We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Holiday Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodge

Boscrege Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boscrege Lodge
The Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Boscrege Lodge
The Lodge
Private Garden for The Lodge
Hendra, 5 minutes
Para Sands, 5 minutes
St Ives
St Michaels Mount
Boscrege in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
girls22
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

From the moment we booked this lodge, the communication was good, we received good directions to the property and when we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Julian. The lodge is immaculately clean, with fresh flowers and the welcome package was above and beyond what we have ever received before. (Bread, Milk, Butter, Jam, Tea, Coffee, Sausages, Bacon, Egg, Fruit, Biscuits, Beer, Wine), a very good start to our holiday after driving 400 miles. The Lodge is secluded and so peaceful with a lovely garden, but only a short distance to drive to local restaurants and beaches. If you want to stay in and eat the Lodge is very well equipped with every thing that you need. Julian gave lots of information on local places to visit and recommended good restaurants to eat in. Our only complaint is that we had to go home! We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thank you Sally for the very kind and positive review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to see you all again. There are lots more walks, beaches and coves to explore, along with many more good restaurants to enjoy (so don't leave it to long !!). Thanks again, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbHudde...
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best self catering week we have had”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Superb hospitality, beautifully clean and well furnished in a lovely setting. Ideal for touring the tip of Cornwall and excellent walking, as we did, along coastal and other paths. Easy reach of pubs and Porthleven especially good choice for eating out.
We've stayed at many s/c places and often said: 'Very good but ....'. There was no 'but' here - it was perfect, as was the weather.
Thanks Julian

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2018
Thank you Barbara, David. Your words are very kind, and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay here in Boscrege. I think you that definitely broke the record for walking distance covered in a week (!), but remember, there are still a whole lot more fabulous walks just waiting for you so I hope to see you back again some time soon ? Thanks again for your comments, and for taking the time to write the review. Best wishes, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian C
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Peaceful retreat from the world”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beauitful cottage in a lovely rural setting of West Cornwall, very well equipped with everything you would need for your stay, couldn't have asked for anymore, other than another week please???
Julian the owner went over and above to make us feel very welcome, from the fresh flowers in both the lounge and the bedroom, two bowls of fresh fruit, to the fridge full of goodies, all of which where very appreciated, thank you.
A very special place, can't wait to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Thank you Gillian for your very kind words. I'm so pleased the weather was kind to you and you got to see this quiet part of beautiful west Cornwall in all it's glory ! I do hope you come back and visit soon, Spring is glorious down here with the hedgerows in full bloom, sunny days and quiet(er !) roads ! I look forward to your next visit, enjoy the apples !, take care, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Hi Rob, Sharon, Thank you so much for your generous review and I'm so pleased that you all enjoyed your time down here in West Cornwall. It was really lovely to hear the children playing in the garden and enjoying their holiday. I really do hope you get back here at some point, so I can welcome you all back to Boscrege again. Thanks again, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Excursion...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent standard of accommodation - brilliant host”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Lodge is just as described in Julian's listing. Immaculately clean, fresh and well-equipped. The welcome pack is hugely generous - not only the usual breakfast basics but also wine, beer and fresh flowers. The setting is tranquil - no passing traffic - and the property has a lovely patio and garden area. Julian was the perfect host, providing sound recommendations about where to eat locally. He even produced a delicious birthday cake on the appropriate day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Bless you Sheila, thank you so much for your very kind words. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time here in Boscrege, I only wish I could have magiced up some better weather for you ! I do hope you come back again soon, loads of other lovely eateries for you to try, and loads of walks still to explore. Thanks again, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyDWS
Twickenham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful week away!”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is our second visit to the Lodge at Boscrege Villa and our second visit was just as fantastic as the first. A very warm welcome from Julian with a tour of the Lodge with reminders of where everything was. A wonderful array of extras upon arrival which were very much appreciated - The cold drinks were very welcome after the long drive down.
The kids had a wonderful time in the bunk beds. The lodge was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.
Thank you so much Julian for being so accommodating. We will certainly be recommending your properties to family and friends and we may even come back for a 3rd visit!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you Andy and Georgina, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your week away down here in Boscrege. It was lovely to see and hear Alfie and Grace having fun in the garden and almost running out of places to hide playing 'Hide and Seek', happy days. Thanks again for the very complimentary review which is very much appreciated, and I look forward to seeing you all again sometime soon, kind regards, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tucked away and so peaceful”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The word "excellent" is often overused but this property certainly deserves such a rating. A very friendly welcome from Julian on our arrival was followed by a tour of the property and facilities. Also provided was a range of foods and drinks together with a bunch of fresh roses in a vase - a very generous gesture. The property was very clean on arrival and there was plenty of room for two adults. Located near the end of a dead end road, the lack of passing traffic made it a very quiet and peaceful location but it is only a reasonably short drive to the main road for the nearest beach and other exploring and after a day out it was nice to relax on the private patio in the evening sunshine. My wife and I will certainly be returning to this lovely property and we look forward to more chats with Julian!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Hi Chris, Thank you so much for such a generous review and I'm delighted you both enjoyed your week away down here in South West Cornwall, you certainly know how to pick a sunny week ! The Minack Theatre awaits your return visit but let's just hope that the Dylan Thomas production has finished it's run ! I look forward welcoming you back to Boscrege, thanks again for your kindness, Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing