We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pub with great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lerryn B&B and Inns
1 review
“Fantastic pub with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The atmosphere of the pub was just what you want laid back and cosy, the rooms were clean and tidy and the local mussels were fantastic
We would gladly stay again so if you in Cornwall it's well worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbfddhffgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    37
    17
    21
    17
See reviews for
39
61
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed in this B&B in June 2013.Our overnight stop was not a nice experience. The room was very dated and grubby. The toilet seat was loose and not enough toilet roll left for our visit. The shelf in the bathroom was dirty with previous guest toothpaste marks. Out side our window was an external air conditioning unit,which hummed all night and kept us awake. There is no where to park your car except on the narrow street outside the Inn. When we went down to get our breakfast in the morning no staff around had to go to Morrisons and pay another £10.00. I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone on our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MGW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lerryn hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have visited many times in the last 4 years to eat and drink there and have never been disappointed. We enjoy the friendly informal atmosphere, as do our children. The menu always has something for all of us, this evening the Tapas was particularly good. The servings are generous and we always feel we have enjoyed value for money. Service is always good and we enjoy the experience, as for the dogs they have never been a problem, they usually find somewhere to curl up out of the way.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Went there twice. First time was ok, we were sat outside in the garden, this was a Sunday. Food was as we expected and we enjoyed it and the service. The bad part was the owners 3black labs drooling at our side while we ate. Second time we went in and stayed inside. No atmosphere whatsoever and a young child running around-yuk! Ordered food, my wife's came first, after 45 minutes wait. Mine came after 50 minutes wait. We had a companion, a single black lab drooling at our side. I had ordered the mussels as a main course for £10-95 which came with 4 small pieces of dried up bread. I left feeling very hungry as the mussels were small and disappointed. Will not be going again.

Room Tip: Did not stay there, thank goodness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Popped over to Lerryn from St Austell for a birthday treat but were left very disappointed by the poor quality of the food. Its a lovely village and after a nice stroll by the river we went into the Ship Inn for a pub lunch. First impressions were reasonable, the welcome was warm and the beer well kept. However the two mixed cheese & meat ploughman's lunch were poor indeed - the 2 small slices of carved ham were fatty, the small square of cheese tasteless and the tired looking salad might have been saved with a dressing. Worst of all were the two slices of stale bread - not bakers' bread but sub-standard sliced bread. On asking for fresh bread our stale white bread was replaced with stale brown bread! To cap things off the chessy chips were soggy in grease, burnt on the outside & raw in the middle - an impressive achievement!

Total cost for two including 1 pint and 1 black coffee was £24 - nothing was eaten!

So go for a drink but don't eat there!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kernowirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Poor service
Very slow 3 courses in 3 hours!!!!
Kept interrupting whilst eating
Poor menu Selection
Very overpriced for poor quality food
Apple crumble had skins on and NO CRUMBLE!
Dogs scrounging at table!
Sticky table
ALL ROUND DISGUSTING VERY DISSAPOINTED WON'T BE RETURNING EVER AGAIN HOPEFULLY GET THIS HORRID TASTE OUT MY MOUTH!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerensa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lostwithiel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We really enjoyed the food we selected including vegan and vegetarian options the locally sauced 'wild garlic' soup I particulary enjoyed-they where generous too in sharing tips on the preparation of the food.The menu is far more creative than the usual run of the mill choices-as a vegan it is a welome change not to end up with the chips and salad option!The dogs mentioned in other comments were around but never a nuisance or begging for food-but perhaps I am biased in considering them rather an asset.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerryn
3.6 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Cormorant Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Fore Street, Lerryn PL22 0PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lerryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lerryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Lerryn, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing