We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't bother!”
Review of Country Skittles

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Country Skittles
Ranked #41 of 61 Restaurants in Hayle
Cuisines: British, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“don't bother!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The venue is fine, plenty for kids to do - they do however charge you entry which is not made clear on arrival, but the food is dismal. Largely tasteless and not cooked through - meatballs were cold in middle and tasted awful. The salad was tired and limp and the sticky toffee pudding was like dry cake swimming in something brown.Such a shame as the entertainment for the kids was good and if they got the food right it would be a good family venue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladyginger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the 16oz burger at Skittles!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went to Country Skittles when on holiday recently, and loved the food in general, but the big burgers on their American menu were a lot of fun.
Other stuff they have there was fun as well.
We'll be back the next time we are in Cornwall.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still great burgers”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Having visited here numerous times recently the burgers on their new American menu are the best burgers around and good value. Always friendly staff and lots to do

Helpful?
1 Thank Outforlunch3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks a lot. The American menu is really popular. Did you manage to finish a 20oz burger yet?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun family evening”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have visited Country Skittles several times in years gone by and always enjoyed the experience. This time it was very quiet and so lacked atmosphere. Nevertheless we enjoyed the skittles and other table games on offer. It was a little disconcerting when Auld Lang Syne was played soon after 9pm and last orders was called! Fair enough I suppose as we were the only people in the place! It used to be so busy so what has happened for custom to drop?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Glad you had a good time with, but sorry you came on a very quiet evening. That's the way it is in the leisure sector in Cornwall in certain months of the year. Some nights are really busy and some aren't, particularly at the early part of the week.
Hopefully you'll choose one of our busier nights the next time! See you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If Live insects are what you want in your food, go here”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I found a LIVE 1cm Beetle in my salad. I was offered NO apology, nor had any response to emails.
Children's meals are of cheap quality foods, over cooked and expensive.
I would not recommend this place to anyone that want decent food...or customer service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
This review is total nonsense. The customer 99% finished her meal, complained that there was an insect from the kitchen in her salad, and demanded her money back. We refused to do that due to the nature of the complaint, and she became annoyed that she didn't get the free meal she was clearly looking for. All salad leaves are checked and washed thoroughly by our chefs.
In addition, it is totally untrue that emails had been ignored on the issue. No emails have been received from the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Country Skittles also viewed

 

Been to Country Skittles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing