We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A proper pub”
Review of The Blue Anchor

The Blue Anchor
Ranked #2 of 9 Nightlife in Helston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This pub is absolutely amazing. It feels very comfortable & cozy. A good selection of beers (brewed on the premises) & friendly staff. We were visiting Helston, and chose this pub almost at random to go for a drink. We had heard about the pub before, because of its brewery, but we were very pleased with our choice. We hadn't intended to eat, but fancied a pasty once we were settled in. Unfortunately, pasties have to be pre-ordered, but the lovely lady behind the bar advised me to go to a sandwich shop just a few doors away, buy my pasties & bring them back to the pub to eat. How wonderful!! And the pasties were gorgeous. We also purchased a few bottles of beer to take home with us. If you are ever in Helston, this is the pub to go to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham546572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply a must”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

No question - The Blue Anchor and Spingo are iconic, an absolute must if you're in Helston. But beware: the 'Special' (>6% ABV) is deceptively easy to drink.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MacOz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

stayed for 3 nights in room 3 very bright and airy huge comfy bed at very reasonable rates. Kim the owner cooks a big nice breakfast, the pub next door is a real ale drinkers paradise and is dog friendly. The locals are friendly too watch out for fibber john and his friends luring you into a game of spoof! located at the bottom of Helston high st you can still reach all the local shops easily. If you are holidaying in Cornwall this is the place to stay. Turned my business trip into a pleasure trip. One more thing the accom. is next door to the pub at no. 52

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alistair w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights . I couldnt fault it. Top notch huge breakfast , lovely rooms. If you need a central location with a nice old pub next door look no further. Will definatetly choose again if l am staying in Helston.

Helpful?
2 Thank boundaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
434 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Long May They Brew”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Claiming to be the oldest brewery in Cornwall and brewers of Spingo ales to traditional recipes, in particular Bragget (brewed to celebrate Helston being awarded a Royal Charter granted on 15th April 1201) this pub is an unspoilt gem.

Thatched and hardly changed in donkeys years it is believed to have started life as a monks rest home and upon the dissolution of the monasteries started to brew ale.

There are lots of small rooms and a tiny bar with open fire. It's well loved by locals and visitors are made most welcome. A good selection of own brew ales are all extremely well kept. Wonderful barmaid obviously much admired by her regulars. No food but they are happy for you to buy a pasty in the shop nearby and bring it in to enjoy with a pint.

We popped in for a lunchtime pint and a pasty and in next to no time were in deep and meaningless conversation with the locals, the bar was obviously in danger of collapse judging by the amount of support they were giving it, damn, I'm glad it's not my local, there was a rather impressive house for sale (let's sell up and emigrate here says Nicky), no, not a good idea. I'd become a full time alcoholic if we did that!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Anchor also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing