We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay again”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Reviewed 13 July 2014

To start i must say the staff at the hotel were wonderful, helpful in everyway.
However the price of our room was £110 and in truth I feel £65 would have Been fair
Reason why,
Very tired room,

Mixer shower in bath, poor bathroom! Very poor, clean but that was about it.
Breakfast very good.
Would I stay again , no.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank joej_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Angel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Angel is a beautiful building located right in the middle of Helston, however they just haven't spent time thinking about the guest experience, which made our stay there odd and awkward.

The room itself was clean and the bed comfortable, so at least the essentials were covered, but there were no towel rails in the bathroom, the extractor fan was old and would chug on for ages, the wardrobe door took a major effort to open, and the furniture in the room was an eclectic mix of antiquey pieces that looked nice but didn't really serve a useful function.

We had to walk past stacked up chairs and propped open doors to get to the breakfast room, and waited 15 mins to order - only after I went to investigate the chatting voices in the kitchen. I won't even start on the selection of art on the walls which was bizarre.

It's a real shame - this is a beautiful old building but with the above experience and very expensive rates for what we got, we won't be returning unless we hear it's gone through some big changes.

Room Tip: Pick somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maeve_os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's old , wonky floors, no lift and no double glazing are no problem, but charming it wasn't. We paid almost £100 a night for a room that looked like it had been furnished from a car boot sale. No bedside table, every handle on the chest of drawers came off in my hand, curtains cheap and flimsy, no headboard and woodchip paper everywhere. The ensuite was little more than a cupboard with no hangers.
Breakfast was to be endured rather than enjoyed. would have been better to have coffee pot and tea and toast machine on table as we had to wait for both. The breakfast buffet consisted of individual boxed cereals, a couple of yoghurts, and apples - no way reflecting the printed menu. Orange juice jug and milk jug often empty. The cooked breakfast was greasy and toast thin, cheap bread. Coffee cheap and no offer of refill. Didn't look forward to any of it.
On the + side, every one of the young staff that we met were absolutely helpful and so lovely. We felt that none of the above was their fault so we didn't have a go at them.
Room was clean. Good location, would only use again in an emergency!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jophillips2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

never again will we be staying in this very tired hotel, it was very noisy with load music till 12, the furniture in the bedroom was falling apart the TV didn't work. the bathroom extractor fan was so full of dust and cob webs it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for 10years, there were blood stains on the duvet cover. this hotel is not worth £75 per night and they need to bring the standard into the 21st century, there is some very inappropriate paintings in the bar which should be removed as could offend some people. It is a shame that the hotel does not look like the pictures shown. I give this hotel just 1 rating and that's only because the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: never stay here
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here on the night of the England versus Italy World cup match following a three day charity bike ride event covering 350 miles. The reception was shut upon arrival which was not the ideal start. Our room was situated at the front of the building facing the street outside which meant a lot of street noise heard within. The said room was allegedly a "family" room which meant there was a smaller room adjoining with bunk beds for my son (12 yrs) to sleep in. This room was pretty sparse and as with our room, the decor left a lot to be desired to put it mildly. The wardrobe was held together with some baton and the bathroom was absolutely tiny. The kitchen is opposite the annex room which meant that the window could not be opened due to the foul smell of cooking fat as there was a wedding on at the time. There was no hairdryer in the room and when I requested one from reception, I was told there were only two and they were both being used by other residents. We went out for food and then returned to watch the football in the bar. There was a large television set-up with chairs in front and by the time we got there, there was already a large crowd of predominantly males in their twenties. The group were very lairy and obviously quite drunk. The game started and it got worse from there unfortunately. The staff insisted on repeatedly supplying the group with shots which were devoured as if they were going out of fashion. There was a male sat directly in front of the tv who insisted on using foul and abusive language throughout and by the 28th minute of the match, had used the C**t word on six separate occasions. Disgusted with this behaviour I spoke with one of his friends quietly to request him to "have a word" which he did with the result of the male having a massive strop and swearing even more. This was the proverbial last straw so I decided we would go to bed but on the way out, I stopped at the bar and asked the lady behind if she was the DPS (dedicated premises supervisor - landlady in old money), she said "what's a DPS?" I asked her if she was in charge and she said no, he's in there pointing to the group of males watching the football meaning in fact that he was party to the wholly unacceptable behaviour within the establishment. We then were forced to retreat upstairs where we had poor night sleep due to the excessive noise from the street in front. In summary, the hotel is dated, poor value for money and most definitely not suitable for families at all. Further more for the information of the staff, it is a criminal offence to serve alcohol to a drunk person and it is also an offence to use insulting words or behaviour in a public place. I would not stay here again if you paid me!!

Room Tip: Rear rooms will avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Angel Hotel for 5 nights. This was to see the floral dance on may 8th. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the location was perfect for the holiday.

The hotel was fine. Staff were very helpful

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KEITH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay, warm welcome. Everything all within walking distance. Lively place to visit. Breakfast was good too. If you're thinking of going for Flora Day 2015 book now!! Next time I have to stay in that part oc Cornwall will go back to Helston.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank wendyt558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helston
5.8 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
602 reviews
4.5 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
813 reviews
6.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
691 reviews
7.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Address: 16 Coinagehall Street, Helston TR13 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Helston
Price Range: £83 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel in central Helston dates back to the 16th century and was once the town house of Lord Sidney Godolphin who was First Minister to 3 Monarchs. Thereafter, it became a noted coaching inn and has been trading for over 250 years. The Angel is located on the Main High street and offers 1 premier room, 13 double/twin bedrooms, 2 single room & 3 family rooms all en-suite. This is the prime location to see the Furry Dance on Flora Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing