We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Studio Entrance and Patio Winter 2013
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Studio Entrance and Patio Winter 2013
Super King Size bed for couples and parents Double Bed Sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Studio Entrance and Patio Winter 2013
Super King Size bed for couples and parents
Double Bed Sofa
Sitting & Entertainment Area - DVDs, Videos & Xbox provided
Kitchenette
Kitchenette and Eating Area before re-decoration
En suite Shower and Toilet
View from Studio of Recreational Lawn - Winter 2013 - Better in Summer
Barbecue Decking Area -  Winter 2013
Barbecue Area -  Summer before Decking
Morning Mist From Studio
Flora Day Helston 2012- Hal-an-Tow - Why not stay with us this year
Flora Day Helston - Childrens Dance - Wed 8th May 2013, why not stay with us
Flora Day Helston on Boating Lake - we have vacancies for Flora Day this year 8th May
Carriages at The star Porkellis
Wedding at The Star Porkellis
Boating Lake Helston
Engine House Rinsey
Gunwallow Beach
Tyacks Shaft Engine House, Porkellis
Mylor Harbour at Sunset
Gweek, Nr helston
Inside Cave at Portreath Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KathyW195...
Hucknall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the yurt, it was everything we could wish for so relaxing. We loved being able to cook outside and sit by the fire pit enjoying a drink. To be able to lounge on big flor cushions by the wood burner inside the yurt was wonderful. Barry and Veritee were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and where to eat. Thanks for the welcome gift of fresh eggs and flowers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunzakays
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, comfy, quiet & quaint cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Veritee's directions are pretty good as the property is a bit difficult to find.
Barry was very helpful especially when we had problems with our hire care.
The property feels quite isolated but still within a 1/2 hr drive to most places of interest.
The studio is small but adequate with everything you could need. The bed is really comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remoteness, view & quietness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lozifer
Ebensee am Traunsee, Austria
1 review
“Cornwall at its best!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a great time in The Studio and in Cornwall. The Studio was clean and it provieded every comfort we expected. The surrounding is absolutely awesome and the hosts were really nice. Everything was managed really smoothly.
Especially the places in front of the house are very nice to sit and enjoy your breakfast.
We can only highly recommend staying here!

Thanks a lot for everything!
Stefan and Myriam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew Y
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cosy and relaxing - quiet and picturesque”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Studio. We have just enjoyed a fantastic week there. The Studio makes a great base for all the days out we had and is a lovely place to come back to. Helston isn't very far away with a couple of supermarket options and there are some lovely beaches just a few miles away. It's in a very quiet location and with great weather the views are spectacular.

Veritee and Barry are great hosts - always there if needed - and we will be going there again. A very easy place to relax.

Heather and Andrew

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Quiet location.
Liked least: The farm track to the property is a bit bumpy.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guppieEss...
essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My Partner & I stayed at The Studio with two dogs for one week 2nd June 2013. To get to the Studio you do need to go up a small dirt track & past a farm where the owners were friendly. We had a standard car and did not find this a problem at all. There is a pub in the village which is walkable and serves nice evening meals, but just check with the owners of the pub's opening times.
The Studio was very clean, owners were friendly & helpful, if you do need anything just ask. The views from the Studio were lovely, also had a really nice garden to enjoy. We felt that it was good value and that the location was good.
We would return here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: probably the toaster
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl K
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for 2 people”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The Studio was clean and everything is there that you would need. It is off the beaten track and is very quiet. The owner is very nice and helpful.
The down side is the bridle path turned out to be the roughest, dirtiest farm drive which finished up in a dirty delapidated farm yard, you turn left out of the farmyard into a reasonable drive to the Studio.
The accommodation is adequate for 2 people but would be extremely pushed for 4 as the pullout bed is the only comfy place to sit, the entire Studio is about 20feet square. Still, the Studio is good value for money and you are not too far from interesting places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views across the countryside
Liked least: The path leading to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2013
It will probably help for me to say here for those thinking of coming is the only access to our smallholding - our own house, the Studio and the Yurt - is a bridal track and it is a true bridal track, bumpy, unimproved and used daily by horses, walkers and other animals.

We do fill it and cut the hedges up it as often as we can but it is a 'non adopted access' which means it is used by the farm , us and 2 others and none of us own it, nor have an jurisdiction over it and in addition nor is it the responsibility of the council beyond just ensuring it is passable for horses, other animals and normal size vehicles. We would be allowed to surface it at our own expense - as no one else who uses it has any desire to surface it - but quite honestly we could not afford to do this.

However we have lived here for about 30 years and as long as you go slowly our vehicles have coped with it and it is usually fine for someone only staying a week or so.

The larger farm you have to pass through is not ours and in fact not so different from many farms up tracks in this part of Cornwall. I could take visitors for a walk up other lanes around here and show visitors at least 5 similar farms with similar or more 'bumpy' tracks that visitors do not usually see. Visitors to our smallholding only see this one because they pass through on their way to us.

However I agree it is not 'groomed' and for some may be a shock for some but it is not our property , the people who run the farm are lovely friendly people and the salt of Cornish earth and we keep our property and access to the Studio and Yurt for our visitors beyond this as well as we can.

There is an upside to this situation as when we were looking at the Smallholding to purchase there were two other potential buyers who wanted to buy it to turn it into a larger holiday complexes. One was even looking at it for a hotel and several outside holiday cabins. And yet another wanted to build a couple of residential houses on it to sell for profit.

However due to the legalities of the road, and the views of those who own the land either side, whereby they would have been allowed to surface it at their expense it is not allowed to be widened or turning points made, they were refused planning applications. And it ( our smallholding ) is now part of the national heritage site for mining in the district. Our smallholding is the old Wheal Enys Mine, and while only one mine stack now exists, which is now outside our land but I can point it out, archaeology exists just below the surface of most of our fields and land that is not allowed to be touched and I am really happy to explain the history of the Smallholding/mine to any visitor that is interested.

Due to this no permanent, or additional development would currently be considered for planning and the track was the track miners used to get to work for 100s of years.

So we as ordinary people who until recently farmed it, and kept our horses on it, were able to buy it, and afford to buy it to live in for the past 30 years.

Therefore it is because of this unimproved bridal track access that Toad Hall and its surroundings remains an unspoilt/undeveloped piece of countryside much as it has been for maybe centuries and the rural retreat it is for us and for those that stay in the two letting properties we have. ( just a small studio flat and a Yurt as we would not get permission for more even if we wanted to. The studio already existed as a family annex when we bought it and the Yurt is not classed as a permanent structure, but a tent).

Thank you for posting this as it is accurate and allows me to explain more fully to anyone thinking of staying with us what the access to Toad Hall is like and what the position is with it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, property and owners
Liked least: no issues whatsoever
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing