We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A National Treasure!”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lerryn B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A National Treasure!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife, daughter and I have just returned from three wonderful days in Cornwall statying at The Ship.

Without a word of a lie it was probably one of the best and most memorable breaks we have ever had as a family. We could not have enjoyed it more.

The pub was everything a proper pub should be and far more besides. It is what it is! It is not posh or flash but that is the point. Flash, posh, sterile pubs with table numbers, and highly coached staff, is exactly what we don't want and hate!

The biggest compliment I can give 'The Ship' is that as a lover of great traditional pubs such as 'The Square and Compass', or 'The Cherub' in Dartmouth, The Ship would be right up there in my top 3 of all time.

On arrival we were given the warmest of welcomes, and this lasted throughout our stay. Harry you are a star and we loved your wicked sense of humour.

Food was outstanding. Fish as fresh as you will find anywhere supplied by Richard the local trawlerman ( who we got to know) or bought daily at the fish market. The mussels were to die for ! Great selection of Real Ales.

The location was another amazing bonus situated on the banks of a beautiful estuary.

The icing on the cake was that we were all invited to a 60th birthday party on the Saturday night and made so welcome by the locals!

Thank you all for everything. We will be back as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    39
    17
    22
    18
See reviews for
40
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

what a great place !! fantastic food,fantastic people could not have made us more welcome.cant wait to go back !!!!!!. just make sure you have more coors light in next time !!.if your looking for a nice relaxing place to stay this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEX101270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Now I know where Basil, Sybil, Manuel, Polly and the rest of the gang went after the third series of Fawlty Towers!
I believe that you can go to London and enjoy a recreated Fawlty Towers dining experience for around £50 per person. If that's the kind of thing that floats your boat, then take my advice and take the cheaper (and more authentic) Ship Inn Fawlty Towers dining experience.
For the price of a plate of fish and chips, you can enjoy a couple of hours of hilarious, knockabout comedy with a full cast of dysfunctional staff, owners and guests.
Brilliant fun!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strudwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My first impressions of this hostelry were not great, the beer garden whilst being quiet was overcrowded with benches and smelt really badly of fish.

What really did disappoint was the overpriced drinks and the bartender unable to give correct change, over charged by a pound.

I am local but will not be returning to this place as smelly toilets, dirty plates left on the counter and drab decor are not inviting.

I am not in the habit of complaining about places i visit as i would rather give the reader a good impression, but in this instance i am compelled to write this poor write up in the hope that things improve.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lerryn hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed with a friend from overseas and we both loved in here. I am from Cornwall and it was my first time in Lerryn , what a gorgeous little riverside village. Like all villages it needs a great pub,,,,and as one!

Staff super friendly especially Karen and the breakfast staff. The food was excellent fresh seafood and quality pub fayre. Prices were very good. Can hihjy recommend staying here as well. Great base for exploring Polperro , Polruan , Fowey , Mevagissey and Lanhydrock house.

They are have friendly dogs in the beer garden , they may bark when you first walk out but are very lovable, only trying to get your attention so you dont forget to give them any leftover food!! Not aggressive at all

Will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I frequent the ship often and last night had a wonderful meal. The local mussels were really good as was my lemon sole; really fresh and cooked perfectly. The team are great, best welcome you can get in Cornwall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DillsTelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It amuses me that some people who write on here feel entitled to just have a rant – Victor Meldrew style -and moan about the pettiest of things.

We’ve just enjoyed seven days at the Ship at Lerryn, a really pretty getaway spot in South Cornwall. We were made very welcome by Johnny, Ronni and staff. The room was just fine. The bed - the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The food was varied - menu and specials - and all tasty. The fish, mussels and scallops, superb! Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and piping hot. (Not kept steaming and turning to a tasteless mush in warming dishes for two hours as in most places).

If you’re expecting the Hilton, forget it.. The pace is slow, take it as it comes; you’re on holiday, so, relax! Table staff are pleasant and polite. The team are hard working, down to earth, bright people who just want you to relax.

Over our 7 days and 13 meals there, as opposed to other comments, the family dogs did not once ‘drool’ at our table; they are steered away if there is a hint that they are a nuisance. Anyway, they’re part of the family and live there too! Get real, this is rural Cornwall!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSampson187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerryn
3.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.5 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 26 in Fowey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Fore Street, Lerryn PL22 0PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lerryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lerryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Lerryn, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing