We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest pub in Cornwall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheesewring Hotel

The Cheesewring Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cheesewring Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Liskeard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendliest pub in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Spent Easter her. Fantastic walks from doorstep. First rate food, service and friendly staff and locals. Will we call again? You'd better believe it! - after all, we are locals now. Loved it.
Badger watching in the car park - priceless.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogerdodgerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    13
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minehead
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

i found that i couldnt have had a better time if id payed to stay in a top hotel the food was as good (and i could understand what was on the menu) fantastic fun place to forget everyday life we found that the locals made us feel so at home that i felt by the end of our stay we were one! lovely time and a very friendly place we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: any room would be a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webbs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here over the weekend while attending a wedding and what a great choice it was.

Right from the start we were made to feel welcome by all the staff especially Marcia who ensured we had a excellent stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and had every thing we needed, and with the breakfast included in the price this ensured that the Cheesewring has top marks for value for money.

As other reviews have said the food is excellent with a massive selection and equally as large portions.

We thouroghly recommend staying at the Cheesewring Hotel, you won't be dissapointed and we would like to thank Gary and all the staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This wonderful pub/hotel is in the middle of nowhere and has to be the best location if you want a break in Cornwall. Having 'sailed' down the A303/A30 etc on a river of rain, dipped in and out of satnav signal, we finally pulled into the carpark where a wild pony was quietly grazing on the grass. Sheep too munched the grass in the adjoining field and watched these 'townies' unload suitcarriers, hat boxes and small cases then scurry into the pub to get out of the weather. They must have thought we were barmy!

Inside a roaring log fire and a warm welcome awaited us and heralded the start of what was a fantastic weekend. We were down for a wedding just down the road at Netherton Farm (also a fantastic place) and had chosen the Cheesewring Hotel at random. What a find - great rooms, very comfy beds and a breakfast that will set you up for the whole day.

The warmth of the welcome from Gary, Marcia and everyone made us feel as if we had come to stay with friends. The food is great home cooked fare, with generous portions, so necessary if you were to venture out for a walk! The lamb shank was so tender and delicious, and the fish pie got the thumbs up too. We were so full we couldn't manage a pudding, but the big gooey meringue with clotted cream might tempt the tastebuds next time we come down.

The Eden Project is only a short drive away at St Austell and the Lost Gardens of Heligan are nearby. The tea plantation isn't that far away and there are vineyards to visit as well as the picturesque towns of Looe, as well as the moor itself. It would have been wonderful if we had been able to take the time to get there, but we had a wedding to get to. The Cheesewring Hotel would make a terrific base for a long weekend for exploring this part of Cornwall and you will get lots of advice of where else to visit.

Thank you Gary and Marcia for making this a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

When we phoned to book our room, we were told that there was live music planned for one of the nights we were there and that it would probably go on till late. This didn't phase us as we enjoy a bit of pub life back at home, but we appreciated the 'heads up'. When we arrived we were shown to a big spotless double room. Dogs are allowed in the pub which was great for us to have our dog with us whilst we ate. The first night we met Marcia who is a gem of a pub manager and looked after us all from the off, taking a particular liking to our Yorkshire terrier who she spoiled quite a bit!
Meals were superb - dinners and breakfasts. But perhaps the best thing about our stay was the lovely atmosphere created by the owners, all the staff and the locals. We'd never been there before but ended up leaving feeling as though we'd known some of the people there for years. Breakfasts were served any time we got up, which on the final day of our visit was about 11am due to us staying up the night before until close! If you're looking for a strict hotel with quietness and impersonal staff, then this place isn't for you. This is a proper inn with a great atmosphere and some magic people who are willing to talk to strangers over a pint into the small hours.
Many thanks to all at the Cheesewring for a lovely weekend and some great memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveglitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The Cheesewring Hotel is situated on the edge of Bodmin Moor, 5 miles out of Liskeard, Cornwall off the A38.
I have been going there for over two years on DB&B or Sunday Lunches and I have never once found the staff anything less than friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. There is a smile on all their faces from the moment you walk in the door to the moment you walk out of it. The hotel is immaculately clean, the meals are out of this world and the helpings are ENORMOUS. The bedrooms (three only) have just been completely re-done with new furniture. En-suite, tea and coffee, tv, heating all in the rooms.
They LOVE dogs and will take animals in the bedrooms free of charge. Not only that, but Marcia Ware (manageress) will see that the dog has either a dog biscuit or a yoghurt pot to itself.
I cannot praise the Cheesewring Hotel highly enough. I am from a hotel background, my parents being hotel owners in the Highlands of Scotland. I have lived, worked and breathed hotels from the age of 12. I am now 62!! I have run my own holiday sailing charter business on my own sailing ship, and I have dealt a great deal with customers, good, bad, awkward and downright awful. Marcia has had her share of it, too, and still she keeps a smile on that lovely face of hers. How, I don't know. she just LOVES her job - and it shows. Fionna and Eric Hutchinson March 3rd, 2012.
We had to get away for the night due to personal circumstances, on Thursday, 1st March and one phone call to the Cheesewring and my husband and I knew we would be made welcome and our worries put at ease - at least for one night. And we were. Thank you Marcia and thank you Eileen for the wonderful cooking. But most of all for the assured friendship and welcome that you always offer.

Helpful?
2 Thank fionna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

My daughter had her wedding reception there on 21/05/2011. The food and service were as good if not better than any 5* hotel. We had the most fantastic day. Would recommend to anyone. We had 30 guests and everyone was very happy. ***************** is not enough stars.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wicksy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
1.6 mi away
Trecarne House
Trecarne House
#1 of 1 in St Cleer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wheal Tor
Wheal Tor
#3 of 5 in Pensilva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nebula Guest House
Nebula Guest House
#1 of 15 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheesewring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheesewring Hotel

Property: The Cheesewring Hotel
Address: Minions, Liskeard PL14 5LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cheesewring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cheesewring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheesewring Hotel Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing