We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

+We have just come back from a weeks holiday in a static van. It was one of the new vans on site. The van was very clean and had everything you needed. The site was great and very child friendly, 2 play areas and a sandpit and was safe enough for our 5 year old to play out on his own. The road leading up to the site was single track and providing you drove accordingly there would be no problem. The walk to the beach was good (although not pram friendly). We would definitely return to the site.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed for 10 nights this August. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The site is clean and well tended with a couple of play areas and a sandpit for children.

There is also an entire field designated as a play area big enough for a game of football/rounders etc which is a nice touch as I am sure that it could be used to allow more pitches.

The touring caravan pitches are a mixture of semi and fully serviced.
The showers although not mega posh are kept very clean and they are free!
Wifi is a little on the pricey side but this is provided by a third party contractor.
I don't know about other networks but the Vodafone signal is virtually non existent.

Great location for access to Kennack Sands and not far from other great places such as Gweek, Kynance Cove & the Lizard.

Time your trip back in to Helston carefully as there can be a long queue around 4-5 p.m. each day as people come away from the beach and staff leave the Air Base nearby at the end of the working day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob43951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just returned from a fortnight camping at this small gem of a site. The owners Nick & Kell greeted us with a warm welcome and were always available to give help or advice.

The site consists of 2 main areas. One for static rental caravans and touring caravans and the other area for camping, both were well maintained and the camping area had approximately 18 large pitches (plenty of electric hook-ups) affording privacy which were located around a large green. The green offered an ideal safe and secure area with swings for the children to play and proved very popular, there was also another play area with a sandpit on the Caravan area.

Also centrally located are the amenities. The shower blocks consist of 3 showers with free hot water and 4 toilets.The ladies toilet has a hairdryer which costs £1 to use. There is an excellent laundry and indoor washing up area with freezers for those of us without electric hook-up points. Although the site was almost full for the 2 weeks we were there we never had to wait to use any of the facilities which were always spotlessly clean!

Near the main entrance is a log cabin which is used as a TV and internet room, the keys are available from the site reception. Also there is an information office offering plenty of things to do nearby and a payphone.

There is no shop onsite but basics can be got from a neighbouring site or alternatively there is a large Tesco and Sainsbury in Helsten about 10 miles away.

As well as being family friendly the site offers an adjoining field to walk dogs and offers a kennel facility.

Silver Sands is ideally situated to explore all the attractions the Lizard has to offer and there is easy access via a footpath at the main entrance of the site down to Kennack sands 15 mins away. There are 2 lovely beaches with good facilities and one of which is dog friendly.

To sum up, this site offers everything a family could need to enjoy a fantastic holiday. As well as excellent facilities, is both family and dog friendly, peaceful and quiet.
We will definately return, well done Nick & Kell.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErnieBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Amazing site, excellent facilities, lovely pitches with some privacy, amazing views, short walk (10 mins to the beach) through the valley woods. Very family friendly also dog friendly with a good field on site to walk the dog. Owners / staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

What a gem of a site. Silver Sands is a small friendly, well maintained site. The owners are very friendly and greeted us will a warm welcome. We spent 1 week in one of the Superior 4 berth caravans. Everything was clean and well presented and the welcome pack of tea and coffee was greatly appreciated. We didn't need to use the site's facilities but they looked very clean. There is a good play area for children, a barbeque area and a dog walking area.

The road leading to the site is a bit narrow, I grant you, but everyone seems to take their time and there are plenty of passing places. It caused us no problems.

The small shop on the neighbouring caravan site sells the basics; the nearest supermarket is at Helston which is about 10 miles away.

Kennack Sands is a short 1km woodland walk through the Lizard Nature Reserve. A great place for body boarding. It has a small café and toilets.

The site is well placed for some fantastic coastal walks. The village of Kuggar, which has a small bar and restaurant, is about ½ km across the fields and Cadgwith is about a 2 ½ miles along the coastal path.

All in all a really lovely site in beautiful surroundings run by lovely people, we would definitely recommend this site to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with friends who had visited before and suggested it. Have looked at sites on the Lizard but not this one. As it was a weekend in term time the camping field was quiet and we had a wide choice of pitches close together. Chose two overlooking the central green area reserved for ball games. Pitches are a generous size, fairly level with many having hook-up. the pitches we had were separated by little shrub/grass lines which was a nice touch. Usual facilities are available centrally, all very clean and well maintained. Shower block is bright and tidy with free hot showers. Apparently there are plans to update the block which will make the facilities even better. There isn't a shop on site but you are able to use the one on the neighbouring site. The central grass area mentioned earlier is well tended with trees and shrubs back-dropping garden benches to sit and chill in the evening with a coffee or, even better, a glass of wine.

Kennack Sands is only a 10-15 min walk down the valley which is ideal for families with good facilities available. This also gives you access to the South West Coast Path either east or west.

Overall, a great site run by an extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful couple. A fantastic weekend.

N.B.
Although we didn't have children (they're grown up!) we noticed that it seemed a very safe environment for little ones away from noisy busy roads with play areas although some were age restricted.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldKernowLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed in one of the static caravans at this holiday park and it was just the perfect country break. The site was very accessible by car and just secluded enough to offer some peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle of city life, but only a short drive to the nearest town for supplies. As the location is a short distance off the main roads, it meant that we could really relax and enjoy the natural environment, with hiking paths and the beach only a short walk away. While you don't go to a holiday park expecting the Ritz, the caravans (more like mini-apartments!) were clean and tidy, with all the facilities that we needed, including most importantly, a well equipped kitchen with stove tops, and even a microwave and oven! Kell was also a lovely host, who did her utmost to make us feel welcomed at the park.

Even though the weather was still a little chilly in early May, we found that the heaters both in the lounge area and rooms worked fine and we did have ample hot water for a family of four (I guess the earlier reviewer mentioning a lack of hot water may have had a problem working the gas water heater??)

All in all, it was a very positive caravan-ing experience and we will definitely be returning again soon!

Room Tip: Try to get a van overlooking the ocean-side and you can get glimpses of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ktvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
3.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
650 reviews
13.8 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 20 in Penzance
432 reviews
8.3 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
386 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 7 in St Keverne
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Park

Address: Kennack Sands | Near the Lizard, Helston TR12 7LZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Helston
Price Range: £12 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands Holiday Park offers you a choice of static caravan holiday homes, lodge, touring and camping pitches in Cornwall in a mature parkland setting. Set in the dramatic and beautiful countryside of the Lizard Peninsula, an area of outstanding natural beauty, Silver Sands Holiday Park is ideal for families, couples and singles alike, whether you want "away from it all" relaxation or a more active sightseeing and touring holiday in Cornwall. From Silver Sands it is just a short 1km woodland walk through the Lizard Nature Reserve to clean sandy beaches of Kennack Sands. The stunning Kynance Cove, the Lizard-the most southerly point in Cornwall and the unspoilt Helford River are all within easy reach. The rugged coastline of the Lizard Peninsula nestling many secret coves, sandy beaches and pretty fishing villages are all waiting for you to explore. As Silver Sands is a small family run holiday park, we know how important all the little touches are that will make your holiday experience a truly good one. Nick & Kell Whittle look forward to extending a warm welcome to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing