We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family friendly, give it a miss!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poldown Caravan and Camping Park
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not family friendly, give it a miss!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The site looked ideal on the website, 'small, family & dog friendly...' ha!

The site is very small (too small) with too many pitches sqeezed in & too close together. It was very muddy, facilities very basic. Washing machine which didn't clean clothes for £2.50.

Lights kept shorting out in wash up area.
All pretty minor, but it was the attitude of the owner (mr grumpy) that spoiled it for us- our children were playing happily & nicely in the PLAY area & mr grumpy told them not to play with their toy guns. The play area is nxt to the static vans on this cramped site & the owner seems to be more concerned about the static vans than allowing children to be children. The children were also confined as to where they could cycle & were also told not to go up to the play area at one point. So much for the children having fun and if the children aren't happy....

Mr grumpy's approach was inconsistent however as he did not intervene when noisy teenagers were houling & shrieking after 9pm.

The dog walking area is up a rocky stream bed- not good in the wet.

There are much nicer sites in the area, I would strongly recommend that you check them out. A brand new one (dog friendly, but no kids) has opened virtually next door- looked lovely- Bracken wood/ bracken farm??

We were pleased to leave the site.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank LizSussex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    14
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We've just got back from a 2 week stay here, the site is a well maintained mature site with facilities you wouldn't find anywhere else . We had a caravan, the pitches were small but very well maintained however did become muddy in wet weather.
The toilets were clean as were the showers however 1 shower for the whole site was a disappointment, we only queued twice in the whole time. But another one is needed, the owners were lovely and couldnt have been more helpful, the children enjoyed making their own games, up in the park and in the communal tv area.
If its a quiet site you want you will find it here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becci-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in the'safari tent' for three weeks.The tent is on a secluded pitch near to the facilities so was perfect for us with 3 kids-12,9 and 7 mths. The owners couldn't be nicer and are the right level of discreet yet available. The volleyball net and pingpong were great for the kids-as was the covered tv area during the olympics. The facilities are luxurious compared to our other camping experiences and are well kept but 'vintage'! The site is small and this helps keep the noise down,all the shrubs and hedges help.The communal areas are a bonus-free use of kettle,microwave
,fridgefreezer,hot water and bbqs.The coin operated washing machine needs updating though.Loved our time here,met new friends and generally chilled-a relaxed few weeks with our new baby. Dont let the damp weather put you off either-the ground has been graveled and drainage updated so even during torrential downpoors we were dry underfoot. Wellies can stay home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malarkinandthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in a Static Caravan here last week, lovely relaxed little site. Caravan very clean and tidy.
Would recommend.Our dog loved it too:-)

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzielou249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Our little family of three stayed there for a week, and the site was charming, well kept and the owners very friendly. It's very peaceful and sheltered, and centrally placed for all the areas attractions. There's lots of room for the kids to play around safely too. If you want to tuck into a lovely little garden for a while, it's the idea spot!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaysee1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2006

Poldown is a quiet little campsite tucked away down a country lane about 2 miles from Helston. Run by a charming couple who are very relaxed and helpful it is excellent value for money located really well to enjoy lots that Cornwall has to offer.

The level pitches (some sun, some shade) are of a good size with electric hook up if you want it. The loos and showers are basic but adequate and cleaned at least once a day.

There is a pub called the Godolphin Arms that you can walk to about 2 miles away and a shop for essentials about .5 mile away. The nearest beach is Praa sands about 3 miles away - beautifully sandy with clear water.

Poldown is not a campsite for anyone who wants entertainment, luxury facilites etc but if you want peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings it is an excellent choice.

Helpful?
15 Thank washi1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
4.1 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 19 in Penzance
386 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
485 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elysian Fields
Elysian Fields
#2 of 39 in Helston
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
85 reviews
2.4 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 3 in Gweek
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poldown Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poldown Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Poldown Caravan and Camping Park
Address: 2 miles West of Helston, Helston TR13 9NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Helston
Hotel Class:4 star — Poldown Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Poldown Caravan And Camping Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing