We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT ICE CREAM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roskilly's

Roskilly's
Ranked #3 of 46 things to do in Helston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Roskilly’s are based at Tregellast Barton Farm on the Lizard Peninsula in Cornwall. We are a family run business milking 125 Jersey cows. Our small pastures have been farmed in a traditional and sustainable way for generations, and we have always farmed without the use of pesticides and artificial fertilizers. All of our delicious ice creams and hand crafted fudges are made using rich organic Jersey milk and cream from our own herd of Jersey cows. We also produce a range of jams and chutneys using old family recipes that have been handed down the generations. Our Farm and Café, the Croust House, is open all year round serving meals every day from breakfast, fresh salads to clay oven baked pizzas’ and American style smoked meats (summer months only). You can visit and feed all the farm animals: calves, pigs, goats, chickens, turkeys, geese & ducks. You can also go for a stroll around the ponds and withy woods and watch the milking at 4.30pm
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT ICE CREAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Its a lovely place the ice cream is amazing and it has a fab gift shop! lots to see and do and no charge to get in we saw some animals and had a lovely walk with our dog around the area its a very pretty walk.
Worth visiting just for the ice cream the rest is just a bonus!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SNJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    93
    23
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great ice cream and a nice way to spend a few hours with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were recently staying locally and took my niece and nephew to visit Roskilly's.

The first time we visited we just stopped off for an ice cream on the way to the beach. The ice creams are well priced with a kids cup with a scoop and wafer being only £1.20 and an adult waffle cone being £2.00. I loved the salted caramel flavour, and they replaced my niece's ice cream free of charge as she did not like the raspberry flavour (fussy eater)

We returned later in the week for more ice creams, and the kids enjoyed looking at the animals and feeding the goats. We then went to watch the milking for a while which was very interesting.

They had a music night on with food specials and had we not already made plans for the evening I have no doubt we would have stayed. The food in the wood fired oven looked fantastic.

We did not get chance to do the farm walks but I would come back if I were in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ponytales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent day out with amazing ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Today was our 2nd visit to Roskilly's farm. We have loved both times!
The ice cream is delicious and extremely good value for money. We had lunch today and the food was tasty, beautifully presented and the service was so fast. The staff are friendly and the shop sells some beautiful things. We decided to visit again today as we loved the walk through the woods and around the ponds last time and this coincided with the cornish piskie trail which was great fun!
Our 2 year old son loves the animals, the car park is very spacious and its all FREE!!!! Highly recommended to all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“the best icecream in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

loved the ice cream ,the cafe and the family friendliness of roskillys ,will definatley be coming back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We visited here whilst staying nearby, mainly due to our daughter loving ice cream! The whole concept of Roskilly's is brilliant, we had a lovely afternoon. There are animals to see, watch the cows get milked at 4.30pm daily, the restaurant is great and the soup was delicious, there are lots of fab walks down near the ponds etc and the shop was great too. Not to mention the delicious ice cream in a huge range of flavours too! Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank JeniSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roskilly's also viewed

 

Been to Roskilly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing