We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Cornwall”
Review of Trelowarren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trelowarren
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Four adults looking for a late lunch, we had already decided to stop for a drink in this hotel's beautiful restaurant. When we asked if food was still being served, the hostess said they had stopped fifteen minutes earlier but asked us to wait. We could see her speaking to the chef in the for-all-to-view kitchen. Without hesitation, he responded "yes" and we sat at our table. The ambiance is extremely friendly, and clearly the chef and other staff are extremely accommodating. The look of the place reflects the age of the property and it feels like you are dining a few hundred years ago. But that's where the similarity ends. We shared starters of salad and mussels and ordered burgers for our main course. The food was extremely well presented and tasted as good as it looked. We chose a Croatian Pinot Grigio from the ample wine which complimented the food perfectly. We didn't take advantage of the well stocked bar but know that there is one. The prices are reasonable. We all had a terrific lunch!

Room Tip: Sorry, can't help here; only ate at the restaurant
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

The entrance drive gave us the feeling that we had arrived somewhere special and our stay at Trelowarren did not disappoint. Our beautifully appointed cottage for the week had been stocked with Cornish produce that had been delivered by the local stores. Our young twins loved the pool and tennis court and we were well placed for excellent Cornish beaches and Roskilly's Ice Cream Farm. Despite it being the holiday season, mum and dad were still able to enjoy a peaceful and tranquil break. We loved Trelowarren, we would recommend it to friends and family and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willisofbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

One of the more expensive holiday rentals in Cornwall, beautiful setting but doesn't quite earn it's mega bucks! Not dog friendly for a start, garden not fenced in, sharp slate chipping roadway painful for old paws. Never anyone on reception, pool area untidy, one of the spa toilets being used as a store room. At £300 a night I would expect wifi to be included, not an extra. One of double beds too short for six foot son, had to sleep sideways! Sofa bed really uncomfortable, extractor fans in all three bathrooms not working, reported twice but nothing was done. House was very hot, no fans and no ventilation in en suite and downstairs loo. We ate in the restaurant one night, food and service great but let down by shabby outdoor toilets, glad it wasn't raining!

Can't say it was awful, just not worth the money! I did write and point out these issues but had no reply. Guess they've had my money so don't care!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank JanieG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrelowarrenCornwall, Owner at Trelowarren, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We're gald you enkpyed the 1000 acres of tranquil setting that is the Trelowarren Estate and as we tae all xcomments very seriously I think it's best to do this one comment by comment.
1. We see Trelowarren as the ultimate in dog friendly self catering because we allow up to two dogs for no extra charge and have all of these beautiful walks on the doorstep. We have some houses with absolutely enclosed gardens but an athletic dog can usually escape from anywhere - I know mine can. As for the gravel ... well tarmac is generally thought not to suit the curtilage of a Grade 1 listed building and not to be in keeping with the historic setting.
2. Reception is open from 8.30 am to 5pm daily - and sometimes later. The pool and gym etc. are open from 8am - 8pm in the summer.
3. Free Wifi is available at reception and in the restaurant yard.
4. The double bed is 6'3" (which is the standard length, and so it should have be big enough for your son but apologies if he needed a 6'6" bed.
5. The sofabed is definitely under review and may well be replaced with a day bed. Of course it is just an extra bed in the playroom but people often want to bring lots of children in the summer and appreciate the extra space.
6. I have checked the extractors and they do seem to be working. I suppose I am sorry that it was too hot. To be honest we're delighted that we are having such an endlessly sunny summer - and wide open french windows let a lovely breeze in.
6. We have a small spa and we use one loo for that but there are five more in the changing room next door. The spa store/staff loo should be locked and I will tell the girls to make sure that it is.
7. The Tack Room Loos. They are scrupulously clean, but yes, a little old fashioned. I'm glad tou loved the restaurant. The re-furb has been very popular.
8. At £44 per room per night for 5* accommodation we don't feel that Trelowarren is 'mega-bucks' and we work very hard to keep our prices reasonable. From your description you were in a three bedroom house which is about £59 per bedroom per night per night in June, and as you were using the playroom about £44 per room per night for. Cheaper in fact than a Travel Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent fantastic holidays in the historic estate of Trelowarren using the timeshare RCI-members' rights. Our cottage was renewed recently with all modern equipment and modern design but keeping the old character as a building. I hope to visit Trlelowarren in the near future and hopefully in the summertime.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yannis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrelowarrenCornwall, Owner at Trelowarren, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your supper. The rib-eye steak is generally held to be delicious and especially so as it comes from a grass fed herd. We have a younger and less fussy service these days but I am sure that everyone is cheerful and polite. Vegetables are of course available and when I was eating in the NYR last week we certainly enjoyed having the bowls of green salad. This evening we have had all tables telling us that they haven't eaten better food, or enjoyed their evening as much, for a very long time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Halliggye in Trelowarren on the 29th December for a week with two families plus granny.

It is a delightful cottage with an Aga which makes the kitchen lovely and warm in the winter. Despite the..er...energetic weather, we had a relaxing break and made full use of the lit pool in the evening and gym during the day. Due to the time it takes to get 10 people galvanised into one concerted action we didn't try the mouthwatering pizza at the New Yard Restaurant which is a regret but otherwise it was worth every penny. The Lizard really is another world and Trelowarren is so much better than just booking a standalone self catering cottage - you get the whole estate to explore and so much more of a sense of 1800's Cornwall.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in Halliggye but the Doctor's Cottage looked lovely too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Another lovely stay, and will continue to come back and recommend Trelowarren to others. We had a busy time visiting our favourite beaches on the Lizard and going a bit further afield.

It was disappointing to see that the. restaurant was running such a limited service/ menu ( due to a fire in the Summer which must have been really difficult) because we have always eaten there quite a few times during each of our stays.

We had one meal in the restaurant with a really superb wine (Malbec) and an excellent cheeseboard and soup. However the main courses and deserts were 'something and nothing' and we decided to eat elsewhere for the remainder of our stay.

However we look forward to our next stay in the Spring when the new restaurant is open and we can try the new menus. The only advantage is that we have tried new locations to eat and therefore have been a bit more adventurous in sourcing other locations on this trip which we previously have not done.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1966girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We came across the New Yard Restaurant while looking for somewhere to stop for lunch on our way to a nearby holiday cottage. The restaurant was empty when we arrived so were seated without any delay, the waitress was very informative and gave my husband advice on choosing a local beer based on his preferred taste. The food was well presented and I can personally recommend the Seafood Chowder which was really delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 44Jayne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helston hotels
3.6 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
92 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 3 in Gweek
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
89 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelowarren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelowarren

Address: Mawgan, Helston TR12 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Helston
Hotel Class:5 star — Trelowarren 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelowarren is a Historic Estate on The Lizard in South West Cornwall. Surrounded by beautiful beaches the estate is 1000 acres of peace and tranquility within woodlands and farmland. Our 5 star, gold award self catering accommodation includes beautiful historic cottages, restored to provide warm, comfortable accommodation whilst retaining character and charm as well as our new eco-houses, with wonderful open-plan living, built to the highest standards.Trelowarren provides a safe haven for you and your family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trelowarren Helston, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing