We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical rural pub with very friendly staff and superb atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cheesewring Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Liskeard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2013

When I read the "only" poor review of these premises after visiting I had to check that I had actually been to the same place.
Social Club? No, social hub of the area where anyone stranger or local is immediately made welcome and treated like a friend.
Moved on from that kind of pub grub? Please no, keep serving the huge portions of tasty filling food which true pub clientele love. There is a huge selection of food to suit everyone's taste and all reasonably priced and always a selection of real ales to enjoy
The staff are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble with them
I would defy anyone to find a pub which serves a home made fresh Chicken Kiev for £8.25 or an excellent burger for under £7
My wife and I spent 5 nights here while visiting relatives in the area and could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation or food we had only been in the bar for a few minutes and were spoken to by several locals and made very welcome. In fact we will be keeping in touch with one couple with whom we became very friendly.
I can only implore anyone thinking of staying here or visiting for a meal to ignore the poor review and look at all the excellent reviews

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very friendly, family run pub with good food with great atmosphere. Ideal for getting to some amazing areas on Bodmin moor, such as the minions and Cheesering. Very relaxed break that I would recommend. Rooms are clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Having recently moved to the area we had heard nothing but praise from locals about the Cheesewring. Having looked at the website we were not expecting fine dining but really thought pubs had moved on from this kind of cheap and cheerful style of pub grub. The place has the look and feel of a social club, and judging by our lunches, food to match. Cheap burger in a cheap bun with frozen chips and an extremely un imaginative salad garnish, bit like a poor school canteen meal and the frozen chicken Kiev with chips and peas was pretty much as bad as it could be! Yes, it's a lovely spot for walkers but really that's all this place has going for it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank BerkshireCandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We came across the Cheesewring after the restaurant we went to was closed on a Sunday night. The staff were very pleasant and friendly and the service was superb. There was quite a range of dishes to choose from. I finally opted for the lamb cobbler while the others opted for the steak and ale pie and the shepherds pie. This was typical pub grub at its best. Decent sized portions, came out piping hot and all served with plenty of meat. The dishes came with a choice of potatoes and either vegetables or salad. These meals were very filling therefore we did not need a starter or a pudding. Great value at about £8-£9 a main meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 91traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

On the last day of our holiday in Cornwall we went to minions mine centre (not that good) it was raining and my wife the dog and myself found ourselfs wet and cheese off so we went down the road and found the Cheesewring hotel and went in for a meal. The out side of the hotel could be better, but the staff were great. The dinning room was full so we had a table in the bar which was ok buy us. MY wife had lamb cutlets a good inch or 2.5cm thick and i had lamb cobbler with potato
wedges the lamb of both our meals was fall apart tender and my pot wedges are some of the best
i have ever had. We will be back again soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Everything about this place is fantastic! All staff friendly and welcoming as are the regulars, nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable, clean rooms, just so pleasant. We would highly recommend this accommodation that provides excellence in every way, especially the food. Definitely will be returning. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samsoncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

After my mother's insistence on traveling through Bodmin Moor we unfortunately blew a tire on our rental car. With our cell phones not working and having somehow lost the rental car emergency contact info we wandered over to this pub in the hopes of a telephone. They not only helped us look up the contact info for the company and use their phone, but they also updated us on the company's progress. We ate lunch there while we were waiting and could not have been more pleased. The food was some of the best we had in Cornwall with delicious jacket potatoes and an amazing vegetarian pasta dish! The staff were so friendly and sat and talked with us about the local area while we waited the hours it took for the rental car company to send someone after us. Would not hesitate to recommend and would go back in a heartbeat (though hopefully in better circumstances!).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank heathbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liskeard hotels
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wheal Tor
Wheal Tor
#3 of 5 in Pensilva
174 reviews
5.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 2 in Menheniot
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
495 reviews
4 mi away
Nebula Guest House
Nebula Guest House
#1 of 15 in Liskeard
148 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tregondale Farm
Tregondale Farm
#1 of 1 in Menheniot
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheesewring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheesewring Hotel

Address: Minions, Liskeard PL14 5LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Liskeard
Price Range: £54 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cheesewring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cheesewring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheesewring Hotel Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing