We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not believe all you read, go see for yourselves.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy Carne Holiday Park
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I do not think you should read too much in to some of the poor reviews that have been made about this site. I have stayed on this site on a number of occations over the year in tents, touring van & a static. If you are looking to venture down to this part of Cornwall then you will not go far wrong by staying at Chy Carne Holiday Park. The site is located in quite surroundings with fantastic sea views. The site is well kept now with that the owners are running it themselves, (they did have a site manager in place running it, but un-successfully). The touring park is well equipped with good sized level pitches with an excellent electrical supply that does not trip out every 5 minutes like a lot of sites. There are a good number of water supply points & 2 good sized toilet & shower blocks, 1 which was only built last year in the lower field. The toilet / shower blocks are cleaned regularly throughout the day. There is also a small launderette & 8 washing up sinks for the campers. There are a number of large bins & a recycling area near to the toilets, as well as the chemical toilet waste area. There are play areas for the children with swings & other equipment as well as an outdoor table football & a pool table. They also have an in-door games rood next to the reception & a well-stocked shop. It’s only a short walk to the beach, which is accessible through the bottom field along at public walk way. In the peek seasons a large marquee is put up hosting a small bar. There is also another cabin beside the marquee that sales hot food to take away. Also on an evening you can order pizzas form the shop which are freshly made on site to order. Fire pits & chimeras are also available for hire if you like to site outside on an evening after a barbeque & have a few drinks.
The static caravans are exceptional value for money, ranging from to 2 to 3 bedrooms. They are well equipped with everything you need. Ok they do not have gold plates taps & chandeliers, but if that’s what you want then look at a 5 star hotel, or may be a park that charges between £1200- £1500.00 per week for their statics. Like I said, Value for money. I have been visiting this site for a number of years, & I have seen many changes since the Saffile family have taken it over. The site was quite run down & over grown when they took it on. Since then they have expanded the size of the site by clearing the adjacent field that were over grown, levelling the pitches of. Adding extra electrical points, putting in drainage, play areas, building a new shop & games room, adding a 2nd toilet & shower block & also boreholes so they can now produce their own water which is filtered for use around the site. They are very friendly & accommodating, as is all the other staff. Overall great value for money in nice surroundings with everything that you may need.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dwayne1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

After reading the awful comments made at the beginning of this year on this site, I thought I should throw some positive comments in. I visited the site in August last year and stayed in one of the caravans. Very spacious, extremely clean and a well equipped kitchen. On arrival the management were friendly and very welcoming, making us feel at ease right from the start of our stay. I would recommend using this site to any of my friends or family who were visiting Cornwall. As we had such a positive experience during our holiday, I wonder about the truthfullness of those bad reviews. My advice would be to ignore them and give Chy Carne a go, you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reddav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

First time visit to Cornwall. Beautiful location. From the word go we were greeted by a very helpful, friendly and polite family who showed us to the caravan, my first impression of the holiday park was how peaceful it was, the caravan seemed bright and clean with plenty of room for my two small children to play safely. The kitchen was well equipped with everything needed to prepare food although i would highly recommend the Chy Carne pizza service. During the evening a small bar was open where you could purchase a range of local beer, which i think was geared more towards my husband, saying that i was always welcome to bring my own tipple and soft drinks was available to purchase for my children. The games room was a big hit during one wet day, im not sure who had the most fun, my children or husband. The site also has a play area and well equipped laundry room with two washers and two dryers. Two supermarkets are a ten minute drive away, but the site shop is very convenient selling a wide range of things. Not far from some great family attractions, plenty of country walks and fab beaches. All in all our family had a brilliant weeks holiday last year and I have book two weeks this year and looking to book a long weekend towards the end of the season. This is a fantastic site for families, such a cracking little site with fantastic views of the sea. The only down side of the holiday was it went too quickly. Would like to thank the owners, nothing was too much trouble for them, See you in August. 100% perfect holiday!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here in 2009 in a tent for 2 weeks and 2010 in a static caravan again for 2 weeks... Although the statics are not new the prices charged reflect this and ours was spacious and comfortable......found the site had all the amenities we needed, plenty of hot water in the showers, shop selling a great range of produce, kiddies play area, games room, fabulous views of the sea, the beach is a short stroll away. The owners of the site are friendly and welcoming, as are the rest of the staff. To sum up a family friendly comfortable and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaughinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChyCarne, Owner at Chy Carne Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for your honest and truthful appraisal of chycarne Clearly we have been victims to some dirty tatics This is very distressing to small family businesses like ours We feel that we offer excellent value for money with our prices at least half the price of large national sites These caravans are replacements for our older fleet and were puchased recently from the local parkdean site All our caravans have been refurbished and offer comfortable clean upholstery New carpets,curtains and mattresses etc We understand the very need to offer good quaility accommodation and that is loved with attention to detail at affordable prices Thank you Chycarne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Just returned from a wonderful 3 week holiday in Cornwall on the Lizard Peninsula. Location of this campsite was good but the campsite itself is lacking in every area. It's not very well managed, especially from a cleanliness point of view. Their website describes a modern, well equipped, medium size campsite and lists many facilities available but don't believe alot of it. Firstly, the far field with electric hook up pitches are on such a bad slant that it was very obvious we were sleeping on a hill. Not much fun for the children who kept rolling downhill and out of their beds! There didn't seem to be that many level pitches, probably half a dozen at the most. We were quite annoyed by this especially as we were staying for a long time and paying quite a bit for the pitch. The site also boasts a new modern shower block and toilets but there are simply not enough facilities for the amount of people on the site. Our field had two toilets which had been fitted into sheds. They had lino on the floor and sinks but hardly any water came out of the taps so washed hands back at the tent. There was always a queue too which was an absolute pain for 3 weeks. The showers were okay but there was only one sink and mirror so again, queuing was frequent. I ended up washing my teeth back at the tent with a cup of water! They were cleaned probably once a day at the most so it was a little cringy using the toilets and showers! Worst of all really was the washing facilties. There were only 2 sinks for washing pans, etc. again there was always a queue. The water pressure was non existent so filling a sink with hot water was pain staking. I resorted to boiling our kettle and doing my washing up in the tent. There is also a shop which sells milk, some dodgy wine, sweets, toys and just about anything else tacky you can think of. No papers, bread or anything of any use could be bought in there, although I have to say that the young lady who worked in there most days was lovely and really helpful. There is also a beer tent, a snack bar called 'Shacka Carne' which were hardly ever open. We saw some people carrying pizza boxes but I think they came from the pub round the corner (not sure). To be honest, the place was so grubby, I wouldn't have bought any food from there anyway. There are also 2 washing machines a 2 dryers. The washing machines were fine but the dryers don't work despite being charged over £8 for 2 tokens, 1 for the washing machine and one for the dryer. We ended up having to buy another 2 tokens for the dryer because it only ran in 20 min cycles but just wouldn't dry the clothes. There's a tacky arcade game room which again had machines which took your money but didn't work. The outdoor billiards table was in a terrible state - ripped felt and pockets full of chips! People played the ping pong but nothing else. The little pirate ship was good for the little ones but not much use if you have older children. Needless to say we didn't stay on the site much but visited many of the wonderful places in Cornwall. Kynance Cove was magical.
Kenack Sands beach is lovely but the signage to get there by foot was very misleading - this seemed to be a cornish trait, vague signage! I thoroughly recommend Cornwall for a holiday but there are many more, much nicer campsites in the Lizard so definitely shop around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Saphey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChyCarne, Manager at Chy Carne Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thank-you for your review, although i do feel that some of your comments are mis-leading and not an honest description.

Over 75% of our pitches are level, outside peak season (july/august) you are free to choose your own pitch, people all want different types of pitches, near play areas, not near play areas, level, sloping, near toilets/showers, away from toilet showers, sea views, sheltered pitches, not near the boundary, near the boundary and the list goes on, we ALWAYS try to pitch customers on the type of pitch that they would like, on arrival if you were not happy with your pitch our site manager would have moved you to another one, all you needed to do was ask.

Over the last few years the owners have invested a considerable amount of money into the campsite, installing roads, a new shop/games room replacing the old wooden sheds that used to house the shop/reception, new perimeter fencing, lots of drainage to help dry pitches quicker and much more. The summer camping field never had any showers available, the only shower block was our main shower block that has plenty of toilets, showers and wash-basins.

Toilets in the Summer Camping field have always in the past been porta-loos, these we felt were not good enough for campers in 2011, so the owners decided to build a new shower block and toilets in the Summer Camping field and also install a washing up area. This meant that we had an extra 3 ladies and 3 gents showers, urinals and two toilets in this area and also two sinks for washing up, saving the short walk to our main toilet/shower block for those campers in the Summer Camping field.

We do accept that the water pressure in the washing up shed fell short of that required, but as i have said it was a new facility only finished / opened 1 week before the start of our Summer season so was untested, for 2012 the hot water will be from our main boliers in the shower block so this will result in full water pressure in the washing up area, we shall also be installing more sinks in this area after seeing how popular it was. But please remember that it is only a short walk to our main toilet / shower block, many sites of our size only have 1 block to service the whole site.

Both of our toilet / shower blocks are cleaned at least twice a day, they are cleaned at around 11am following the morning rush, then again in the late evening ensuring that they are clean for the following morning, they are also checked throughout the day and cleaned if needed.

As a small site (we are not Haven or Parkdean) we find that we are unable to open our take-away 7 days a week due to us not having huge numbers of campers on-site, although the take-away was open Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday selling chips, fish burgers etc. Our onsite Pizza take-away was open 7 days a week.

We have found over the last few years that Campers are using on-site shops less and less, many people now having Tesco / Sainsburys / Asda delivering food direct to the campsite (something that i beleve the caravan club have put a stop to), however, our shop does sell fresh bread delivered daily, milk, bacon, sausages, eggs, tinned goods etc we do not sell newspapers as we just cant sell enough of them. Our shop also sells beach goods, toys/games, sweets and is licenced, it is also open early to late in our main season.

Our washing machines are of industrial size, taking nearly 3 times as much washing as a household washing machine, the wash cycle last around 40 mins, the 1st dryer token give 20 minutes, however, we always recommend 2 dryer tokens for a full load, when put in at the same time this gives over an hour of drying time, ensuring that all the washing comes out dry.

The outside pool table is designed for outside use, so does not have the same type of felt as an indoor table, i have checked this and thier are no rips or tears on the cloth, as for chips stuffed into the pockets, kids will be kids im affraid and if adults fail to supervise them they will stuff alsorts into the pockets, we do clean and empty the table on a daily basis.

The games room / arcade is new for this year with all new equipment, of course at times some of these things break down, again often due to miss use from unsupervised children, the room is unmanned and parents are expected to supervise the children, our site manager was always on hand to deal with any issues of machines breaking down.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Chy Carne, we have many satisfied campers who return year after year and can see the many improvements made to the site by the owners at considerable investment, these improvements continue ensuring that we are the best camp site on The Lizard.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This site is in a lovely location with beautiful views. It is owned by a nice, hard-working family. The problem is that the facilities and staffing do not seem able to cope when the site is busy.

We were in the lower summer camping field with electric hook up. Wonderful views. Slightly sloping but not badly so. The main toilet blocks are quite a walk away, especially for young children. There are 2 unisex loos that service the 2 summer camping fields. Every visit we made involved a long queue. Contrary to the website info, there is no handsoap or hand-dryers in these loos. Nor are there any rubbish bins. So they got very smelly, damp and littered very quickly. It's a shame they didn't put a couple more in when they had the chance. The new shower blocks are decent and sufficient, and water is a good warm temperature. We had one morning when the hot water failed for a day. The management worked to get it fixed by the end of the day, but it would have been nice to have a sign up on the door before you found yourself shrieking with cold, in the buff, with small child shrieking even louder. There are no rubbish bins or sanitary disposal bins in the loos or shower block. Cue more shrieking when I was greeted by a used sanitary towel left in the shower cubicle one morning.

The website mentions that the 20th August is Entertainment Week and advises you not to book if you don't like loud music. What they don't tell you is that outside of this week, in August, there is live music every other night. It is INCREDIBLY loud. No sound insulation as it's in a marquee, and it went on till about midnight. We tried the 'cant beat em join em' approach, but gave up after the second night. It gets very loud, smoky and boozy in the marquee. Some of the acts use filthy language. It's rowdy, boozy, earthy fun for adults and teenagers, but absolutely NOT family-friendly. The local perry and cider served is a nice touch, but as people are allowed to bring their own booze it's very easy for some to overdo it, and on night there was a fight.

A very smelly, drain-type smell afflicted our field. It came from a low, grey round tank in the corner, screened by trees. Apparently this is the water treatment plant for the shower run-offs. The management offered to move us, which I appreciated, but we couldn't face pitching up again and decided to grin and bear it. The pitches right next to the plant really suffered, and at least one of them packed up and left early.

The washing up station was cramped and the food waste bin was always smelly, overflowing and covered in wasps. Get a big bin with a lid, people!

The '10 minute walk' to the beach is considerably longer and more demanding than that with young kids. It would have been nice to be given directions.

I'm sorry to be so negative, because I think intentions here are good, but (a) what you promise is what you should deliver (b) you need to plan how to deal with full capacity and maintain service.

Be wary of booking here in August. Maybe hope for an Indian summer, and try September!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SKa769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChyCarne, Manager at Chy Carne Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Many thanks for your review.

The new toilets / showers in the Summer Camping field were only finished / opened a week before a main Summer season, we accept that soap dispensers were not fitted at the time of your visit, this was an oversight by ourselves and we did fit sanitizers as soon as it was pointed out to us. At the moment we are using ALL the electric that Western Power can supply meaning that we were unable to install electric hand dryers, however, we are expecting more electic to be supplied for 2012 so will then be able to install hand dryers.

Our bin area is situated next to our main toilet / shower block with bins for both general and recycled bins, a bin is situated in the washing up shed for food waste, general bins are not placed in this area as the bin lorrys are unable to get to them, however, it is only a short walk to our bin area from the Summer Camping field.

The new shower boilers are run off 47kg propane bottles that did run out one morning, these were replaced as soon as our office was informed and the showers were back up and running after a few minutes.

We do not have sanitary waste bins as all sanitary products can be flushed down our toilets, our cleaners find all sorts dumped on the floors of the toilets / showers and anything found / reported is cleaned straight away.

We had 2 entertainment weeks booked during July / August, both clearly advertised on our website, both saying that if you were after peace & quiet do not book these weeks.

As a rural campsite we can sometimes have smells associated with country living, this rarely happens though.

Most of our customers can easily walk to the beach in 10 minutes or less ???

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Booked to stay in 1 of the on-site caravans. Turned up and checked in and the caravan was apsolutely filthy. Went to speak to the owner who moved us to another caravan which was even worse. Had stains all over the upholstery, food and grease on the cooker etc...went back to the owner who refused to refund our money which we had paid in full 3 weeks earlier..so much for customer service - appaling. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SouthWest001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChyCarne, Owner at Chy Carne Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Sorry i have read your review and i`m in total disbelief. This is so far from the truth that it is close to slander Maybe you can contact us and reveal who you are as we have had no such experience or complaints of this nature We are happy to provide photo`s at request but surely people can not think that a respectable business would function is this way Dirty tatics is common practice and sadly i think this is a candidate for this Chycarne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helston hotels
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
8.3 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
515 reviews
0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 3 in Gweek
74 reviews
8 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 38 in Helston
31 reviews
5 mi away
Old Temperance House B&B St Keverne Cornall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy Carne Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy Carne Holiday Park

Address: Kuggar, Helston TR12 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Helston
Price Range: £14 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Chy Carne Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy Carne Holiday Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing