We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy Carne Holiday Park
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Spent this weekend at the campsite , it was our first trip in our caravan , we were very impressed with everything from booking in , friendly helpful staff ,cleanliness of shower /toilet blocks and spotless site overall , with beautiful views , lush pizza ....... Could go on !! Will definitely be retuning and recommending Chy carne Thankyou

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank tracy209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    45
    19
    13
    26
See reviews for
127
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

from email contact to arrival and beyond the owners were so so helpful!! very impressed being a traveller that demands attention to detail, but also likes simplicity both can compliment, Chy carne, well done in all your efforts very clean and very well presented clearly hard work gone into keeping the site well maintained and very important!. we had a campervan which we hired and returned one day after being out to our pitch just parked up and as it had rained all day then we were stuck in the "mud" literally appeared at reception at 5 3 0pm asking for help not to much trouble at all Dan ( could take him home !! so helpful!) and his mate towed us out of the mud. Thank you so much we would love to return to such a peaceful part of Cornwall, the long long drive from Kent was worth it!!! /good luck to the chap who cooked the pizza my son loved hope you become the Michelin star chef you aspire to you!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I staid at chy carne from 26th of may for 3 nights it worked out as £21.50pn camping with electric hook up that was for 4 adults and 1 child and our puppy, we enjoyed it so much we staid another 3 nights.
I have to say chy carne has to be one of the best campsites I have staid at. (iv been to a few) it's very basic but that's what u pay for. The toilets where clean and the owner was there at least every 6 hours cleaning the and what a good job she dose too. It has a pizza place (big daddies pizza) didn't order one but they did have a number u can ring and they would deliver to your tent.
There's also chy carne snacks so cheap and nice food and very clean.
And a bar granted it is in a markey but ud not really notice and the prices are prity good too I had the rattler can't beat it if ya like a nice cold cider. The showers are 50p for the first 5 minutes and 10p for every minute after so take a pound. The showers are okay the water was hot only thing and it is me being pickey is you have to keep pushing the tap in every 10 seconds but if ya lean back on the tap this sorts that problem. I would definitely recommend chy carne to friends and family my sister is going back this weekend(camping) also my perants are going down too they are staying in a caravan.wish I could have gone but can't get the time off work or I would have been stright back down to chy carne. Great place keep up the good work and we will be down again soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What a lovely site this is! We arrived last Saturday June 14th after a long journey from Buckinghamshire, as soon as we pulled up the owner came to greet us, we were way before the check in time but as it wasn't busy was no problem we gave our booking number and was immediately shown to our pitch, Wow! large pitch as we requested and the sea view and what a view! The site over looks Kennack sands it is beautiful. Chy Carne is run by a very polite & friendly family, they are not intrusive but if you have any problem they will help you out, they have a chap on site who is the camp warden ie he will advise, help you if you need him and so on, during the world cup i asked if we could have the tv on in the marquee he raced down to put it on no trouble at all ! The location is perfect, we drove to the Lizzard 8 minutes via car and do visit Cadgwith fishing village which is just down the road, drive to Mullion village for a look at the cove and Coverack too it is stunning, Falmouth is a half hour drive, do the park & ride its so easy. We will come back to Chy Carne as we loved our stay there, the shower block was spotless & hey love the background music what a nice touch! Ignore the negative and very false reviews: I have just spent a whole week on this site and it was perfect I left this morning feeling very sad as every day was a bonus waking up in this amazing place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

As far as camp sites go this was by far one of the best I've visited. The owners are not invasive or rude and the facilities are good.

We stayed in the field overlooking the cliffs and, although the weather was quite bad, the camping trip was still great. Just off from the site we were on are two toilet shacks. They are basic and tend to be quite grubby after many a boot or welly has trudged through and ran oyt of paper from time to time (Always bring your own just in case) but were not filthy to the point you'd be scared of touching anything. Though I will warn the bug haters, lots of spiders, insects and huge moths abound in there. The reason we had them was because the main block was a distance away.

The main block had several stalls, was kept very clean and had shower stalls in case you wanted a shower. Attached was also a small utility room for washing clothes.

There was also a small mini mart on site that sells basics should you need them, but please be aware that when I say 'basic' I mean very basic. Alternatively there is a holiday site just down the road with a better stocked mini mart should you find yourself unable to find what you need.

They also have a snack bar that is open at peak season that sefves basics like fries and burgers and have outdoor activities like pool and other table games as well as having a kids area.

All in all it was a comfortable stay and I would recommend it. I also recommend taking the coastal path to Cadgewith Cove. It's quite a strenuous walk, but it's so worth it. Also a trip into Helston is always nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeltyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in our motorhome for the late may bank holiday for 2 nights. The park had only just reopened for the season but was still reasonably busy. The staff were friendly & helpful. The marquee arms which is essentially a bar in a shed with a marquee housing TVs & football tables was a nice place to go for a drink in the evening. The washing facilities were clean although as we were in our motorhome we didn't use these much. The views from the site across to the beach are lovely. The onsite shop has good basics & a few extras. There are some nice walls surrounding the site & the beach is about 10 mins away, although hilly. On the way to the beach is a pub called The Potters Bar. We went there for drinks in the evening until the early hours which was good fun. We had a great weekend & would visit this site again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fizzabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marazion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed on this site for 2 nights as it was close to home and we had never been camping before! It was early in the season and most of the facilities, such as reception, takeaway and snack bar didn't open until the week after and the staff were busy getting ready for this. We basically had a choice of where we pitched up as there weren't many guests. There is a gorgeous view of the sea and cliffs. It was quiet overall but I'm sure that will change next week. The toilets and shower rooms were lovely and clean. Dogs are welcome and there are dog poo bins on site. Would definitely go again but will go when the season is well underway to get the best experience x

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank boxyboxerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
3.8 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.7 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
15.5 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.0 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy Carne Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy Carne Holiday Park

Property: Chy Carne Holiday Park
Address: Kuggar, Helston TR12 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Chy Carne Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy Carne Holiday Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing