We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“omg what a find”
Review of The Crows Nest Inn

The Crows Nest Inn
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“omg what a find”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were stopping at Hendrifton farm in a cottage and one night decided to give the pub a try. The pub is seventeenth century and full of character. Food was first class and all freshly cooked, menu a little on the small size but quality of food makes up for it, landlord is friendly and very helpful, the young lad waiting on the tables is extremely nice and easy on the eye for the ladies. Liked it so much went back again a couple of days later. Will definitely visit again when back in Cornwall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    84
    34
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Frozen chips????”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this pub from the owners of the cottage that we were staying at & by the family that was staying in the cottage next door. Firstly we found the pub really welcoming & cosy & the young lad that served us was very pleasant. I ordered burger & chips, hubby ordered steak & chips, daughter ordered pie & mash & son wanted spaghetti from the child's menu but was off menu so ordered half portion of tagliatelle (which I was charged full price for).
When we ordered we were advised we would have to wait a while for the pie as it was cooked from fresh. Not a problem. When the food arrived the pie was delicious but had a small scoop of mash. Tagliatelle was tasty & fresh. The steak was cooked to perfection but was lacking in something. A steak with side of coleslaw, potato stack (not necessary, just put the wedges on the plate) & handful of rocket. A bit of a let down for the £15. My burger was delicious & tasty, served with a salad & then frozen chips that tasted like they had been cooked twice & they were hollow in the middle. Desserts were lemon cheesecake, a real big tasty slice. A fruit crumble, hot & delicious. Sticky toffee pudding was a let down & was flavourless. All in all for £68 a bit of a rip off. Really don't mind paying for good quality home made food & this in parts was exactly that but there were bits that just let it down badly. I felt like they'd maybe ran out of some stuff off the menu & just made do with what they had to work with.

Helpful?
3 Thank bladess26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had dinner here one night then went back for lunch! The service is good and the food is superb! If you are in the area, you must try it!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lennieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands/Kernow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charachter pub with good food.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had friends down (with a dog) and needed somewhere with a bit of character for the evening. Phoned through the reservation due to the group size. Arrived to pub and not disappointed. Great décor inside which well impressed the visitors. Staff very friendly and joined in the fun with the group (don't mention the dog !). Meals were great with a wide selection including veggie option for one of the group. Everyone enjoyed the night. In fact ended up going back again the next day to test more from the menu. Not disappointed !. We'll be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaultNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“New ownership, back to good quality pub food for a good price. Great beer as well!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The menu under the new owners is great pub food at a good price. The fish and chips was an enormous portion, the fish had a lovely crispy batter. The home made burger was on a crunchy warm bread roll and was close to the 'Sam's' burgers we all adore in Cornwall. The landlord is friendly and explained that they plan to do a specials board, can't wait. Oh and they do sharing platters!
Beer is kept well. Much busier than a few months ago, no surprise there.
Coming back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crows Nest Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Crows Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing