We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ! A return trip is a must ! x”
Review of Friary Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friary Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsand
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the last minute last weekend for 2 nites. It was such a beautiful suprise ! Vic and Jan made us feel very welcome and took fantastic care of us. Room was lovely, comfy and clean and breakfast was absolutely gorgeous ! We will definitely return and recommend it to our family and friends :) xx

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stated at the Friary Manor for a wedding nearby. There were 8 of us in total. We had a very warm welcome from Vic and Jan, and were shown to room 7. This was a pleasant, relatively spacious room with a very comfortable bed, and lovely floorboards and a feature fireplace. The shower was in the bath, which was raised, so you had to be careful getting in and out as a slip would of been very dangerous. I would recommend that this wouldn't be ideal for people who aren't particularly mobile, or a pregnant woman as it is a bit of a hazard.
The breakfast was great, and we had a choice from a very extensive menu. Again, the hosts were lovely and made us all feel very welcome. They were able to book taxi's for us and provide good local advice.
Yes, the house is a little tired looking, but I personally think it added to the charm. The grounds are extensive and very lovely. I would recommend this B&B, and wouldn't hesitate in returning should we visit Cornwall again soon.

Room Tip: We liked room 7, I also had a look at room as our friends were in there - request this if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurreyClairelou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Nice location.
Bathroom needed good clean. Shower extremely difficult to regulate temperature.
Room serviced only once during a 4 night stay.
Hotel looks tired and feels tired. Won't be staying again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sueanned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a fantastic wedding for just over 3 grand including the Cornish wedding ceremony(which doesn`t mean you marry a relative). The hotel itself is absolutely charming,full of character,with stunning grounds and perfect for our 50 guests,we even had a visit from a family of deer by the stream at the bottom of the garden despite some awful karaoke singing! jan,vic,nick and the staff were great as was the superb hot buffet with the best home-made profiteroles ever! with the lovely spacious bedrooms booked for our family,peace and tranquillity descended once the guests had left at midnight by coach.Our guests all remarked at what a gem of a place we`d found. Selfishly we hope not too many people find it !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandjrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Friary Manor for 3 nights as we were in the area for a wedding.

We had a fantastic stay and would thoroughly recommend it here.

The Friary Manor is a lovely building full of character, in gorgeous grounds.... we saw about 10 wild deer in the gardens whilst staying there. We found it an easy 30 minute walk to the coastal town of Kingsand which is a lovely place to stop off at for a cream tea. Other villages are within easy driving distance.

Our room (number 3) was lovely with an amazing four poster bed and the most comfiest bedding I have ever experienced in a hotel! We had no problems falling asleep!

The breakfast was delicious and filling with a choice of different things - bacon, sausage, eggs, etc etc all cooked beautifully.

Vic and Jan were very welcoming and helpful and suggested things for us to do on our stay.

We would highly recommend the Friary and would love to come back in the future. It's a little slice of peaceful heaven. And we would recommend anyone in the area to visit Kingsand and Cawsand villages as they are both gorgeous.

Room Tip: Our room (number 3 ) had a lovely 4 poster bed and was extremely spacious with a lovely big bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding. Jan & Vic made us very welcome,even though they had lost our booking!! Rooms were spacious and comfortable - We had the lovely four poster bed. Our room was not made up during our 5 day stay but apart from that The Friary was an excellent location for the wedding and set in a lovely old house in pretty grounds and with good walks and pubs close by. The owners were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good and we were given tea and coffee top up's on request.

Room Tip: Phone to check your booking and to book for evening meals. Enjoy the quirky nature of this hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redback C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Beautiful old building in lovely grounds in Maker which is only a 5 minute drive from the village of Kingsand/Cawsand on the Cornish Coast. 

We spent 3 nights here over New Year and although the room was lovely and the breakfast plentiful, we did feel like we were intruding on a family get-together. Apparently, friends and family were also staying in the Manor which is fine, but neither the family nor the owners made any effort to stop the kids from running up and down the staircases or playing games right outside our room.  We could have said something but feeling like "intruders" at the Manor we didn't want to cause any extra friction. 

The room wasn't made up during our entire stay because they "forgot to do it!". It was only when I asked for clean towels before going out for the evening that we came back to find the bed had been made up. Too little too late. 

Look, as I said, the Manor and grounds itself are beautiful and the little villages a short drive away are great for a pint or two or even a cream tea in the afternoon. It's just that the staff didn't really seem to care that there were paying guests staying who should have been looked after a bit better. Driving around, we saw other B&B's in the area that may be worth researching first. 

Room Tip: Ask for the main suite room with the four post bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deekayoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Friary Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friary Manor Hotel

Address: Maker Heights, Kingsand PL10 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Kingsand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsand
Price Range: £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friary Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Friary Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friary Manor Kingsand
Friary Manor Hotel Kingsand, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing