We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Shipwrights Arms

Shipwrights Arms
Ranked #37 of 110 Restaurants in Helston
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Quirky Cornish pub with great views and food served all day
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We visited The Shipwrights Arms last year whilst on holiday shortly after it had been taken over and it was superb in every way, the new team were doing a cracking job. However, we have just visited again and I have to say we were very disappointed. The location of this pub is outstanding (they are very lucky), but the staff this time were arrogant, un-attentive and inefficient. The food was of average quality, but the beer was good. We wonder if they have been doing rather too well recently and have started to get an 'attitude'.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SimmaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    105
    42
    31
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Worth reading the 'Poor / Terrible' reviews and responding”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Second visit since the change of owners, the first visit was inspirational and excellent, today's visit could not have been more of a contrast.

Arrived at lunch time, found a table and sat down, and waited, and waited, and waited. Thought we must have got it wrong that we should request a menu and order at the bar. Went up to the bar to be advised that the menus had had to be reprinted due to an error and one would be brought over shortly. We waited a lot longer.

We were sitting by the kitchen door while waiting, where the staff were coming and going, we kept expecting someone to say "we'll be with you in a minute" or similar, that didn't happen, there were no smiles, studious avoidance of any eye contact, general unfriendliness. We were invisible. Eventually we gave up, we we're untethering the dogs from under the table to leave, when the nicest of the staff we encountered came over with the menus. We relented, and put our orders in, Crab Sandwich £9, Bean burger £9:50, and sausage & chips £6 for grandson. The sausage & chips were very nice, the Bean burger was no more than average but the crab sandwich was absolutely revolting, a very small portion, on quite dry bread, full of shell, I battled my way through half, then gave up and left most of the second half.

Reading the terrible / poor reviews, I notice the management don't respond to the comments. Do people's opinions seriously not matter? Say so if that's the case and we'll stay away in future.

Of special note for arrogance and surliness was the young slim girl with long blond hair tied up in a pony tail. Seemed to act with authority. Striped sweater today (Saturday 3rd May)

Please try and set these issues right, good management needs to be applied.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Zinfandel-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Glorious setting, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We came here for lunch mid week, on a beautiful sunny spring day, and having not visited the area for many years, were delighted to see the changes made were all really positive ones- friendly welcome, light bright atmosphere and a lot of skilled touches with poetry about the sea combined with needlework pictures to make unique and lovely decorations- but the setting is the thing here.
A most beautiful village, peaceful and pretty, by a tidal inlet, with tree lined shores, and ancient crafts of thatch and fisherman all around- add a good well presented home cooked menu, and you have a great recipe for a successful business.
My hummus, home made and very garlicky, with local bread, olives and chutneys, was simple and delicious, fresh and filling
We will certainly be back to sample more- and are very tempted by the prospect of jazz some evenings, sounds wonderful in that setting

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Ate here on holiday in Cornwall on a very sunny day and it's superb, mainly for the location. The food is good enough and the local ales are great, but just sitting outside next to the river is the winner for me. Loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuddyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely little pub in helford. Decorated beautifully to match the amazing views. Perfect for an afternoon drink looking across the helford river.

Helpful?
1 Thank CMT02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shipwrights Arms also viewed

 
Manaccan, Cornwall
Manaccan, Cornwall
 
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Shipwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing