We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal location for a peaceful stay.”
Review of Merther Uny Farm

Merther Uny Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merther Uny Farm
Ranked #28 of 39 Helston B&B and Inns
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An ideal location for a peaceful stay.”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Not the easiest place to find, tucked away up narrow roads and an eventual cul-de-sac, but well worth the effort once there. This meant it was extremely quiet and the two room accommodation was well appointed and comfortable. The hosts made one very welcome and the individually prepared breakfasts were first class . Despite the thick overnight fogs while we were there we enjoyed watching the many and various wild birds feeding in the garden which at another time of year would no doubt be a blaze of colour. It is handily placed for all of western Cornwall and only about 5 miles from Helston, so a good base for touring. We will certainly try to return when next in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Lovely large comfortable room.Fantastic characterful farmhouse with welcoming friendly hosts. Very relaxing & out of the way location, just what we were looking for. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Merther Uny farm was exactly what we were looking for- a hidden gem in Cornwall, far from the tourist traps.. The rooms are charming, I felt like I was at home, the garden full of beautiful flowers, and the breakfast in the cosy living room is big enough for two! The next time I'm in Cornwall I will definately stay here again. The only drawback (and plus point, at the same time) is that it is a bit far away from the main road, with a narrow country lane leading up to it, so may not be great for nervous drivers, but once you get there, the drive is worth it!

Room Tip: We loved the blue room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess_galadriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just retuned after spending 4 nights at Merther Uny Farm. We booked both rooms, one for myself and partner and the other for our two teenage boys.
It was a home from home...absolutely lovely. The B&B is peaceful and quiet and is a super base for exploring cornwall.
The breakfasts are first class, and we enjoyed a full English every day.
The hosts were very friendly, and made us feel very welcome.
The rooms were well furnished and clean, and decorated tastefully. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. ...(even though I fear that this hidden gem may become so popular that it may be fully booked in future).
The B&B is amazing value compared to other B&Bs we have stayed in, and I have stayed in many all over the UK.
This is one of my favourites...a five star from us.
Thank you Merther Uny Farm.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joleex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland tyne and wear
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have just returned from one of the best holidays we have ever had. We went to Cornwall to look up some elderly relatives and stayed in Merther Uny Farm for six nights. The room we had was spotless well furnished and with a lovely comfortable bed. We had tea and coffee facilities with a selection of lovely biscuits each night. The view from the window was of rolling farm land. The nights were dark, silent and peaceful. Our hosts Gill and John could not have been more attentive with help on routes, places to eat, maps as well as delicious breakfasts of whatever we chose including eggs laid that morning from one of their eight hens. It was a really lovely few days and when we go back to Cornwall we would stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorothy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The service is personalised and second to none. The rooms are restful and very comfortable. Breakfast is a five star experience and Gill's home-made marmalade is delicious.
The garden and surrounding countryside is just beautiful and so quiet. A truly relaxing place to be. We have returned time and time again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I have not got a single bad word to say about our stay at Merther Uny Farm after our very enjoyable stay. Gill & John operate a beautiful B&B that is perfect in everyway, but the best part is they make you feel like it is your own home. Whether its the amazing views, the quaint flowery cottage or the immaculate room, I would highly recommend anyone staying here. Perfect location, as it is mintues from Helston & Penryn that will cover all of your shopping needs and very close to all of Cornwalls main attarctions. I know that we will return one day but hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StewartEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helston hotels
0.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 39 in Helston
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#5 of 39 in Helston
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merther Uny Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merther Uny Farm

Property: Merther Uny Farm
Address: Wendron, Helston TR13 0NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Merther Uny Farm Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing