We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes - it really is that bad!”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Reviewed 31 July 2008

I read the other reviews of the Angel Hotel, and thought - it cannot be that bad!

The Angel Hotel was the only venue that had availability for my stay, which should have been warning enough.

The negatives:
My room overlooked Coinagehall Street; the window was single glass and therefore offers no soundproofing whatsoever from the young people driving their cars with loud exhausts up and down until 2am, or the seagulls which caw from 4am, or the partygoers falling out of the pubs from 11pm onwards.
Internally listening to the music blasting up from the pub is great, if you like karaoke and rave music.
The carpet in my room was dirty; the duvet cover smelt of the previous occupant, my bin had not been emptied. The shower takes a good 10 minutes to warm up and then only trickles out.
The public bar constantly smells of stale disinfectant.
The staff are un-interested and sombre.
My experience cost me £65 a night!

The positives:
The breakfast is really good (scrambled eggs particularly so), the girl that served breakfast on 30/08 was lovely and cheerful.

If you are going to the Angel, take ear plugs, an eye mask, and your own bed linen - good luck!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jaffadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Angel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed in the Angel hotel for 1 night whislt in Helston for a friends wedding. We all enjoyed our stay at the Angel, the staff were very friendly and the managers were even more friendly. We didn't realise breakfast was included in the price so it was a nice surprise to go down to a fry up ( which was very delicous!!!)
The Angel has parking round the back (which a few of the others we looked into didn't) which was good as parking outside on the road is very restricted. All in all we had a great stay here and would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stacey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Me and my partner stayed at the angel as we had a wedding, when we first phoned to book the room the owner was polite, helpful, and answered all the questions that i needed.
We arrived to a friendly atmosphere and the staff and owners were very polite and made us feel very welcome.
The room was not up to the best standard but they just need decorating it was clean and warm which is what you need.
In the morning when we come down we had a cooked breakfast and tea which was all made by the cheery owner who still had a smile on her face even tho she was in the bar working till late the night before, we cannot fault the service of the staff in this hotel and we would definatley book to go back their again,
well done everyone who works in the angel you are doing a fantastic job keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2008

Great historic place. Friendly staff. We stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Lots of refurbishment going on at the moment - not before time - new plasma TV in the room. Helston was a pleasant surprise; will stay again

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

The rooms at this hotel are in serious need of an overhaul. The carpets are dirty, the door in my room did not close properly, the shower did not have hot water (so I had to use another room on a different floor) and the excuse given was "Oh yeah, we've had a few problems with that".
Breakfast was truly awful - greasy and tasteless.
At £65 a night I would rather stay at a Travelinn and thats really saying something.
The only saving grace was the bar in which I could contemplate what a bad decision I had made staying here before the weekly Karaoke started up which went through to midnight!
I would never ever recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Ref-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Lorina and Nigel had only taken the Hotel over for a few weeks when I booked them to cater for my sons wedding. I cannot fault the service and level of attention we received there. The wedding reception 4 course lunch was superb, staff friendly and attentive. The rooms are clean, but in need of attention, but that did not detract from our stay. Nothing was too much trouble, whatever we wanted was supplied with a smile. We remember them all with great warmth, and look forward to staying with them again.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank erica-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

If you want a truly awful experience you can do no better than the angel at Helston. Arriving there we were shown to a rather tired and dirty room, loud disco playing downstairs. The lack of a lightbulb on the landing should have warned us of what was ahead, and our (thankfully 1 night) stay deteriorated from then. In scenes reminiscent of Fawlty Towers, we woke next day expecting breakfast, but rather surprised to be locked in the hotel with no-one in attendance. We tried to make a cup of coffee in the room, with the materials provided but the vastly out of date cream was rancid and we had to forgo. After managing to get out, we tried to start enjoying our holiday, leaving a note and phone message asking the staff to contact us at 9.20am. Returning at 11.45 am ( No phone call recieved of course) we recieved scant apology. Suffice to say the worst B and B experience I have had in 24 years anywhere!. The £65 charged for 1 night is truly scandalous.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank Corvus222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
5.8 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
602 reviews
4.5 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
813 reviews
6.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
691 reviews
7.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Address: 16 Coinagehall Street, Helston TR13 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Price Range: £83 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel in central Helston dates back to the 16th century and was once the town house of Lord Sidney Godolphin who was First Minister to 3 Monarchs. Thereafter, it became a noted coaching inn and has been trading for over 250 years. The Angel is located on the Main High street and offers 1 premier room, 13 double/twin bedrooms, 2 single room & 3 family rooms all en-suite. This is the prime location to see the Furry Dance on Flora Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing