We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poldown Caravan and Camping Park
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely little quirky campsite 3 miles out of Helston. Catered for all our needs for one night - nice little touches of space being made available to socialise with other campers and a wood burning oven and space to dry your washing

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank L16MLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    13
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

A superb little campsite, which was peaceful and offered more than normal campsites. We had use of badminton net, bbq area, laundry room, microwave, washing up room, toilets etc etc It even had a information booth with a selection of books, games, dvds for you to borrow.
Yes it is only a small site, but the service feels more personal.
Brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jomibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived here for two weeks and were greeted by Nellie at reception (hi Nellie!) who was extremely polite and helpful with information on the local area and lanes we were in, our pitch wasn't of a large scale but was big enough for a 27ft caravan and extended awning with a 4x4, the site is extremely quaint and very relaxing, it's well matured gardens always kept pristine thanks to nellies husband giles(hi giles!) for two weeks we had changeable weather which meant that at time the ground became boggy however, not as boggy as other campsites we have stayed in by far, giles was kind enough to provide us with a breathable ground sheet for our awning, not many campsites would do that! However during our stay we were slightly disrupted by 2 young boys playing guns from around 8:30 am till gone 9pm at night the sound was extremely annoying and the children were not in the least quiet with them, however giles was in the right to ask these young boys to turn the sound off them at first as being a 13 pitch campsite it was rather annoying when we were eating in the communal area and trying to watch tv. In the end they were asked to leave which considering we had 3 pitches taken up with our family on the site was quite a relief.
We took use of the bbqs and wood burner on the sites free of charge, and giles (the owner) even got us some wood to burn to keep warm :-)
Overall I think this site is wonderful and if you choose to listen to the bad review your nuts!
We will be visiting again! Giles and Nellie well done we didn't want to come home!
you exceed beyond anyone's expectations and made our stay pleasurable indeed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinkyd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Arrived at the site and were greeted by the lovely owners who could not do enough and were very helpful with local information.

During our 2 week stay the weather was changeable but the site allowed variable but sensible games that were provided by the site ie board games and undercover tv area and a covered pingpong table, available at all times. The request that the owner very politely and sensibly asked was that Lizsussex01 children who were constantly shouting never talking and were annoying other residents on the site with guns with the annoying shooting noise that started from the minute they awoke in the morning till the time the children were called in..!!! That was a reasonable request but of course that was not good enough, if your kids were amused then who cares about the people near you or in tents.!!! Like you said the pitches were small but they were ample for most outfits. I have 3 children 1 in an annexe who was fuming about being woken and a 9 and 3 year old who were woken by the named children.!! 2 words CONTROL and RESPECT.
The toilet facilities are basic but are clean and ample for the number of pitches. As for the lights tripping it never happened to us and we were there 2 wks with no problems.
When it rained it did get muddy but the helpful owners offered ground sheets and car mats to avoid churning the grass for following campers what a good idea. The children were advised to keep off the grass when really wet as to avoid making it boggy, which I think is a reasonable request Lizsussex01 not being grumpy.
And last of all as for the noisy teenagers that were my son and his friends they are not teenagers they are 12 and there noise level was acceptable for the time they were all quiet and watching tv by 9:30 . Just 1 night they had fun and there was never a night when the older ones caused problems they had fun and were sensible however many complaints were made about your children by many people .
Overall to anyone who is thinking of booking please do not judge by one begrudge camper who needs control over 2 unruly kids please look at the other reviews . We had a very pleasant stay the site is small the other campers were really pleasant and the site is central for many visitor attractions a wonderful and relaxing 2 wks had and we will certainly return in the near future .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The site looked ideal on the website, 'small, family & dog friendly...' ha!

The site is very small (too small) with too many pitches sqeezed in & too close together. It was very muddy, facilities very basic. Washing machine which didn't clean clothes for £2.50.

Lights kept shorting out in wash up area.
All pretty minor, but it was the attitude of the owner (mr grumpy) that spoiled it for us- our children were playing happily & nicely in the PLAY area & mr grumpy told them not to play with their toy guns. The play area is nxt to the static vans on this cramped site & the owner seems to be more concerned about the static vans than allowing children to be children. The children were also confined as to where they could cycle & were also told not to go up to the play area at one point. So much for the children having fun and if the children aren't happy....

Mr grumpy's approach was inconsistent however as he did not intervene when noisy teenagers were houling & shrieking after 9pm.

The dog walking area is up a rocky stream bed- not good in the wet.

There are much nicer sites in the area, I would strongly recommend that you check them out. A brand new one (dog friendly, but no kids) has opened virtually next door- looked lovely- Bracken wood/ bracken farm??

We were pleased to leave the site.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank LizSussex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We've just got back from a 2 week stay here, the site is a well maintained mature site with facilities you wouldn't find anywhere else . We had a caravan, the pitches were small but very well maintained however did become muddy in wet weather.
The toilets were clean as were the showers however 1 shower for the whole site was a disappointment, we only queued twice in the whole time. But another one is needed, the owners were lovely and couldnt have been more helpful, the children enjoyed making their own games, up in the park and in the communal tv area.
If its a quiet site you want you will find it here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becci-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in the'safari tent' for three weeks.The tent is on a secluded pitch near to the facilities so was perfect for us with 3 kids-12,9 and 7 mths. The owners couldn't be nicer and are the right level of discreet yet available. The volleyball net and pingpong were great for the kids-as was the covered tv area during the olympics. The facilities are luxurious compared to our other camping experiences and are well kept but 'vintage'! The site is small and this helps keep the noise down,all the shrubs and hedges help.The communal areas are a bonus-free use of kettle,microwave
,fridgefreezer,hot water and bbqs.The coin operated washing machine needs updating though.Loved our time here,met new friends and generally chilled-a relaxed few weeks with our new baby. Dont let the damp weather put you off either-the ground has been graveled and drainage updated so even during torrential downpoors we were dry underfoot. Wellies can stay home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malarkinandthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
4.1 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 19 in Penzance
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elysian Fields
Elysian Fields
#2 of 39 in Helston
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Inn and Lodges
Crown Inn and Lodges
#8 of 39 in Helston
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Praa Sands Holiday Park
Praa Sands Holiday Park
#4 of 19 in Penzance
91 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poldown Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poldown Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Poldown Caravan and Camping Park
Address: 2 miles West of Helston, Helston TR13 9NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Helston
Hotel Class:4 star — Poldown Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Poldown Caravan And Camping Park Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing