We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trelowarren Retreat
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming and peaceful”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We spent a few days here in the winter. Mike and Elaine made us and other guests very welcome, like a home-from-home, and Elaine's home cooking was to die for. The spiritual aspect to the visit was food for the soul and the beautiful scenery enhanced this. Our bedroom was huge, so was the bed, and the roaring log fires kept us warm and toasty.

Overall a very positive experience which I would recommend to others as food both for the soul and the stomach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wulfrunian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I've stayed here a number of times and can heartily recommend it. The property and surrounding area is lovely, the food is wonderful and Mike and Elaine are great to be around. It's only 5 miles or so from the Lizard which is beautiful and generally a great part of the country to be. A good place if you're looking for a lone retreat or a holiday as a couple/family. There's a lovely library to relax in and beautiful chapel too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

As a Christian, eagerly wanting to find a new role after losing my job, it was recommended to me that time at a retreat could be a good idea. I found Trelowarren Retreat through their website www.trelowarrenretreat.org.uk and spent almost a week with Mike and Elaine in September '13.
What a great experience! From the moment I arrived, I was made to feel so welcome and just became enveloped in the wonderful caring blanket that is Trelowarren. From the informal worship in the lovely Chapel, to the good home cooked food round the large kitchen table, I found the whole experience so relaxing.
For me the stay was about having space to pray and consider the next stage in my career, but there was still time to study and read and Elaine and Mike have great course material which is both easy to follow and instructive. They are also great listeners and always seem to find time for each individual guest.
The Retreat is set in a glorious area on the LIzard and for some time out, there are fab woody walks and the beaches are never far away. The bedroom I stayed in was very comfortable and spacious and as mentioned Elaine's home cooked food is just great. I think the retreat really does offer very good value for money
Living in the County I have been back twice for further visits and will continue to do so in 2014
I strongly commend Trelowarren to anyone wishing to visit.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxbraund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have enjoyed afternoon tea at the Retreat many times now and each time is as special as the first. The welcome is always warm, with logs fires in the winter. Mike and Elaine know how to make you feel special and our 13 year old son loves going there because he "is treated like a king". From the drawing room the sound of the grand piano drifts through whilst enjoying the tea, the atmosphere of the magnificent rooms and the sense of history. Now that the dates for teas in 2014 are available, we will be finding a reason to partake of tea at Trelowarren every month! We love it.
If you live in the area, or are visiting the area, this is one of those places you just have to visit.!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have been there a number of times now and have always found it a great place to find rest and relaxation. The house itself is magnificent, large rooms, warm log fires, a real grand piano, library and private chapel .... as you can tell we love it!! Mike and Elaine are wonderful hosts, attentive but not over bearing and the food is home cooking at its best ... with the seaside a short drive away it is one of our favourite places to chill out in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helston hotels
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 3 in Gweek
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelowarren Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelowarren Retreat

Property: Trelowarren Retreat
Address: Trelowarren Trelowarren The Mansion House, Helston TR12 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A retreat specifically for those following the Christian faith. Located in South West Cornwall on the Lizard Peninsula. Offering very spacious accommodation the house is a grade 1 listed building with its own Chapel. Other rooms include library and drawing room and dining room. All bedrooms with bathrooms are located on the first floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trelowarren Retreat Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing