We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fantastic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Master bedroom with king-size bed
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom with shower over the bathtub
Table tennis table/games room
Badminton court and swingball
Private garden/patio area
communal football pitch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Okehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Absolutely Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wow. Absolutely fantastic holiday accommodation. Patrick and Tracey have a little gem of a complex of two cottages and farmhouse here.
Highly recommend staying.
Homemade scones on arrival with local clotted cream.
Cosy and comfortable accommodation with stunning countrysideviews Iin every direction.
Beautiful gardens which our 4 year old loved exploring, especially the maze.
Our little girl thoroughly enjoyed meeting the owners dogs Alfie and Herbie who are adorable.
Lots of places to visit and some fantastic restaurants in the area.
If looking for somewhere child friendly then this is very definitely the place for you.
We are looking forward to returning next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faircaked...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Gem of a cottage! ideal for dogs and little ones!”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Where to start?! This cottage has everything we were looking for.

The owners were perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they want you to feel like it's home from home. They give you your space but are also there with lots of local knowledge and tips.

We made a long journey with two young kids and our Labrador but they made a highchair and travel cot with two thick mattresses available to us. Best our little one has slept on holiday! There's also a swing set in the huge garden, animals for them to see and lots of beautiful views and countryside.

You really feel like you can switch off from the hustle and bustle with the acres of land. The icing on the cake was our three year old was able to collect the hens eggs during the holiday. It really made her trip!

The cottage had great wifi reception which we've struggled with elsewhere.

The bedrooms were modern, lots of storage and the twin bedroom is set back from the kitchen/living area so we could actually have some peace from the kids at night!

Location wise it was the perfect base. On the owners recommendations we were able to explore the Lizard, st. Michaels mount and a few beautiful beaches. All were short distance which was perfect after our journey down as we just wanted to stay local.

It really was the perfect stay. The cottage was modern yet retained the country cottage feel. It was spacious, child and dog friendly with great owners on hand to help.

We will definitely be returning again. A real gem and great find! Thanks again to Patrick and Tracey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beezerdaw...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family holiday - Great cottage, Great hosts”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Greeted by the perfect hosts, very friendly who work very hard to make your holiday special. The cream tea waiting for us on arrival was superb. Cottage was clean and warm (double glazed throughout), arriving Easter weekend the weather was typically British although we did have a couple of fine days later on. Amenities comprised of everything you need for a traditional Cornish holiday, bags of character. Plenty of games and grounds to keep the kids occupied and a reliable Wi-Fi signal to keep the teenagers happy. Mobile wise O2 and EE networks both received signals at the premises. A true dog friendly property (the owner's also have dogs) and their local knowledge is great which is a huge asset along with a massive rear garden/ paddock. Don't forget your doggie bags! Location is lovely and quiet and ideally situated to explore the area only a short drive to some lovely local beaches. We will definitely be returning! (minus crutches)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds were great for the dog and children
Liked least: As with most properties, utilitiy knives need sharpening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The K
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“In desperate need of refurbishment”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Not recommended. Poor fixtures and fittings and damp mould smelling bedroom, stained sheets. Would not recommend this holiday cottage to my worst enemy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The cottage
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCrusoe
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to get back for a longer stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was the perfect base for exploring the area. Quiet and inviting. I really enjoyed my first cuppa of the day in the private garden. Nice to have reliable wifi. The entire place was immaculate. The hosts know something about hospitality, and could not have been more helpful and accommodating. This is my new favorite retreat, and I will stay longer on my next visit.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Having to leave to go back to work
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_ash...
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage,great location”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second visit and found it just as enjoyable as the first.The cottage is comfortable
and well equipped and in a quiet location.There is a large garden which is ideal for young children plus a good supply of toys.There is plenty to see all within half hour drive.The hosts,Patrick and Tracey were very friendly and helpful.Will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All good
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole P
Crayford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a comportable base to use for visiting family in the area, which we do regularly and over time have stayed in many properties. This was our first time in 'Swallows Cottage' and we all agreed it was 'Simply the Best'. It had everything we needed. The bedrooms are roomy and bright as was the lounge /kitchen area, we accomadated for 5 large adults at some meals! The beds were clean and so comfy, a real issue for me as a back sufferer. The outside space was fab, our little dog loved it and my spacial needs son was safe enough to go out to play football on his own. It would be suitable for familys with small children and dogs but equally for romantic couples. It felt quite private and being south facing made the best of the sun, which we noted for summer stays. Patric & Tracey made us feel very welcome and were more than happy to supply all our needs without being intusive, they were easy to contact from start to finish. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer but we will deffinatly be back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing