We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just as good as last year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strathallan Guest House
Ranked #4 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wednesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“just as good as last year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Needless to say we went back to the Strathallan Guest House after such a pleasureable stay last year and it was just as good spotlessly clean, wonderful hosts, and a fantastic choice of breakfast, couldn't fault it also met the new addition to the family (Charlie) with must say its a pleasure to stay in such comfortable friendly surrounding and we've booked again for next year . Thanks again Val and Dave see you next year
PS Its nice when they remember you from last year and give you the same room only sorry there wasn't 6 stars

Room Tip: They're all nice but apparently room 1 has a bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Steve
It was good to see you again, and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again, and that Helstonbury was an even bigger success. We appreciate your positive review and glad that we are getting it right for you. See you again in 2015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
43
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just returned after a two night break and enjoyed every minute. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean with lots of little touches that made our stay so enjoyable ( tea, coffee, biscuits etc. and an "honesty" fridge containing cold drinks.
Excellent breakfast with plenty of choices and the owners are so friendly and helpful, we understand that they have only been here for two years but they have really made their mark in that time. Will definitely be back !

Room Tip: From our clean and comfortable room and the remarks of other guests I would think that every room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonianPlymouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello, we would just like to take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely review. It makes all our hard work more enjoyable to know that we are getting it right. It was lovely to meet you both, and hopefully we might see you again next year. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We have stopped here for a long weekend for the last 3 years and each time we have been very welcomed and made to feel at home. The owners now have a lovely addition to their family a dog called Charlie. The rooms are clean although a little outdated. Breakfast is scrum especially smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Location great although car parking restricted to first come. Will definitely be staying here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed Helstonbury again. It won't be long until the next one. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Have just stopped a couple of nights at the Strathallan whilst visiting Helston on business. Really friendly greeting on arrival from David. I was shown up to a lovely room, it was spacious very comfortable with a bath and shower. The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of tea and coffee and nice biscuits. The soft drinks mini bar fridge was a very good idea in the room. Breakfast was excellent with a good range on offer. If I was in Helston again this would be my first call. Really convenient and only 5 minutes walk in the town centre. Thank you David & Val.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank diverScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Scott,
Thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have you staying with us, and if your ever on business in town in the future, we would love to welcome you back to Strathallan. Keep enjoying Cyprus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is ideally located as a base to see southern cornwall and the lizard peninsular.
We stayed at this b&b for 2 nights. It is situated within a few minutes walk to Helston town centre where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants.
Parking at the b&b is limited but there is a large car park just around the corner which charges £2 between the hours of 9am-4pm (free over night). Our room was ideal, it was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was good too with plenty of choice. Would certainly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is nice to know that we are getting it right for you and that you enjoyed your stay at the Strathallan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We've stayed at Strathallan GH a couple of times now and have really enjoyed our stay each time. David and Val really care about their guests. As an example, one morning I asked if there was any tabasco sauce, which there wasn't. The next morning, a bottle appeared on our table as soon as we sat down for breakfast. So thoughtful!

The rooms are simple and clean and the location is excellent, just off the high street so quiet but very convenient. We visit the area regularly as family is near by, and Strathallan is the first place we check for availability.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maeve_os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Maeve,
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are glad you and John chose to stay with us again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My sister and I have just spent a most enjoyable 3 night stay with David and Val at this most charming of guest houses. Our rooms were top draw and the food is just superb. We even decided to have an evening meal in the guest house and boy we were not disappointed, had the most enjoyable Lamb shank with all the trimmings followed by the most delish apple pie. Both David and Val could not have made you more welcome and I look forward to coming back later in the year.

Eddie Freemantle, Worcester.UK

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmondFreemantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David and Val J, Owner at Strathallan Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks very much Eddie for taking the trouble to review Strathallan. It was lovely to welcome you back, this time with Ann as well. Looking forward to seeing you next time. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
5.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
4.6 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 39 in Helston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathallan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan Guest House

Property: Strathallan Guest House
Address: 6 Monument Road, Helston TR13 8HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathallan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Strathallan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Guest House Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing