We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Friendly, Clean, and Comfortable”
Review of Elnor Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elnor Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Liskeard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I spent a week at the Elnor and was quite impressed with the personal service I received from both the manageress Rosie, and the owner, Derrick. My room was typical of an English hotel, somewhat on the small side, but well appointed and kept very clean. The bathroom was the same, small, but clean and complete.
Though I didn't have lunch or dinner in the very traditional wood beamed dining room, I did have breakfasts there and they were excellent. A lot of choice and served hot and fresh.
The price was very reasonable for the service provided, and I look forward to staying there again if I ever get back to Liskeard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank draygnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

It's hard to know where to begin reviewing this B&B. The welcome was fairly gruff, I was asked if we required breakfast and when I told the owner that we needed to leave by 7.15 he simply said 'that will be a no then!'. We stayed at the B&B for three nights and only had breakfast once as we had to leave too early on the other days. No apology, discount or alternative was offered for the fact that we paid for 3 breakfasts and only had one.
The bedroom was oddly decorated and the en-suite was miniscule, these things on their own would not have been a massive problem but the room was dirty and there was blood on the bathroom wall.
I definitely wouldn't stay again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scruffysquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Booked over the telephone after being promised secure cycle parking in their garage. On arrival I was told that there wasn't space and the bike would have to be left out in the yard. Just what is it that leads people to lie like this to take business?

Otherwise the Accommodation was alright for passing tradesmen or suchlike.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allwaysmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This is a hard place to reveiw, the corridors were dark and it was like a labyrinth, yet the actual room was light and comfortable; the t.v had a bad signal, but if you are only there for one night I guess it didn't matter. The following morning we felt our way to the dining room for breakfast, our host took our order, while his wife did the cooking,she poked her head round the door and said good morning, the full english was very nice, then the most peculiar thing happend, it was a free for all to get to the toaster and bread, to do yourself, and every jar of preserve you could imagine was on a shelf above; forgive me for being picky, but I thought every hotel & guest house , had to have individual portions on the table, a rule by the hotel inspectors, anyway I think the whole meal and stay was equivalent to a conveyor belt, "ship em in and ship em out"

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PorthNewquayHotpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

A friendly informal welcome when we arrived, my single room was all I needed and spacious to relax with tea and coffee etc left daily in the room. Breakfast is the highlight of the day with a wide choice available and a cooked breakfast started every day off vey well.The hostess was happy and chatting to everyone, making all guests relax and chat amongst each other. The stairs were quite well spaced and not too steep.
The outside decor was lovely and made the place feel very homely.
Excellent location with just a very short walk into the town centre.
My room was at the front and I worried about traffic noise, but the double glazing was so efficent I was never disturbed by anything at all, and the TV was great too.
A short walk to the Train station was a bonus, with a day out to Plymouth by train saving parking fees although Liskeard station has quite a long walk down slopes from the station to the platforms - tiring on the way back up at the end of the day.
If ever Im staying in Cornwall again Id definately stay at the Elnor again (oh and the price was spot on)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_Dunowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

The Elnor House had all the necessary items for a comfortable stay. I made my reservations by email with Barry Slocombe the host. His wife, Gigi served as a good cook and gracious hostess. He wasn't as personable - a no-nonsense type man.

My room was very large as I had a double and single bed, a shower which is all I wanted and bathroom, a wardrobe, goodies on a shelf over the dresser. As I said, everything I could want.

There were other rooms - both double and single on the ground floor as well as a lounge at the front of the house. The dining room for guests is also on that floor amidst the rooms. A steep stairs leads to upper floors. I had no desire to check it out, plus it was dark. Elnor House was a personal referral; I understand a man from Australia was also a referral there. I would recommend it with only some hesitation. There is a pub with rooms downtown Liskeard I'd like to try.

If I had any qualms about the accomodations it was that the halls were darkly lit and the former door in my room would have entered onto the parking area behind the house. Fortunately, I think it was sealed shut. It did make a good window. The parking area is definitely a plus. Although a car wouldn't do you much good in town, you would want one to go about the area. The Elnor is well-placed for getting into the country-side.

Probably my biggest gripe was that the host wouldn't use the radiators in August even though it was very cold and damp. I understand expense, but when you have a home open to customers, that is a budgetary item and common courtesy.

I was able to go to Looe on the train and the bus, but it's not a pleasant walk if the weather isn't nice which it wasn't when I was there. I ate lunch or dinner at a little pub down the way. I would plan my next trip to the area differently so I could get to the Museum. There are other things to do and see. I was able to spend time at the library which was fairlry comprehensive for local genealogy. In better weather, I might have done more exploring. Which was my original intent.

I did get a chance to see some of the villages north of Liskeard because my hostess in St. Austell had driven me about before leaving me at th Elnor. There is a bus to Launceston, but the times didn't work for me this trip. There are a lot of historic areas not far away. Know that the lanes are very narrow. There are some large Bed and Breakfast farms in the area which might be nice to try. My ancestors lived near the area, so I'm open to other ideas and would want a car next time.

If I can establish a review of Liskeard on another page, I have some pictures of the downtown areas I did get to which I'd like to share.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedFoxSaginaw_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
4.3 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
261 reviews
4 mi away
Wheal Tor
Wheal Tor
#3 of 5 in Pensilva
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nebula Guest House
Nebula Guest House
#1 of 15 in Liskeard
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eliot House Hotel
Eliot House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Liskeard
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
2.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 2 in Menheniot
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elnor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elnor Guest House

Address: 1 Russell Street, Liskeard PL14 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Liskeard
Price Range: £63 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elnor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elnor Guest House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing