We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst plowmans I've had”

The Old Inn- Mullion
Ranked #48 of 112 Restaurants in Helston
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst plowmans I've had”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The plowmans was not the greatest, the cheese was not farmhouse but very bland and poor quality, the small piece of Stilton was dry and the green cheese was more rind than cheese, the salad was dry and only half a piece of cucumber and no tomatoes. Also the chutney has cinnoman taste to it. ....they need to go to tea on the green at westward ho to see what a real plowmans should be...... Will not go again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alicat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    93
    25
    28
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well prepared and tasty food, we were so busy chatting about the inn we did not realise we had been waiting a long time for food until the owner came and apologised and gave us free drinks in way of an apology which was a very nice gesture

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NanaAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Food and Friendly/ Excellent Service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Such a gorgeous pub in the middle of a peaceful Cornish village, Really relaxed and friendly atompshere with decent menu for all the family. Homemade Soups and Cornish Breaded Brie delicious, excellent Ciders and really chilled out place to relax. Kids loved it too.Highly recommend for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A very friendly atmosphere in the Old Inn, it would be a great place to spend an evening drinking, although the ale is pricey but good (pricey to us Northerners brought up on cheap beer that is...). However our visit was for a family meal, and we were very happy with the standard of the food and the service. There was a slight cock up with our order, one of the meals was forgotten, but the error was soon rectified, and the pleasant bloke in charge seemed genuinely upset at the mistake - so much so that he knocked the price of the late meal off the bill. I would recommend the pub, and would certainly call in again next time I'm down that way.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamStinkfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Good quality lite lunch. Very friendly staff who did not mind chatting to my very chatty 3y/o son. Clean facilities. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mittybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Inn- Mullion also viewed

 
Mullion, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old Inn- Mullion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing