We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Warp”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is caught in a time warp, out dated rooms, mould on the shower ceiling, leaking toilet, that is so close to one wall it cant be used properly! Very tired decor throughout, including the dining room with its bizaar art work. It's saving grace is the staff who were friendly and helpful, especially the breakfast waitress. Shame because this hotel has potential, and is well situated. One final problem is the parking approx 6 very tight parking spaces is not enough.

Room Tip: Front of hotel noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but ate there. The quality of the home cooked food was absolutely fantastic. The service was excellent and our waitress went out of her way to be of assistace. Probably one of the best three course meals we've had in a very long time.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank SaraJWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I ate in the pub of the hotel although I didn't stay there. The pub was English-coz with plaid carpet, massive and beautiful bar, etc. But what made it special was the waitress Emma who served us so pleasant and competently. The food was tasty and the menu appealing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank expatjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Emma, our server was most helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable of the menu and everything was well prepared and presented. We were very happy with the service and rates. We were not terribly hungry and she was able to adjust the servings to meet our every desire.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgrant912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Well, this Hotel is a treasure, so full of character and history at every turn. My room, though, number 19, was a dreary room and as I was getting ready for a wedding the lack of a long mirror was a bit of a problem. It was, however, a functional room with a comfy bed, good tv, kettle and tea/coffee and all the hanging and storage space you might need. The shower room was great and spotlessly clean, as was the room itself and indeed the whole meandering hotel.
When I booked the room I explained that I would be attending a wedding, also booking a room for the bride and groom, and asked if we might get into the rooms earlier than usual as the wedding was at 2.00pm – this was offered without hesitation and they were given one of the best rooms.
Despite my couple of insignificant gripes I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and what Room 19 lacked in charm was more than made up for by the enchanting character of the Angel; the fabulous staff who were charming and, without exception, hospitable, happy, helpful, friendly and altogether a joy. George, the Manager was brilliant , kind enough to spare the time to tell me something of the history of the building and show me around. Whatever he is doing in terms of heading up and managing a successful team it’s working!!
All in all I think the Angel is a pretty special place with a pretty special team, thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clevertrousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat, but the time being threeish we were told that the kitchen was shut. We had already looked in on another establishment down the road but their Tribute ale, (my favourite Cornish beer) was sold out. Maybe we should have picked up on the fact that the place was utterly deserted, but seeing that the Tribute was on tap I ordered a pint and a rose wine for my wife. Bringing the drinks back to the table I noticed that my pint had the look of Cornish Rattler, ( a cloudy cider), it didn't clear and having taken a few small mouthfulls I decided that it wasn't up to scratch and returned it to the bar. I explained to the barman that there was something wrong with it and could I change it for a premium lager and I would pay the difference?. I chose and paid an extra 40p, thinking that there couldn't be anything wrong with a Stella Artois/San Miguel or similar. How wrong I was! Although it looked clear enough it had a very strong yeasty odour, and a few sips showed that this. too, was decidedly off form. I waited for my wife to finish her drink and took the glasses back to the bar and left, my glass still full. I have had the pleasure of enjoying good ales for over 50yrs.and like to think that I can tell a good drink from a bad one. Perhaps with this place a better standard of cellar hygiene would improve things, but I certainly won't be going back to check!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

On arrival, we were not given the room that we had booked. (Family room with a room for seperate bunk beds for my friend) and double room for myself and partner. I got this rectified without a problem, as luckily they hadn't given it to anyone else. The rooms were comfortable, although the tv signal didnt work, which wasn't a major problem, as we were going out.
The bar was nice, with a well and glass roof. The bar staff were not the most eager though.
Breakfast the next day was confusing, but good as it was in a room (sort of function room) somewhere else in the hotel.. Quite expensive at £85 for one room and £100 for the other though!

Room Tip: The room with the extra bunk beds drawn off by a curtain is really nice and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmabemma19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
5.8 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
624 reviews
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
5.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
819 reviews
6.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Address: 16 Coinagehall Street, Helston TR13 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Price Range: £85 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel in central Helston dates back to the 16th century and was once the town house of Lord Sidney Godolphin who was First Minister to 3 Monarchs. Thereafter, it became a noted coaching inn and has been trading for over 250 years. The Angel is located on the Main High street and offers 1 premier room, 13 double/twin bedrooms, 2 single room & 3 family rooms all en-suite. This is the prime location to see the Furry Dance on Flora Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing