We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very rude”

Longstone Farm Holiday Cottages & B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Longstone Farm Holiday Cottages & B&B
Ranked #31 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Cornwall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very rude”
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I didn't actually stay here but I book all the accommodation for the business I work for. I called to enquire of room rates for B & B, she asked how many for and I replied one. I got silence them got we don't really and more fumbling. I then asked if they charged for single occupancy to which I got a very condescending reply off ‘oh no we wouldn't be interested in that!'. Bit off a mistake as generally we have 2 guys staying once a month but hey if you can afford to turn down business with that attitude good luck and you must be very busy all the time!

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank eefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We were lucky to find a holiday cottage of this quality in the wonderful area of Helston. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and happy to direct us to the best attractions of the area.
We had a relaxing holiday in the middle of the East Cornish countryside.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suz2006_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Oh my, where can I start.

LOCATION: The hosts claim that the beach is near, we were expecting at the most a half-hour walk, but no, no, no. we started off driving through the narrowest(an even narrower road than in mousehole, if you've been), bushy, quite abandoned, hilly road. My dad thought- "Where the hell are we going?" It was nowhere near the beach, local shops, family attractions etc.

HOSTS: Overly friendly people who actually began to scare me. It seemed as if they hadn't had visitors for years. A strange atmosphere really.

OUTSIDE AREA: Untidy, with a teeny trampoline and rusty old swings. Smelly obviously, as it is on a farm, so i didn't mind.

BEDROOMS & STAIRCASE: Old, dated carpet in the bedrooms and as you go up the stairs. Clean and tidy though, which is most important.

We couldn't bare to stay there in the end, so we ended up staying in a gorgeous georgian guest house in Penzance, a five minute walk to sennen cove, ideal.

I ADVISE YOU ALL, THE WEBSITE IS NOTHING LIKE THE REAL THING. WE FELL FOR THE EXAGGERATED COMPLIMENTS, WE HOPE YOU DON'T.

  • Liked — Clean bathroom.
  • Disliked — Location- Definitely.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank GEORGEOUSGEORGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helston hotels

Tutbury, Staffs, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2005

Booked into this B+B some months in advance in order to attend a wedding.

We stayed there in July 2005.

The "farm" itself was down a long, very narrow lane. If you can't reverse a car, you'd be in trouble.
The place itself was well appointed but was hardly a "farm". It used to be, but a few ducks and a pigsty full of manure isn't what I envisaged!
Shown to our room, we were really happy with it. Large, clean and with fresh linen and a large en-siute bathroom. T.V. etc. Couldn't complain.

However, what we didn't know was that our hosts were overtly Christian. We had no problem with that, but they did tend to ram it down our throats a bit.

They did walk in on us when we were laying in bed in the morning....we presumed that that was an attempt to ensure no child would be conceived out of wedlock on the premesis!

Breakfast was strictly between 08.00 and 09.00, and when we chose another table to sit at on the second morning we were chastised and made to return to our origonal table. The reason, it was muttered, was because our napkins from the day before were at that table....!!!

While breakfast was good, all conversation with our hosts returned to Christianity to the point where sausages even represented a crucifix.

Overall, nice accomodation, nice breakfast. But it isn't a farm, it isn't easy to get to and unless you are of the Christian persuasion and practice going to church regulary, the hosts are off-putting and may spoil your stay.

Helpful?
5 Thank Foxhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helston hotels
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
4.4 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 3 in Gweek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
10.2 mi away
Old Temperance House
Old Temperance House
#1 of 7 in St Keverne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longstone Farm Holiday Cottages & B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longstone Farm Holiday Cottages & B&B

Property: Longstone Farm Holiday Cottages & B&B
Address: Longestone Farm Coverack Bridge | Trenear, Helston TR13 0HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Longstone Farm Holiday Cottages & B&B Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing