We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and views but rude staff and needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy Carne Holiday Park
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely place and views but rude staff and needs updating”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It was great to visit this campsite again but sadly won't be returning. It's rude staff disappointed us and the lack of organisation this time around. Always helpful staff and a better atmosphere when it becomes busy with lots of familes with children around. I would definately say to go but go when it's peak season.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    51
    20
    13
    26
See reviews for
134
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Good location near beach and good walks.

Owner was friendly and apologetic when we firstly found a used razor in the bunkbed my 4 year old daughter was about to sleep in, and secondly when we found a knife on the outside step.

Despite their friendliness it's just not acceptable really. The caravans are very old and tatty which is fine... But they are not clean at all the mattresses are stained and disgusting.

We won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed at the site in August 2013. I generally found all the staff to be very polite and helpful, and were escorted to our plot by a young lad in a BMW convertible.

Some people have mentioned that the bathroom and toilet facilities were dirty with mud all over the place, this wouldn't be a problem if everyone would wipe their feet before going inside... It's just common courtesy and there is only so much that cleaners can do as they will always be fighting an uphill battle.

On one of the night's, I walked into the shower cubicle to find a rather large moth sitting on the wall, he didn't seem too pleased to have been disturbed by me so I left him to it and used the next one along.
And on one of our last night's we could hear somebody screaming 'help me', it later turned out that some drunk lad from a neighbouring site had climbed up a tree and couldn't get himself back down again... but that's what happens when idiots and alcohol collide head on.

My only gripe is that this beautiful part of the country isn't closer to where I live, and wishing I'd booked more time off of work, but that is hardly the fault of chy carne!

Look forward to returning in Summer 2014!

Oh, and upon arrival at home I discovered a little spider had smuggled himself away in my backpack. The eight legged critter had obviously grown weary of the Cornish countryside and wanted to experience the sight's and sound's of west London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andycan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We got a week for a very good price as they were on offer. Staff were helpful.. Caravan clean n tidy. Not far from the beach and a nice walk to and from would keep you fit. Would defo stay again :) xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Me and a friend stayed at Chy Carne for 2 weeks from August-September and it is safe to say it was the best holiday we have ever had.
The location and scenery is truly beautiful with a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and long list of things to see such as the sunset, the stars, the Cliffside walks and even the fishing village Cadgwith.
If you intend to go to Cornwall I will always recommend Chy Carne if you enjoy a fun and relaxing holiday and staff who will always make you feel welcome.

5/5 for Chy Carne; a must for anyone visiting Cornwall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield /west yorks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Well what to say, after a 7 hour drive, we checked in for our 2 weeks of peace and we were not let down , right from the off we were greeted with a cheery smile and hello...were told if we wanted to move it wasnt a problem or wanted to change to an hook up ..just to let them know where,,but we went went straight to the lower field to see if we could find last years pitch ...and yes all but by a couple of feet we did..happy days...lol... although it was the latter end of the season there were still quite afew folk there,but still relaxing, and we set up camp to begin our 2 weeks of exploring the cornish county again...blessed with hot sun,,,,only rained a couple of times at night which was fine as we were cosy and warm...so if your lookin for relaxing stay head to chy carne we will be back there next year.....or as they in cornwall... dreckley !!!! lol so a big thankyou to all the staff at chy carne....ps the pizza shack is brill and a nice sweet chilli chicken was very welcome too...so a big shout out to the young fella that cooked it .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodbuddy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Absolutely stunning location, we had booked online and when we arrived we were told we could choose another pitch with a clearer sea view due to it being end of season we were advised which pitch had the best view and didnt have to pay any extra. Our pitch was more than big enough with no extra charges for gazebo. The staff were really friendly although they were busy working they always spoke to us. The toilets and showers were always clean. A great site which I will definately be returning and recommending to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanksss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
3.8 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
796 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
3.2 mi away
Little Trevothan Caravan and Camping Park
24.9 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy Carne Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy Carne Holiday Park

Property: Chy Carne Holiday Park
Address: Kuggar, Helston TR12 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Chy Carne Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy Carne Holiday Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing