room with no real room for parents making it very inaccessible for young families. The amusements were mainly out of order with rude unhelpful staff.
I would visit again but purely for the location, as it is unrivalled :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kels5579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivesbay, General Manager at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your review. We have 2 bars/clubs which are very different. If one is not what you want then hopefully you enjoyed the other! We understand that not everyone wants bingo - but many do enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I visited the last two years with my family and partner and we was never disappointed. Located next to the best beach, has great friendly staff and nice and clean chalets. Great entertainment and is perfectly located for exploring more of Cornwall! I cannot wait to visit again with the newest addition to the family! Great value for money and had many great memories of this place :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieSkillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivesbay, General Manager at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much. We appreciate your comments and hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Having visited St Ives Bay holiday park for several years, we know what to expect - a great holiday in a wonderful location. Everything on site is perfectly located - the club, reception and shop near the front entrance near the road and the restaurant, swimming pool and bar overlooking the beach.
Large sections of accommodation have sea views, or views across the sand dunes ('towans' in Cornish) to Godrevy lighthouse. Accommodation is either caravans, chalets or camping. There is an on site launderette, and facilities for campers. The site shop is well priced, and stocks almost all you could need.
Me and my wife stopped in a chalet, which was very comfortable, with (a rarity in other places) a good shower. Upon arriving, we discovered ants in the chalet, but after reporting, we had a visit from a gentleman who sprayed inside and outside of the chalet, and we didn't see them again.
The food at Bay Bistro was delicious, and the ale at Sands Bar well kept, with a good selection - we were lucky enough to witness a few sunsets from the balcony of the bar. Entertainment in the club was also good.
The only complaint I can make - a small one at that, is lack of cash machine on site, but otherwise recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nes1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivesbay, General Manager at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for a very generous review. We do cash back in the office. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just back from a week stay here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The weather being great really added to making it a lovely week. We stayed in caravan Sirocco 808 and although the interior is slightly dated (upholstery) the caravans are clean and tidy. It has ample room and good sized living area with dining table. The park is situated right on Hayle beach and it is beautiful, you felt like you were abroad with clean beautiful sandy beach stretchy all the way along the bay.
The caravan was a short walk from the swimming pool and bay bistro where they offered good choice food. We only used swimming pool once as we all found it extremely cold.
Had couple of lunches in the bay bistro and they do a selection of food from pulled pork wraps to burgers and chicken nuggets fish fingers for the kids, food was good. Towards the entrance of the park is where reception and the dynamite club are located. There is also a park and some arcade amusements. The shop has plenty of essentials and is very reasonably priced not that much dearer than supermarkets so really good, and pick up few nice souvenirs fab prices.
As far as transport , if you do not hire a car and opt for the bus, then just 200 yards from the entrance to the park is a bus stop where the number 14 bus will take you right to St Ives in about 25 minutes. For two adults it cost £15 return and children under five are free. You can also catch the bus to Penzance from here too, (number 18) check out bus all day tickets as they have unlimited travel for £10 per adult. I heard people mention the trains in Hayle operate family rates and are excellent for geting around with fantastic views on route to St Ives however didn't use them myself. There is a local Lidl supermarket about twenty minute walk from entrance of park and very good for self catering needs. I have been to a few haven holiday parks from Lake District to Devon and this holidays park has THE most fantastic entertainment at nights for the kids. They have a separate children/family room away from main bar, which I thought was excellent, and a different entertainer for the kids each night. They were all brilliant, from ballon maker doing minions and Mickey Mouse to magicians who put on a brilliant show and really enthusiastic, my little one loved going up at night. The show starts at 1930 and not too late for little ones it was not chavy at all just great entertainment that the kids will love.
Looking round the park the chalets are located at the front near the entrance and I would have been disappointed if I had booked a chalet, it would be a fair twenty minute walk to the beach and not much of a view from chalet location just trees and other neighbouring chalets facing one another, they do seem quite basic and would have definitely been disappointed if I had booked one of those, totally recommend staying in a caravan over the chalets.
Overall great holiday, clean comfortable caraven, in beautiful location overlooking fantastic beach, recommend staying near beach end, getting decking for your caravan makes all difference outside space, and brilliant entertainment put on every night for the kids and adults too. Definitely recommend this park!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivesbay, General Manager at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for such a long and detailed review. Chalets do not have the views but are more spacious than the caravans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well where to start....

We arrived at the park on the saturday afternoon to collect the keys to the caravan and it was a nice hot afternoon. We were located in caravan 802, a 2 minute walk from the swimming pool and bistro and a 5 minute walk to the beach. The first impressions were the view of the surrounding area was amazing. We could see the Godrevy lighthouse and a small part of the lovely beach.

The caravan was spacious, it slept upto 6 people comfortably and had a small bathroom with a toilet, sink and shower and in the double bedroom it had its own toilet and sink. The only thing we would criticise is the floor felt quite dirty and unwashed and left our feet black from dirt. And there was also a few fag butts outside the door as well from previous occupants as none of us smoke.

We got unpacked and I went to the beach with my 2 year old son for a quick play about. The walk was about 5 minutes to get down, and its a very steep walk down a sand dune. The beach was absolutely stunning, extremely clean, watched over by life guards and the sand was lovely. We played about for about an hour and decided to head back to caravan. Word of warning, if you are pretty unfit, be prepared to stop a few times heading back up. There are some steps at the beach but even those are steep and i would advise NOT to go back up the sand dunes. Nearly killed me!! I'm not the fittest person but its a massive massive incline, so great if you are looking to burn some calories and test your fitness!!!

On the first night we went to the bistro to order some food to takeaway (please refer to my review of the bistro itself which is seperate) and headed back to the caravan. The weather was lovely so hard to tell what the caravan is like in cold weather but had a reasonably pleasant sleep on the first through to the last night.

On the second day we went to the beach as a family and it was nice day. I would say that if the tide is out, its a very long walk to the water and a longer walk back (felt like it anyway).

We went to the swimming pool the day after and i was pleasantly surprised. It was a nice sized swimming pool, seperated with a childrens pool and was nicely heated. It was patrolled by 2 lifeguards most of the time who did little more than sit down and guzzle tea and coffee (who could blame them, there was not many people around). There wasn't ever a moment in the 4-5 times we used the swimming pool that it was ever crowded and the families were generally pleasant.

I had a few walks around the sand dunes, nice walks, but hard work, wear decent footwear!!!

Saw a few rabbits around and encountered one Adder.

There is a couple of kids playgrounds we saw, one is by the bistro with a couple of wooden structures and slides and one down by the dynamite club.

There is a nice bar/pub inside where the bistro is called Sand's bar, served most local ales and ciders, average prices.

We were situated a few minutes from the pool and bistro so a trip to the local shop on site was not a quick walk, maybe a 15-20 minute walk at a slowish pace. The shop was OK, had everything you need as well as gimmicky holiday trinkets.

There is a Lidl by the main road into Hayle and that sold everything you needed for self catering.

If anyone wants to know any more then just send a message!!

This place overall was a really nice holiday and it has a bit more of a special meaning as I proposed to my long term girlfriend here and she said yes!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephen2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivesbay, General Manager at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for a generous review. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Unfortunately due to the location the place is riddled with ants. Something that the management acknowledge but are unable to control. We had to complain 4 times and not until the 5th day of a 7 day holiday were we moved to a different caravan. Apologies were offered but too late. It's in a nice place but would find somewhere where the customer service is of a higher standard. I work hard and not happy about spending it where it obviously isn't appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsrog0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivesbay, General Manager at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for the review. Sorry we did not meet expectations. We make every effort to control ant problems that sometimes arise. Apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayle
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.5 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#20 of 21 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ives Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Bay Holiday Park

Property: St Ives Bay Holiday Park
Address: 73 Loggans Rd, Hayle TR27 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Hayle
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run holiday park on fabulous sandy beach. Caravans Chalets and camping in the dunes. Bars, shop etc. Many units with fab sea views. Ideal for families and kids. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Ives Bay Holiday Park Hotel Hayle
St Ives Bay Holiday Park Hayle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing