We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional hospitality”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed at the Angel Hotel whilst visiting my daughter. AS soon as we walked through the door we were met with a warm, friendly greeting. The hotel itself was welcoming, spotlessly clean and invited you through the door. We could choose what time we had breakfast and this was lovely, freshly cooked and served with a smile. On the evening we chose to eat in the restaurant in the hotel. The food was well cooked and very well presented with a good choice available. The bedrooms were clean, fresh and very comfortable with modern en suite facilities.
When visiting Cornwall in the summer we will certainly be staying at the Angel Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnWagstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you Mrs Wagstaff for write us such a lovely review,

During your stay we got to know you (through your daughter) very well and you were a pleasure to have as guests.
We try very hard between the management and the staff to keep standards high in this hotel and this has shown us we are on the right track!
We are very happy to hear that you found all of our staff to be welcoming and friendly as this really is something we strive for.

A warm welcome, clean hotel & smiling faces all look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards and Many Thanks
Rhiannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

If you fancy a very good Hotel,Great Food,Great Service,A very very friendly Hotel,Staff really do go out of their way,to make sure you enjoy your stay.I travel all over the UK,,and without doubt,will return to this very Friendy Hotel.So,next time you visit Cornwall,try this Hotel,I Promise you will Return,Great Rates,Great Staff,Great Food,Great Service,in my book,,,100% And 5 *****without the cost,,,,The Bar is also a great place,to plan your trips around Cornwall,and meet the very Friendy Locals,,,

Room Tip: All the Rooms are good,TV,Ensuite,Tea,Coffee,etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our page.

We appreciate all the time everyone takes to make comments about their stay, especially when they've enjoyed it so much!
Our rooms have been recently refurbished & decorated and we're glad to see that this is going down well with our guests!
The food, again is something we have recently changed, this has had positive feedback since the change so we are very happy & confident with the new menu.

Again thank you so much and we do hope to welcome you back very soon!
Kind Regards
Rhiannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

the angel in helston is not modern and that's what makes it so good, fantastic breakfast and a small but great menu all the usual suspects really well done. The staff can not do enough , I have been there for pleasure and business and cant fault it

Room Tip: double en suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harbourbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for writing us such a lovely review.
We are glad you appreciated the appeal of our lovely 16th century coach house!
One thing we try and do is keep the character of this Hotel without making it too dated.

We look very forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Rhiannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while down in cornwall seeing friends. The staff were lovely and took good care of us. Room was warm, clean and very quiet. Perfect for relaxing in. A good sized shower which also helps. Food was fantastic, had steak first night here and was cooked to perfection, my fiancée had lasagne and she also said it was beautiful. When asking about food times the staff couldnt be more helpful and this allowed us to plan our stay easily. The managment team (Michael and Rihannon) were very pleasant and also extremly helpful, nothing was out of the question. The hotel also had parking out the back which was very helpful but is also right in the center of town so you can walk around rather than having to drive or get a taxi in. The staff are also clued up on the local attractions meaning they can give you directions if needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.
Here at The Angel hotel we do strive to make every guests stay as pleasurable as it possibly can be and after reading your review i feel we are accomplishing this!
We are very glad you enjoyed your food as our chef has made a brand new menu so knowing this is going down well is great to hear.
I'm also very glad that you found the staff very helpful and "clued up" we do like to help you explore Helston & Cornwall with ease so knowing we have done this is great!
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to The Angel Hotel again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stopped here for 2 nights for a family wedding,bar staff showed us to our rooms,after unpacking we went down to the bar which was open til 12,staff asked us what time we would like breakfast which is a nice touch instead of being told,breakfast was good also,fryup & cereals, downside is the noise from houses on side of pub,fight happened outside. I would stay here again,other reviews doesnt do it justice,staff couldnt do more for us

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianavfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and we do hope to welcome you back to The Angel Hotel again very soon!

Unfortunately the noise from the street is something that we can't help but we do try to keep noise from our own bar to a level that won't disturb any of our residents
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the staff to be very helpful and welcoming.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The main gripe is my trip to the south west this week and the night spent at ‘The Angel, Helston’, which is described as a 16th Century coaching inn, with excellent pub restaurant with on site bed and breakfast.
I don’t think they had cleaned the place since the 16th century!
Due to undertaking some survey work in the evening, we didn’t eat at the hotel or use the room facilities until we returned late on.
The shower in the bathroom was filthy (hairs) and I had to wash it before use. However I used the half empty shower gel that someone had kindly left on the soap tray!
The wardrobe consisted of a metal pole screwed into the wall, no actual wardrobe, just a metal bar. The TV and mirror were smeared as though a dirty cloth had been used.

Having worked late we were unfortunately subject to the local karaoke until 2am and the loudest Irishman I’ve ever heard, followed by the bin men at around 04.30, then the seagulls. Not a great night’s sleep prior to another long day

We were going to complain but in the morning there was no management around and only a young girl serving breakfast.
The only saving grace was the food was fine albeit taking nearly 45 minutes for poached eggs and toast. However little things like having half a loaf wrappped up in its packaging, did not look professional. The brown bread must have been a few days old as it was going stale!

My colleague and I were the only 2 people in the whole hotel and were placed at the very top in rooms overlooking the main street. So I don’t know why we were given the rooms at the front and subjected to the noise?

I can't really go into too much detail about price as my company pay, however the price quoted on our confirmation was , £85 for b&b which I think was was an absolute rip off given the pricing on the hotel website (26/07/12 is £54 for a single, £59.50 for a double and up to £79 for a premier- not sure if this includes breakfast). If the price paid was for a premier room and given the lack of quality I’ve described I would seriously question how they can describe the room I had as premier.

Never again...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costesseytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at The Angel Hotel but it is now under new Management with all new staff and new housekeeping that keep this hotel spotlessly clean.

The room i believe you were staying in was indeed on our top floor but was not a premier room, our premier rooms are all on the 1st floor and i'm sorry you were over charged as we do always now charge the prices that are quoted on our website (we have a new website).
The metal pole you we talking about is gone and there is a wardrobe in it's place, as with all of our bedrooms now.

We have now stopped the Karaoke here unless we have an occasion or an event so it's no longer every week, & only when we are quiet as we don't want to disturb our guests.

Unfortunately we can not control noise from the main street, seagulls, bin men etc however we will happily move your room if asked and if we have the availability.

We would love for you to return now all the changes have been made and for you to see for yourself how the standards have improved.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stay here with a group of 8 people, we are walking the coastal path so have stayed in various parts of Devon/Cornwall to allow for easy access to the path. We have voted this as the worse to date we have stayed in. We made several complaints, shower not working in a room, lumpy mattress, label still attached to courgette in a lasanga!! We also had to argue with the manager as we had booked 3months before,dinner bed and breakfast he told us the second night we could only have a dinner to the value of £10 !!! rooms where very basic, not very clean or warm, this did vary from room to room. Food was very poor standard mainly, however some of the meals where ok but very hit and miss.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maisypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelHotelHelston, Front Office Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review & we would like to apologize for the fact you did not enjoy your previous stay here.

The hotel is now under new management, with all new staff and new chefs, with a whole new menu.

The problems you had encountered in your rooms, shower, mattress etc have all been addressed and the rooms have now been re decorated and fitted with clean, new en-suites and all have central heating.

We hope that one day you'll return to The Angel Hotel and see for yourself that things have now changed and standards have improved

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
7.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
2.1 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 3 in Gweek
74 reviews
0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
No.52 Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 38 in Helston
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Address: 16 Coinagehall Street, Helston TR13 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Price Range: £85 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel in central Helston dates back to the 16th century and was once the town house of Lord Sidney Godolphin who was First Minister to 3 Monarchs. Thereafter, it became a noted coaching inn and has been trading for over 250 years. The Angel is located on the Main High street and offers 1 premier room, 13 double/twin bedrooms, 2 single room & 3 family rooms all en-suite. This is the prime location to see the Furry Dance on Flora Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing