We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, great location”

Review of Tremorna

The front of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the cottage
View downriver from bedroom 2 The cottage (left), garden and quay from the creek, nearing high tide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The front of the cottage
View downriver from bedroom 2
The cottage (left), garden and quay from the creek, nearing high tide
Breakfast on the terrace
The terrace and garden in summer, with the creek below
Sitting room showing dining table
Sitting room, from the door
Sitting room
Kitchen
Kitchen from alcove
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1, looking towards creek
View from bedroom 1
Outside bedroom 1 and bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Landing
Bedroom 3
Spiral staircase
Welcoming you to the cottage
View down the estuary from the garden
View across and up the creek from the garden
View from garden up the creek
The terrace and summer house, looking down the estuary
Flowers outside front of cottage, morning
The cottage from up the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue H
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our few days stay. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the garden in the evenings watching the boats.
The cottage is a few strides from an excellent local and a few more to the local pub serving great seafood and other dishes.
The area is great for walking and the ferry across to Helford Passage is less than 10 minutes walk away taking you to even more walking options and another great pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Sue, thanks very much for the review! Appreciate it.

Piers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurajade...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute cottage in a stunning village”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Four friends, myself and a pup, thoroughly enjoyed staying here over new year. The Village its self was quite and felt like the middle of nowhere which was exactly what we wanted!
The cottage was beautiful and is the only place I've stayed and felt at home straight away, the bed and covers were warm and comfortable. The bathroom was well maintained and a powerful shower!
The walks around this village are simply stunning and you could carry on walking for miles taking in the view.
Everyone is friendly and we made a trip to the local shop and pup.
Lastly the owner left the radiators on and a bottle of milk in the fridge. You could not ask for better hospitality.
The only word I can use to describe our trip was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMidla...
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Comfort, quiet and views”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Tremorna is a very comfortable house in the middle of the delightful village of Helford. It is well equipped and extremely 'homely.' I must say that when self catering the quality of the bed is often poor but not so with Tremorna, as comfortable as our own bed at home. The garden and the summer house are lovely and we were able to sit out on one day enjoying the view and the sun. The cottage has everything that you need to self cater but the Shipwrights Arms is just a short stroll down the road. One big advantage of Tremorna is that it has its own parking space, parking is limited in the village itself.
Piers, the owner, was very helpful in answering lots of 'silly' questions before our visit and when the boiler gave up the ghost he very quickly arranged for a plumber to sort it.
There is no mobile signal but wifi works well.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay, thank you Piers and Liz (the 'keeper') and the daffs were lovely!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkedout
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Tremorna makes a comfortable base for exploring the Lizard Peninsular. The garden on the bank of the creek gives wonderful views of the estuary. The keeper of the cottage is most helpful and friendly. The bedrooms all have river views, and the beds are very comfortable - essential after a day of walking in this very steep area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: sky TV with no access to major sky channels or freeview
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
357clare
london
1 review
“Cosy cottage with lovely creek-side garden”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a very enjoyable autumnal retreat at Tremorna. We particularly appreciated the creek-side garden and summerhouse where you can sit and watch the tides and birds, rain or shine.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee142
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful cosy cottage in breathtaking idylic setting”
Reviewed 27 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Emerging from the leafy lanes leading to Helford our first view of this little cornish gem was the river lazily meandering through the village and beautiful thatched cottages dotted randomly along the edges. Tremorna was easy to find and, the parking spaces at the side of the house were a luxury as without them cars have to be parked in the official carpark at the edge of the village. The view from every window of the cottage was breathtaking, a river view with colourful boats bobbing around in the breeze. The cottage itself was spotlessly clean with a welcome card and a vase of flowers on the table. The furniture was traditional and comfortable in the lounge and had a well loved feel about it that made us feel instantly at home. The beds were extremely comfortable and there was ample extra bedding for colder nights, which only my 84 year old mum took advantage off. The jewel in the crown though was the beautiful secluded garden which overlooks the river, the summer house was comfortable and we enjoyed having lunch in there as it was sheltered from the wind. We had a lovely week discovering all the little villages and hidden coves, many of them great for families. There is a village shop which has a good range of daily necessities and there is a llidl at Helston for if you want more choice. . We didnt get round to trying out the village pub as by the evening we were pretty exhausted so we just watched tv . all in all we had a wonderfully relaxing week and really felt like we were in our own little piece of heaven. I cant think of anything negative to say about either Tremorna or Helford so thankyou Piers and family for allowing us to share your beautiful home if only for a short while, it was magical,

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing