We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Cornish Farm”

Mudgeon Vean Farm Holiday Cottages
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mudgeon Vean Farm Holiday Cottages
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming Cornish Farm”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent 2 weeks staying in Valley View cottage in late July/early August and had a fantastic time.

The cottage has everything you could ask for or think of and was spotless. The patio area has a private lawn and both overlook a large communal lawn with swings, slide and sandpit for the kids to play around. Watching the kids play with others staying on the farm (there are 4 cottages all together) whilst drinking cyder produced on the farm from Cornish heritage apples and marveling at the amazing sunsets was just perfect!

Sarah and Jem were attentive hosts - making sure that we had everything we wanted and treating the kids to the chance to feed the ducks, chickens and turkey and collect eggs which our kids just loved doing (and then eating the eggs they had collected for breakfast!).

We had 2 weeks of glorious weather and took in 10 (different) beaches - from famous Kynance Cove through to local secret Prussia Cove.

Just amazing - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you're looking for a place to stay in the heart of the south Cornish countryside, you could't do better than Mudgeon Vean. The farm is not only set in a beautiful location, it also offers plenty to do, from a children's outdoor play area with swings and slides, to the playroom with its tennis table set, to a series of walks around the grounds and opportunities to see ducks and chickens and turkeys in the garden. The cottages are beautiful too, very comfortable and clean and well equipped (there's even a dishwasher!) and the owners really make an effort to make you feel welcome - we arrived to tea and coffee and a bottle of their homemade apple juice (they also produce cider, which is well worth a taste!), and the welcome pack includes tips for local dining and attractions. A great destination for families, but also for anyone who wants a bit of peace and quiet in the country.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

stayed for 6 nights in Swallow cottage - met and shown around by Jem. The farm proved very interesting to our 15 month old with him insisting on a daily wander round the yard and he loved the greeting from the 2 chocolate labs .. renamed woofs. Once you get used to narrow lanes the farm was an excellent base to explore the many tourist spots & beaches and after a tiring day the cottage was well equipped & a real home from home experience.... we loved Cornwall & Mudgeon Vean and landed with a bump with 6 miles of queueing on the M25.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexDan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misomer Norton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We first stayed in June 2002 & have been back every year since for various summer holidays, spring or autumn breaks, even once at Christmas. Having just returned from an Easter break I thought I should place my recommendation "on the record".

If you're looking for a peaceful rural retreat with country walks & friendly hosts that provides a base for trips to a host of excellent local beaches, then this is the place. There are numerous visitor attractions within easy reach & the standard of food provided by local pubs is also another plus point. But the real star of the show for us is the quiet charm of the farm, it's a place we always feel we have stayed longer than we have & also wish we could stay just a few days more.

Facilities include a play area & play room for children, the cottages are well equipped with TV, washing machine & dishwasher.

Sarah & Jem will make you feel welcome & Jem makes some very good cider!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristoltim_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed in valley view new cottage for two weeks. Accomodation was excellent.....everything one could need. Sunrise and sunset were stunning. Informal atmosphere on farm. Very non commercial feeling. 5 star.
.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lboanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
2.4 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
674 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
5.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
572 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mudgeon Vean Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mudgeon Vean Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Mudgeon Vean Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Mudgeon Vean Farm Nr. Helston, Helston TR12 6DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mudgeon Vean Farm Holiday Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Mudgeon Vean Farm Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mudgeon Vean Farm Holiday Cottages Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing