We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It doesn't get much better than this.....perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Vicarage

The Old Vicarage - View from the rear
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Vicarage - View from the rear
Secure off road parking right next to your accommodation Have a meal on your own private patio area and enjoy the ample garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Old Vicarage - View from the rear
Secure off road parking right next to your accommodation
Have a meal on your own private patio area and enjoy the ample garden
The living room - showing TV and fireplace
Enjoy a glass of wine in front of the cosy log fire
Spacious dining area
Kitchen with full oven/hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave and washer/dryer
Prepare a meal of local sea food in your well equipped kitchen
Spacious master bedroom with king size bed and en-suite shower room
Master bedroom en-suite shower room
Rear bedroom with double bed and en-suite shower room
Rear bedroom with double bed and en-suite shower room
Rear bedroom en-suite shower room
View over the secluded garden
Gwithian Beach - North Coast 8 Miles
The Lizard - South Coast 15 Miles
Eden Project - St Austell
Make the most of the many beaches
Take up a new sport!
Relax and get away from it all
Enjoy your stay!
Warm and welcoming at any time of year
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
50andout
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this.....perfect!”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

From our first email contact with Debbie, the owner of the property, I felt confident that we would have a great experience at The Old Vicarage. I often feel like its a huge leap of faith booking and then paying for accommodation when you are on the other side of the world, but Debbie's professionalism and warmth in her initial and ongoing dealings with us was outstanding. The property is, as other reviewers have commented, genuinely "5 star", which when married with a warm welcome and generous provision of breakfast and other supplies (milk, bread, butter, jam, eggs and bacon) makes for a very comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay. The two en suite bedrooms are luxuriously appointed, and we all had a great sleep each night of our stay - there is no noise at this property and the beds are superb. Bathrooms are brand new, spotlessly clean and the provision of locally made shower products is just another example of the generosity of the owners. A cook will want for nothing in the kitchen, with good quality cooking utensils and all the essentials (coffee, tea, oil, spices, cling wrap etc) provided. The main living room was our favorite place though, featuring the original Old Vicarage date stamped brick in the wall over the wood burning fire, the surround sound DVD/TV and the unbelievable collection of DVDs, books and Cornish maps, walking and surfing guides and general tourist information. The information pack provided by the owners about the property and the local area is professional and comprehensive - certainly the best that we have encountered anywhere we have traveled in the last 25 years.
This is truly a very special place and we were very sad to leave. I would encourage anyone looking to stay in this area of Cornwall, which is perfectly positioned between the north and south coast, to book at the Old Vicarage and experience the warmth and character of this wonderful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essie0101
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just stay here!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our first experience in Cornwall and we couln't have picked a better place to stay. As previous reviews stated, the old Vicarage is a 5+ rated holiday stay. Thanks to the owners you feel right at home and the breakfast provided was more than sufficient.
Really enjoyed our stay of a week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The inside space, the garden and the proximity to all attractions
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary C
Crawley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect property for a relaxing and comfortable stay!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I arrived with my husband and two teenage children after a long and tiring journey and the property was perfect inside, the bedrooms and en-suites looked brand new and it was like 5* accommodation. I had a lovely night’s sleep and felt very relaxed the next morning.

We made use of the TV and surround sound and DVD's available and my kids couldn't decide on what they wanted to watch due to the endless choice available.

The kitchen was clean and well-equipped to cook a lovely breakfast on our fist morning, thanks to the supplies that Debbie had bought for us, including freshly laid eggs. We also cooked an evening meal as the weather wasn't very good and had all the utensils available that were needed.
A basket of logs were also supplied, as well as a bowl of sweets for the kids, so a cosy night in was had by us all
We were able to leave our car under the car port but due to the bad weather couldn’t make use of the lovely patio and garden outside.
Overall we were very impressed with the property and would love to stay again and spend more time visiting the area, as we only stayed for 2 nights. We found this a good base in between both coast-lines and would have no hesitation in recommending this property for a comfortable and relaxing stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1970Iwona
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best self- catering accommodation you can find!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed in the cottage on May bank holiday with our friends from abroad and we must say that it was the best self- catering accommodation we 've ever had!
Services provided by Debbie and Paul are much above 5*!
Their hospitality and their beautiful cottage deserve the best rating possible!
The cottage is tastefully furnished and equipped with very good quality and comfortable furniture and modern appliances.
A living room with a fire place,very comfortable beds,modern and warm bathrooms ,sunny patio and garden area make this place very cosy regardless the weather.

However,what is unique about staying in this cottage is the service provided by the owners.
Debbie and Paul went the extra miles (not only a mile) to provide the service beyond any expectations and the best hotels could learn from them how to make customers happy and pleased.
Their welcoming hamper was a lovely surprise!
On every step we found surprises making us feeling like the most welcomed quest.
You open a living room cupboard and will find: movies,books ,guide books,maps,etc.There is no way you will be bored!
Also a kitchen was full of surprises so you do not need to run to a shop every time you need a pinch of salt ,pepper or seasoning!
Debbie and Paul take care of all your needs!

We had the wonderful time there,despite weather not being perfect.
After a cold day ,it was so much pleasure to sit next to a fire place and enjoy a glass of wine ,while talking to friends or watching a movie.
We will recommended this cottage to anyone who wants to relax in Cornwall and we cannot wait to return to this magical place!
Thank you Debbie and Paul for helping us to impress our friends and making our stay unforgettable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: feeling welcomed and being surpised by the quality of the services provided by the owners
Liked least: Nothing! We wish we could stay longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P C G
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth 5Star plus rating”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We went down to Cornwall for a wedding anniversary break, the property was excellent!Couldn't fault it in any way.
Easy parking right outside the door. Garden is a sun trap, with a BBQ area.
Very warm inside, thanks to the underfloor heating.
T.V in each bedroom and in the lounge area.
En-suite bathroom to both bedrooms
would definitely recommend this property as a base for visiting South Cornwall

PCG

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelm
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts, location and cottage”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Great communication with owners (Debbie & Paul) prior to our stay. They recommended things to do, nearby restaurants and provided a number for a local taxi company so that I could prepare all of our arrangements before our arrival.

Directions send beforehand we very useful and certainly helped with guiding us to The Old Vicarage. The cottage is equipped with everything you’ll need from breakfast hamper, coffee, tea, dish washer tablets, washing up liquid – so no need to take these items with you.

Really comfortable and relaxing lounge with beautiful log burner and logs etc all ready for you to use…. Really nice touch.

Kitchen fully equipped with microwave, dish washer, washing machine and all the cooking utensils you may need.

Two lovely double bedrooms and a double sofa bed in the lounge. We stayed as a party of 6 for three nights and our guests were more than comfortable sleeping in the lounge. Both upstairs bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms therefore the guests sleeping downstairs used one of the bathrooms upstairs. Beautiful towels, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hair dryer all provided for you.

The cottage is located approximately 10-15 minutes’ drive from the coast. I would highly recommend the coastal train trip into St Ives from Lelant Saltings – very picturesque and saves you the hassle of trying to park in St Ives.

We experienced a few days of wet weather during our stay – but all the more reason to snuggle up in the warm the cosy cottage as games and heaps of dvd’s supplied.

The Old Vicarage is really a beautiful retreat, to get away from it all and recharge the batteries.
Debbie & Paul were very welcoming, provide all that you will need for your stay and on hand to provide suggestions for the local area. Will definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julieread...
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A really beautiful and cosy cottage to stay in. We have stayed as a family of 4 and just as a couple this year already. Our holidays are often taken in cottages in this country and I must say this is easily the best. It's very clean, warm and inviting, Debbie and Paul are really helpful with great communication before the holiday. The breakfast hamper left ready for you is such an excellent touch as are the supplies ready there if needed. I have no negatives at all and can't wait to return again in the future. The children liked it so much they didn't want to leave each morning, they enjoyed the games and DVDs as much as day trips out to the very lovely places to visit in that beautiful part of Cornwall. Thanks again Debbie and Paul. Hopefully we will see you again at some point.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;